We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful camp, delicious food, wanted more wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful camp, delicious food, wanted more wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed here for two nights on business. The safari tents were very comfortable and clean but quite cold in the winter. The meals were wonderful and the chef was able to make something for a vegetarian (me). Kerrow took us on a game drive and we were able to see rhinos at a very close distance. Nice birding and scenery around the camp for reading, games, etc. Not much other wildlife by camp, especially strange that there were few monkeys.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Manager at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for these comments. The comment about monkeys around the camp is interesting. We have a lot of Vervet monkeys at Sibuya (in fact about 5 separate colonies), but unfortunately when monkeys lose their fear of humans they become very destructive, quite dangerous and eventually have to be destroyed. We would absolutely hate to have to do this, so we actively chase them away from the camps. Hopefully from your observations this is working, although I am sorry you did not get to see them elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
124
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I can't say enough about how good Sibuya was. Our ranger Bryan was helpful, fun and highly knowlegable on everything we came across. He tailored our game drives to what we wanted to see and he made a fantastic effort to ensure that we the best possible time. This included covering the lodge with lanters so that we could have a very romantic private dinner for two. The food was excellent and plentiful and the tents were pure luxuary. If you are thinking of going on Safari here make sure you stay at Sibuya!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

The boat was waiting for us and we had the most beautiful rivercruise to the camp, we got some cooled drinks on board and felt like in another world.. The camp for itself is very small and therefore exclusive, you can't see your neighbourtent,everything worked well, which is not that easy in this region,perfect clean,we slept like babies,because the beds were perfect and big. The open main house, bar dinner, etc, is very stylish and you feel at home immediatly. Food was really exellent and the gamedrives with Tyron were great, he drove us to points , for example to see hidden elephants , bathing in a mudhole - we didn't believe the gamedrive car would do that all. We only can recommend this wonderful Lodge to everybody and if we get time, we will come back, that's for sure !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheetah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotogrande
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed 4 nights, for the first two we were alone, the whole camp and the whole reserve just for us, it was great. The tent is very comfortable, everything is provided, there is ample space for one's belongings, and it really is in the nature, no noise, you wake up with early morning rumours, you go out for your first safari, you come back to a good breakfast served with a smile, paradise found. Despite the very dense vegetation we saw a lot of beasts and quite a number of beautiful birds, the river makes this place different, magical maybe ? I would definitely recommend it very warmly to anybody who wants a "real" experience, something different.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We spent nothing short of a "magical" weekend at Sibuya. The farm itself is spectacular with the magnificent Karige river winding itself way through the sunny, nature abundant valley. Game drives are a real treat with a wide variety of antelope as well as lion, rhino, elephant and buffalo regularly encountered, and in the distance you can hear the crashing of waves which makes this a truly unique African experience. The accommodation is luxurious with "state of the art" tented suites making you feel at one with nature while down duvets, crisp white linen and the opportunity to have a deep, hot bath leave you with every luxury required to end each perfect day. The hot water bottles are a personal favorite! The staff are personable and friendly (Tyrone was a great ranger) and the food is delicious with a huge selection available at each five course meal. We truly enjoyed our stay and as the name Sibuya means "we will return" with regularity!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at River Camp in April 2010. From arriving and being shown our enormous suite which looked out over the river (tented is a whole new level here - massive bed, huge freestanding bath, gorgeous shower, sofa, terrace etc etc!), to meeting our extremely knowledgeable and friendly guide Tyrone we didn't think it could get any better... and that's before we saw any animals or ate any food! The game drives were fantastic - we saw so many animals - elephants, giraffes (including some cute babies!), cheetah, lions and their cubs, numerous antelope and ostrich to name a few, and Tyrone certainly knew his stuff. Although the weather could have been better we still had great hot chocolates in the mornings and sundowners in the evenings on the drives. The food was great too - hearty breakfasts on return from the morning drive and super dinners in the evening around a large table with all the other guests. I've been lucky enough to have been on safari a few times in various countries but this was definitely the most luxurious experience I have had. For my partner it was her first time - and was definitely the highight of our trip to SA. Another friend of mine has visited previously and absolutely loved it - we'll be recommending it to anyone who is visiting SA.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had an exceptional experience with two nights in Forest Camp and another two in River Camp. Although the camps are not far apart (we did a half-day walk to get from one to the other), they have different characters. We loved them both and the extended stay (they recommended 3 nights, we chose 4) meant we had time for game drives, game walks, boating, fishing, canoeing, a half day on the beach, stargazing, late night chats around the fire and even masages one day! The reserve is split in two by a river and it seems to soothe and soften the whole experience. We saw elephant, rhino, buffalo and lion (so four of the 'big five'), loads of different antelope (inlcuding kudu, waterbuck, oribi, eland, wildebeest and other animals like giraffe) and, although we are not serious birders, it was wildly exciting to see THREE Narina Trogons, a rare and colourful forest bird that the ranger called out of the thick forest by immitaitng their call! Food was five star (only possible criticism was far too much!), room was cleaned by 'invisble helpers', game guides were informative, tents much more spacious and luxurious than their name suggests ... we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landtheplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
8.9 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
13.1 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve
#1 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#4 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp

Property: Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a half-hour boat transfer to River/Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced professionals. An abundance of wildlife from elephants to otters, Big Five, cheetah breeding program and prolific bird life await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing