We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
55
23
15
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
23
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardenlittle gemold millsmall hotellovely hotelelectric showerplenty of parkingstayed here for one nightwi fian overnight stayhidden awaydecent sizelovely roombreakfast was deliciouscomfortable staythree nightson arrival
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 99 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friends and I spent a night in the Tumbling Weir on our way down to Cornwall. What a lovely welcome we had - our bedrooms had the most luxurious white sheets beautifully laundered. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant - cannot recommend this highly enough. We were told that their main chef had a night off and that his apprentice was doing the cooking - well her food was splendid! Our stay certainly started our main holiday off in grand style. thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millienbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The entrance to the hotel from the road totally belies what you get when you travel another 200 yards. Absolutely delightful. We had drinks outside and wandered around the beautiful garden before sitting down to a wonderful meal that would have put many many rosette restaurants to shame. The service was superb - friendly, helpful, extremely efficient and not too obtrusive. Breakfast was a delight; we tried to purchase some of the excellent homemade marmalade, unfortunately without success. If you want another excellent restaurant nearby go to the Jack in the Green Inn - truly excellent.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room which was delightful - very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTrip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have never stayed in The Tumbling Weir (TW), as I have family in Ottery St Mary whom I visit infrequently. But it is always a pleasure to eat in the TW. It is in a lovely location, once your have driven throug the narrow passage between the 18th century mill, which used to make serge cloth for soldiers uniforms 200 years ago, I believe. Or you can walk over the mill stream from the Land of Canaan.

If you don't know where it is, and haven't checked it out on google earth or whatever, it is a bit difficult to find. For Otteyr St Mary, where parking is an absolute nightmare, and has led to village feuds, TW is blessed with a very large carpark.

Anddon't forget to look at the real tumbling weir ... it is a hole in the water, literally ... it is a horizontal mill race !! Look it up on Wikipedia !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Working at the local school in Ottery St. Mary and wanted a hotel close by. It is not that easy to find but what a lovely place and beautiful setting. Room was spacious clean and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and nothing too much trouble and food excellent. Would highly recommend it as either a stopover or a central location to explore both Dorset and Devon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie and Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unfortunately our other favourite Hotels were booked as was most of the others in area. We were pleased we booked it - was not that easy to find but what a lovely place and beautiful setting. Room was spacious clean and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and nothing too much trouble and food excellent. Would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back and overlooked the gardens. No traffic noise just occasional plane going to Exeter Airport.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews