We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday fun.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family holiday fun.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

In September I celebrated a special birthday and as both my children and their partners were available I decided that a good old family holiday would be the best present of all. We did a half beach, half bush holiday. I chose Sibuya for 3 nights as my "bush" option and actually celebrated my birthday there.

It was fantastic! There were 6 of us in our party ranging in age from 21 to 56 and we all had the most marvelous time. Bryan, our guide, was the best and we really enjoyed all his knowledge and input on our game drives. We stayed in Forest Camp and the tents are really special. They are all set out along wooden walk ways offering real seclusion and privacy. The communal areas are great and everyone eats together at one long table together with your guide. The food is homely and hearty and we were travelling with a vegetarian and she was well catered for. There are plenty of places to sit and relax either outside or under cover. My children were travelling with a slackline (loose tightrope) and they soon had the guides all giving it go as well. Luckily no bones were broken!

Apart from the wonderful game drives, our group also enjoyed some fishing off the jetty and we all did some paddling. The game drives are unique in that you spend time on the boat on the river as well as in the game vehicles driving around the reserve. Bryan went out of his way to do something a bit special for my birthday and organised a private area all lit up with lanterns for my family to pop some champagne and have a drink before dinner.

It was my 2nd visit to Sibuya and it definately won't be my last. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Janet
Thank you for your wonderful words about Sibuya . We are so glad you all had a wonderful time and a very happy birthday trip.

We loved having you all and look forward to your next (third) trip to Sibuya

All the best from the Sibuya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
127
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Sibuya 4 days. We saw plenty of animals, the tents were very comfortable and well elaborated, the scenery is beautiful (near a river), the quality of service is excellent: everything is perfect. We went there with our six-year-old boy and the staff was very considerated (they fished with him, prepared him specials dishes...). The good thing about Sibuya is that it is a little camp ( 4 tents) so it is cosier. and also it is a good value for money.Thanks to our ranger, Mike, who makes us discover the reserve. We highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bernadette,
Thank you for your wonderful words which I will pass on to Mike and all in camp. I am also very happy to hear your son had a great time fishing. I hope he caught some fish and had the camp staff cook them for him!!! It has been a wonderfully warm autumn so there have been plenty of fish around.
We hope you will be back to visit us again some time soon.
Remember the wonderful meaning of "Sibuya" - we will return.

All the best
From us all at Sibuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton on Sea, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Sibuya Forest Tented camp is wonderful, seculded,clean. It is set on a beautiful river bend. The staff are all very freindly and Knowledgeable. We even had a baby Nynala named after my Mom she was born a couple of days bvefore we arrived and had not been given a name. Our Guide called her Marion after my Mom. Very touching moment for Mom. Edwina Hough Kenton Travel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Edwina,

Very happy to hear you made it into camp this year - I hope it becomes a yearly habit!!
Please send our very happy returns to your Mom on her 80th.

I have been away but will definitely try and get down to camp today to see if I can find the new Marion!!

Look forward to having you back next year and our very best to all at Kenton Travel.

The Sibuya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The setting on Sibuya as well as the lovely hospitality and interesting river cruise, game drives and beautiful clean and understated tents (lovely cotton sheets, total privacy, perfect setting) makes it a place I will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girl-on-a-wire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi
And thanks for the wonderful words which I will pass on to all in camp.

We look forward to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
" Sibuya" ... we will return!!

All the very best
From us all at Sibuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had visited the Kruger a few years ago and was very impressed so I was a little suspicious when my partner booked a stay at Sibuya because he did not need to take anti-malaria tablets. I am please to report that I was impressed. The location is unusual in a river bend and two camps a short boat ride away. The game viewing was great, our guide (Mike) was so patient and always ready to answer our questions, we learnt a lot and he was obviously passionate about his job. The food was delicious so I had to be very strongwilled otherwise I would have put on kilos; our tent was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom very well equipped and most interesting! A great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Madeleine,

Thank you for your very kind words.
We are very blessed in South Africa with wonderful wildlife and our little corner of paradise is especially so.
I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Mike, the camp staff and catering and we hope to welcome you back here sometime soon.

Remember the wonderful meaning of " Sibuya" ... we will return!!

All the very best
From us all at Sibuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After checking in at the town office, drove to camp and parked. Guide and hostess were waiting for us, boat trip a little way upstream. Our tent(luxury) was above expectations, well designed and comfortable with good amenities and secluded from other tents.
On walking 20m to riverside saw rhinos, elephants and antelopes, before going to main area to embark on a game drive. Our guide Brian was informative, motivated and good company.
The meals were very good, breakfast, lunch and dinner, very varied and delicious. Guided walk was good. Would highly recommend this camp to all.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for a tent away from main area. But generally quiet there except for gen-set during d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi
And thanks for your high praise and recommendation.

Remember the wonderful meaning of " Sibuya" ... we will return!!

We hope to welcome you back here sometime soon.

All the very best
From us all at Sibuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent two nights in Sibuya River Camp and this stay is what we liked most during our 3-weeks journey in South Africa (and we liked a lot of places). Sibuya was us a wonderful combination of nature, game drives, food, coziness and luxury together with great staff who did everything to make our stay pleasant and unforgettable.
Our room, a tented house in the river camp was beautifully decorated and luxurious and we felt very comfortable. The Lounge is stylish and decorated in African safari style and it was great to spend time there with the staff and the other guests. We had bad weather the first day so there was an open fire which made it very cozy. The food is delicious and drinks and wine are free which we found very generous and made the stay more familiar. We enjoyed the meals with our ranger and the other guests very much. There were always interesting topics about safaris, South Africa or other common interests we had. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a really great ranger, Werner, who taught us a lot and really cares about the animals. He took us on four exciting and fun game drives where we saw fascinating wild life. We also had a very interesting walk with Bonga, who also told us many things about animals and plants. It was our first Safari and we are very glad we chose Sibuya. We had a fantastic time at Sibuya, we really loved every moment there and we hope we will soon be able to come back.

Room Tip: Our room/tent was a bit separated from the Lounge and we liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Louise,
Thank you for you kind words and high praise which I will be sure to pass on to Werner, Bonga and the camp staff.

Remember the wonderful meaning of " Sibuya" ... we will return!!

All the very best
From us all at Sibuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
6.2 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
19.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
13.1 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 15 in Graaff-Reinet
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp

Property: Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a half-hour boat transfer to River/Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced professionals. An abundance of wildlife from elephants to otters, Big Five, cheetah breeding program and prolific bird life await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing