We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Hotel Stadt Karben

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Karben
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Karben
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were simple but very quiet and private. It would be nice if we were in the area for many nights but we were only there for one night and we felt we should have stayed in a more central location. It was a quiet neighborhood and Karben is a very nice place away from the main Frankfurt. They do have an elevator which was nice except we had to catch a train at 6:45 and the elevator did not go all the way to the lobby until 7:30 so we had to carry our luggage all the way down from the fourth floor. It also cost €60 to get to the hotel from the Frankfurt am Main airport by taxi. We were too early for the breakfast but it looked like it would have been very nice. The Italian restaurant the desk clerk recommended for dinner was quite delicious and they have huge portions.

Room Tip: The quad room was perfect for four adults and the en suite bathroom was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staying here was a really positive experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. Many languages are spoken here, English one of them I'm thankful to say! Breakfast was a delicious buffet with a family atmosphere. Karben is a charming suburb of Frankfurt in addition to the usual 'strip mall' style of shops, there are some unique boutiques within walking distance from the hotel and the typical German attractions, great bakery, cafes etc. The train station is approx 5 mins walk and I found the reception staff extremely competent and patient with me! explaining how to master the S Bahn ticket system!! I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request one with a balcony, very peaceful and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

J'ai réservé en janvier 2013 via Expedia, 2 chambres simples. Expedia, par erreur, m'a réservée une 3ème chambre, une chambre double. IMPOSSIBLE m'a-t-on dit de faire annuler cette 3ème chambre non réservée de ma part, mais réservée par erreur par la personne d'Expedia sans l'accord de l'hotel. Le gérant de Comfort Hotel Karben, un certain M. Gabriel, m'a obligée à annuler les 3 chambres et non juste celle réservée par erreur d'Expedia et de faire une nouvelle réservation de 2 Chambres simples avec une augmentation de 40 % par rapport à celui proposé moins d'une semaine auparavant, alors qu'il suffisait selon Expedia d'annuler sans frais supplémentaires la 3ème chambre non souhaitée. GROSSE ARNAQUE !!!!
In January 2013, I've booked 2 single rooms in this hotel via Expedia. The person at Expedia who took my reservation has made a mistake and booked a 3rd room, a double room. It was just IMPOSSIBLE to cancell this third room. The director of this hotel, a certain Mr. Gabriel, forced me to cancell the 3 rooms and to make a new reservation of 2 rooms with a 40 % higher price than the one I got less than a week ago. This was just an opportunity for him to make illegal business cause Expedia was ready to cancell just the third room but only with the Hotel's agreement. HUGE SCAM !

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank nb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Booked this hotel on the premise that it was very close to Frankfurt. It is, within relatively easy driving distance but the roads can be very busy. Not that easy to spot it sits at the end of a block of flats and shops. Although we arrived after the required check in time our room was not ready. The restaurant, was not open during our stay. The manager recommend the Italian restaurant about 150 metres away. Good advice the food was good and the people friendly. Not expensive.
The room was large with an elderly looking TV which claimed to be able to receive one BBC channel, it couldn't. The bathroom was fairly small but adequate. The shower looked a little dated but all was clean. Towels pretty thin and careworn. Interestingly the beer bottle opener is chained to the bathroom wall. Practical but odd.
Staff helpful WiFi good and the hotel was happy to print off our boarding passes.
The S Bhan station is a short walk away and pretty scruffy. We drove into the City rather than use the rail.
Two supermarkets close by.
It's a basic hotel in need of a re-dec. Good for a couple of nights but not more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is a so basic and old hotel.The place is out of center city, so quite and natural.Train station is only 5 minutes walk away and you can access to main station in 15 minutes by paying 4 Euro.The furnitures and goods like towels etc.. are very old.The reception get closed on 10:00 PM.So you must take your room key with you when you are out.

Breakfast is very poor.There is an old couple (I think the owners) working at the reception, and they don't know what is laughing..They seem hotel receptionists like at the horror films.You get afraid of them..

The price of a single room was 98 Euro during 2012 Achema Exhibition.The central hotels were 250-300 Euro at this time..For a cheap solution you can think for this hotel especially during expensive exhibition times.But for normal times central hotels are better choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubens_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was one of those places where you should stay if you are at leisure in Frankfurt. the place is remote from the city, about 45 mins by the train.
Lovely locality, very quiet, serene and residential.

The caretaker lady leaves at 8 so ensure you reach there for 8. We opted for a 11PM checking while booking, but thankfully reached there before 8. Wonder whether to blame hostelbooking.com - which provided the option to check in so late - or the caretaker, who was unaware of it! Anyways, the lady was quite co-operative so that dint mess up our trip.

Couple of eat outs around, a club and a garden. Enough for a relaxing time!

Room Tip: Lots of options for rooms - 1, 2 ,3 ,4 bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jins_Vijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stay at the Comfort Inn every year while attending the Frankfurt Book Fair, and the hotel's price and location are ideal for a week-long visit. Door to door, the trip to the Messe is only 40 minutes and there are several stores en route to the train station (which itself is a mere 10 minute walk). The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff professional and courteous, and I'm always happy with the breakfast spread every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookwormDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karben
3.5 mi away
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
#5 of 17 in Bad Homburg
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof Karben
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 5 in Karben
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ambiente
#1 of 1 in Karben
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Karben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Karben

Address: St.-Egreve-Str. 25-27, 61184 Karben, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Comfort Hotel Frankfurt Karben)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Karben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Karben
Price Range: $87 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadt Karben 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top accommodations - affordable rates! A friendly place to stay in Frankfurt, where young and old alike, are welcome and feel at home. 3+ stars family run, high standard hotel, distinguished by its accentuated comfortable and personal atmosphere. It is located in the Frankfurt-suburbs embeded in a pleasant green environment only 15 minute drive form downtown Frankfurt, and 20 - 25 minutes from/to the Frankfurt International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stadt Karben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Frankfurt
Frankfurt Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing