We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at Maison La Fontaine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison de la Fontaine
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second stay at Maison La Fontaine. A wonderful experience with lovely, well appointed rooms. A peaceful, relaxing environment - Chris and Sue are great hosts and will ensure evrything is just perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs bathroom has a great bath
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandSusan2, Owner at Maison de la Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

It was great to have you back and we are happy you enjoyed your stays with us. Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Maison de la Fontaine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This lovely b&b is a great find and we'll certainly be returning. We stayed a couple of nights in the Orb room up on the second floor, very tastefully decorated and with a large comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in our room as well as complimentary bottled water.

The bathroom (which is just across the corridor but no-one else goes upstairs so is perfectly private) has a lovely big bath and separate shower with one of those huge, drenching shower heads (though French plumbing being what it is, you have to turn it off occasionally to allow the water to drain out of the somewhat shallow tray). Another nice touch is the provided hairdryer with a long extension lead (don't ask... French electrics being what they are, say no more).

Our hosts, Chris and Susan (and Dude the dog), were welcoming and friendly and we shared a very pleasant glass of wine with them on our second evening. They provided an excellent breakfast and Chris took with good-humoured equanimity my error on the second morning when I misread the alarm and arrived for breakfast far too early, thereby sending him off hotfoot to the bakery!

Cessenon is a quintessentially French village, with all you need in respect of shops, bars and restaurants as well as a pleasant pebble beach by the river, a two-minute walk from the centrally situated Maison la Fontaine! We love it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jova1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandSusan2, Owner at Maison de la Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed your stay with us and take your point about the vagaries of French plumbing and a few days ago we reorganised it so that you can now use the hairdyer in the bedroom by a mirror! We are getting there, and being quite newly opened, it takes a little time to get things organised so we thank you for your understanding and look forward to seeing you again. Dude will be waiting for his walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently bought a house in the area and stayed at this B & B for nine days while sorting out the purchase. It is lovely accommodation and proved the perfect base for our stay. Our accommodation was very well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had tea and coffee making facilities together with a fridge so we could make up snacks and drinks throughout our stay. The bathroom was luxurious and well stocked with everything you could need. Our host, Chris, was so helpful and supportive in many ways, even going so far as to take us to the DIY shop in Beziers and to the Wine Cellar to get some cheap wine to bring home! We could not have been made more welcome and ended up sharing several glasses of wine and a couple of meals. The B & B is very conveniently situated near the centre of Cessenon but in a very quiet side street so perfect in every way. Breakfast was great too. I cannot recommend this homely but smart B & B highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 647Janet_M_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandSusan2, Manager at Maison de la Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words, it was a pleasure to have you stay and a shame that Susan missed you on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cool, calm and beautifully renovated. This lovely B&B really was the perfect place to spend the week, tucked away in a quiet street, but still only minutes from the village's restaurants, shops and bars.
The owners, Chris and Susan, could not have made us feel more welcome, from a cold, crisp glass of the local wine on arrival, to making bookings for us on canoeing trips,recommending beaches or showing a flexible attitude towards breakfast (which were always terrific, with delicious local breads!) They also offer collection/drop-off at local airports.
Careful attention to the smaller details made our stay even more comfortable, for example beach mats available to take down to the river.
The rooms were a blend of traditional French and modern luxury, with sumptuous linens, with a spacious bathroom and arguably the best shower we have ever found in a B&B.
Great hosts, charming accommodation, fabulous location, tremendous food. All round a perfect holiday!

Room Tip: The ground floor room has access to a little courtyard, with vines, and olive trees. We had breakfas...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandSusan2, Owner at Maison de la Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you both very much for your kind comments. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here as our guests for a week and hope that you can return one day and see the changes (good ones), that we have made over the past nine months. Kindest regards, Chris & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A gorgeous retreat, hidden away down a cobblestoned alley. The discreet sign at the front door belies the gem within. An historic olive mill which has been transformed into a beautiful B&B that continues to embrace the authenticity of that era. A white stucco spiral staircase acting as the core, lends passage to an array of beautifully appointed bedrooms, bathrooms and living areas. Everything about this place is so charming including the wonderful New Zealand couple, who go out of their way to please and welcome you with their warmth and great sense of humour. So many lovely French villages and vineyards to experience in the beautiful surrounding countryside, and the River Orb sits graciously in the valley below. The local cafes, bar, market place, church, and bell tower are a site to behold, situated amidst large leafy trees which add that touch of "romantic". I love this place and it's quaint and very French feel. For a taste of a typical French village, this is it, ... oh and the croissants from the local patisserie are amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYAC137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this very recently opened B&B. The owners bought and renovated it specifically to be a 'cosy' B&B and it shows.
A pretty house in real France and the owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. In the summer they even offer picnic baskets (not tried) but it is these little touches we like. The village has a bar and choice of food (cafe and restaurants) and it was so close to the canoeing and hiking that we willingly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lamontpe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A charming New Zealand couple (They can speak English!) present themselves and their delightful accomodation to a very high standard. Only 2 mins walk from the centre of the village that offers two bakeries, two restaurants Tobaconist, Bar, News Agency. Nice open air market on Sat morning as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lonestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cessenon-sur-Orb
5.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pressoir
Hotel Le Pressoir
#1 of 2 in Saint-Chinian
23 reviews
13.9 mi away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
170 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Vie en Rose
La Vie en Rose
#1 of 1 in Roquebrun
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Le Clos Mazerolles
Le Clos Mazerolles
#1 of 1 in Cruzy
40 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#2,818 of 3,506 in Occitanie
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Fontaine

Address: 10 rue de la Font Sucree, 34460 Cessenon-sur-Orb, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Cessenon-sur-Orb
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cessenon-sur-Orb
Price Range: $69 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming, rustic and quiet Bed & Breakfast in Cessenon sur Orb in the Herault region of the Languedoc Roussillon, between Beziers and St Chinian in the Orb Valley. We are just a short walk from the centre of the village and the stunning Orb river. There are several bars/cafes/restaurants, banks, pharmacy, Estate Agents, and shops including, a mini-market, that are open all year round. Our two rooms are on their own floor and offer luxuriously comfortable King sized beds with quality linen & private ensuites including large showers. (There is a roll top bath in the Orb Room). We provide quality toiletries and hair dryers. Both rooms have a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottled water. The Font Room has a microwave, plates and cutlery. There is a courtyard leading from the Font Room. Guests take their substantial Continental breakfast in our dining room. The breakfast consists of fresh bread and croissants, boiled eggs, seasonal fruit, confitures, orange juice, yoghurt, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and herbal teas. The breakfast is included in the tariff. We can also provide beach chairs and towels on request. Generally we do not accept pets, but some times an exception can be made. Please call or email us regarding this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Maison de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing