We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great combination of animal viewing and water activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great combination of animal viewing and water activities”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spend three night and 3+ days at Sibuya and it was just the right number. The combination of river expeditions, rowing and game drives make it an excellent choice. Our guide Werner is knowledgeable and shared interesting information about fauna and flora. River camp is small and has only four tents - which is ideal if you want a lot of I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend river camp lodge - rooms 2, 3 and 4 are more private. Room 1 is close to the dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi there in Washington

Thank you for your kind words - I will be sure to pass on to Werner
We hope to see you back here some time soon ... Sibuya ... "we will return"!!

All the best
Nick and the Sibuya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
124
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we just did a day trip to sibuya but nevertheless had a great time. very friedly staff, good catering and a really great informative game drive. it is no problem to drive the distance kenton <-> port elizabeth twice a day as we did this time. but next time i'll stay overnight to experience a sundowner game drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Michael,
We are so glad you had a great trip to Sibuya and we really look forward to you staying with us in the near future.
All the best from Nick and the Sibuya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Sibuya 3 nights. That was wonderful experience. Luxury tents, secluded in the forest. Delicious food. The rangers are such a great gyus! The place is perfect for couples. We totally love this place. Didn't want to leave. I recommed Sibuya to everyone who wants to escape from the big city. I will vote 6 out of seven :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallari86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Vallari,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and vote of confidence .. remember Sibuya means "we will return" ...so we hope to see you back here soon.
All the best from Nick and the Sibuya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The stay at River camp was THE highlight if our 3week trip along the Garden route.
We enjoyed every second the most. Everything there was exquisite - the "tent", delicious food, our Ranger and guide Bonga, everybody else was very friendly too.
The game drives were so much fun, an unforgettable experience to come that close to the game. (Elephant family, lions, rhinos, cheetahs, giraffes...)
We have already made plans to come back in a couple of years.
We LOVED it! Go visit and enjoy / highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Anbie
Thank you for the wonderful words - I will be sure to pass on to Bonga and all in camp.
Keep saying Sibuya ... which means "we will return"... and we will see you in a couple of years time or hopefully sooner.

Loved having you here
Nick and the Sibuya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh , scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Forest Camp with our party of three teenage girls. Unbelievably we had the camp to ourselves. Thanks to Bryan and all the staff for making our stay enjoyable, informative, well fed and completely memorable. The sundowner interaction with the Rhino ( rather closer than expected) then the Water Buffalo is an occasion upon which we shall be dining out for many years to come. Overall we cannot recommend Sibuya highly enough. The tented accommodation is wonderful and it being winter (down to 5 degrees at night) they even put hot water bottles in the beds and lit paraffin heaters for us on return from our evening meal!

Room Tip: Try to get a tent on the river bank side and 8 in particular, whilst it is the longest walk it has g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastNeukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi The Scots,
So glad you and the girls had a wonderful time in Forest Camp - it really is quite a special spot in the Forest on the banks of the river.
So glad you had such good sightings- we are very fortunate that generally our Big 5 sightings are so good!!
We really hope you and the girls will return sometime soon

All the best
Nick and the Sibuya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Sibuya River Camp with our three young boys. The location is beautiful, by the river and safe enough for the boys to explore. Mike, our ranger, was fantastic and we were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. The bird life and animal life is amazing. Fantastic experience all around and I would highly recommend this place for any family.

Room Tip: Stayed in the family tent - space enough for five and right next to the river- beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sophie,
We arte so happy that you and your boys had a wonderful time in River Camp - it really is such a wonderful place for young boys to have a lot of fun. I hope they had some luck fishing and you got to taste the fruits of their hard work for dinner!!!
Spring is around the corner so all the summer migrant birds will soon be returning and the birding will be even better.
We look forward to having you and the family back soon - remember Sibuya means "we will return" !!
All the best
Nick and the Sibuya team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly and efficient staff at reception in Kenton-on-Sea! Met by our game ranger, Brian, and our journey by boat up the Kariega began. Superb bird-life and views along the way ... Arrived at the reserve and borded our landrover - not long before we saw what we came to see - game and we saw plenty. A particular highlight was being so close to six rhino and hearing them munch away at the grass and also getting close to the three lions having a nap. Brian's knowledge about the wildlife and the numerous stories made for a very pleasant viewing. The lunch laid on by the staff was delicious - wished we had actually booked in for a few days. The Germans we met that were staying at the reserve spoke highly of the service and the food - the tents we were shown were absolutely brilliant. For those who enjoy fishing, rods could be used as well. See this company's website for more details. Thank you to all of the staff at Sibuya who made our day such a pleasant experience. Will be back! Special thanks to Brian! Eddie, Sonja ('locals' living Sevenoaks, Kent), Grant ('local' living in Capitola, California), Cecil and Arlene (Bushman's River)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieleeds1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Eddie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful words. We look forward to your return sometime soon -- this time, hopefully, to enjoy the special experience of one of our camps on the banks of the river.

Until then, all the best
From
Nick and the Sibuya team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
8.4 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
19.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
13.1 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#4 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp

Property: Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a half-hour boat transfer to River/Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced professionals. An abundance of wildlife from elephants to otters, Big Five, cheetah breeding program and prolific bird life await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing