We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for active kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildwood Escot

Wildwood Escot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escot is known as the Natural Place for good reason. In the 220 acres of parkland, threatened native species such as the iconic red squirrel and the secretive water vole have found sanctuary in surroundings steeped in history and filled with beautiful plants and champion trees. Meet Escot’s family of otters, wild boar and the stunning birds of prey. There’s woodland to explore, wetlands to navigate, a maze to solve and so much more.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Good for active kids”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed this. My kids (4&6) like to clamber about and they had plenty of opportunity here. There's a soft play area, great pirate ship and slide and a nice little play area. The maze is really good too. The animals are interesting and well cared for. Bit of a wasp issue outside the courtyard restaurant but inside was fine. All the high chairs could do with a clean though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allieblogging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinSavill, General Manager at Wildwood Escot, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I am so glad to hear that your children had a great time and that you enjoyed the maze and animals. The wasps have been a bit of a problem this year despite our attempts to lure them away from the courtyard. I am sorry if they caused a nuisance. Our high chairs are now being checked more regularly to ensure that they are always ready to use. I am sorry that this wasn't the case at the time of your visit.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    67
    21
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

From the lovely welcome onwards this was a fantastic find. Unbelievable value for money. Red squirrels, otters and falconry were a highlight for us all -as was the fascinating Saxon village, and our daughter loved the seemingly endless adventure playgrounds. The big (very big) slide was more than any of us could face! We will definitely back. As members of The National Trust and English Heritage we rarely find these private places worth the money. This is a real exception -cannot recommend it enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank execonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinSavill, General Manager at Wildwood Escot, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review and for awarding us 5 out of 5. That makes 11 reviews in a row to give us maximum points, which means so much to the hardworking team here at Escot who do all they can to ensure our visitors have a wonderful experience (including that "lovely welcome" that you so kindly mentioned).

I am so pleased that you all had a great time and that you considered Escot to offer great value for money. Glad to hear that you'll definitely be back - we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whatever the weather”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited on the 17th August on a warm but very wet day and we had a great time.
We arrived in time to catch the bird display (hadn't started raining yet) which was really nice and intimate, loads of great photo opportunities as the birds were really coming in low as well as perching on the posts in front of each block of seating. There were only 2 birds being flown that morning but I think that was fine as we spent so much time with each one and at the end of the display you were allowed to have the beautiful Barn Owl perched on your hand (gloved of course). There are loads more birds in the enclosures leading up to the bird arens.
Very informative narration as well by the lady, she clearly loves and respects the birds.
We then moved on to the Maze. And what a Maze it was, everyone in our party got lost (6), it is the best Maze I have ever been in and will drive you bananas (rain started 5 minutes in). There are 3 stairways to view from (not ideal to bring buggies around although you can pay a deposit for a cheats key) and a central viewing platform to help lost ones through, good fun.
We then made our way to the drop slide, not for the faint heated. Only one of our party had a go and the look on his face was priceless. En route to the slide there are other play areas but we didnt stop too long because of the rain and wanting to have lunch.
Beside the Drop slide are the Boars, only 1 was braving the rain that day.
Next we made our way towards the Big chair, passing the Termite building which is a huge.
From the Big chair area we could see a stage for the Beautiful Days festival which was on that weekend.
Pirate ship and other climbing frames for you to enjoy as well as a tree swing.
Made our way to the restaurant to have a cream tea which went down a treat. The restaurant is nice and spacious with a variety of foods, cakes drinks etc at reasonable prices. The courtyard area has things for kids but too wet for us to go out.
Went back inside the park to watch the Otter feeding. There are 5 Otters in all and can be viewed from the enclosure area or from the pathway which is raised to the side of the enclosure but wherever you are you can get a great view pf them. Very entertaining and a very informative talk from the keeper.
There is loads to keep you entertained and busy unfortunately we didn't see the Squirrels and also did not use the Playbarn but we will definitely be going back very soon (not a wet day).
The gift shop is not over priced either and the staff members were very helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinSavill, General Manager at Wildwood Escot, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed the birds of prey display so much - our falconers really do love their birds. The maze is definitely a challenge and it's always good to hear of the fun our visitors have whilst getting lost!

It sounds like you really enjoyed everything that Escot has to offer but I am slightly disappointed that only 1 of your party of 6 braved the drop slide. As you are fairly local, I hope we will see you again soon and that you will all be a bit braver next time!

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We allowed 4 hours and it definately wasn't enough. Brilliant - Deop Slide, Birds of Prey Display, layout, pirate ship, red squirrels, cafe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinSavill, General Manager at Wildwood Escot, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send in your review and for being the ninth person in a row to award us maximum points! I am so glad that you had such a lovely time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hi Hazel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Been passed this sign many times but this time decided to have a look. Five hours later still there and what a wonderful place it is. Very helpful staff, lots of walks and things to see. Now I have seen many things but I have never shared a seat with a squirrel. A red one at that. Please visit this park it is wonderful. Pony rides,Otters,Falconry display, which included a Golden eagle.
Nice cafe, well priced to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MOULDOLDOUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinSavill, General Manager at Wildwood Escot, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It's lovely to read another great review featuring Escot's creatures. The red squirrels, in particular, have performed very well this summer and it's nice to read that so many visitors have enjoyed seeing them. It's also very nice to read your comments about our wonderful staff here at Escot. Everyone works extremely hard to ensure that our visitors have the best possible experience.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Escot also viewed

 

Been to Wildwood Escot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing