We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, friendly rangers and a great game drive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sibuya is based on very comfortable - but not air conditioned - tents. Access is by boat. The result is a very pleasing place which feels as though it is deep in the forest when it is not that far from Kenton on Sea. The private game reserve is small but well populated with elephants, rhino, giraffes, gnu and three lions. It is a pleasure to be there with the very knowledgeable rangers.

Room Tip: The river camp is smaller and more intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trollersgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing Sibuya... we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
I would just like to mention that we have no air-conditioning because our Camps are run on solar energy alone.. As the Camps are 'Eco Camps', we do not have sufficient power to run air -conditioners or other energy demanding appliances.
We hope that when you visit SA again, you'll give us a return visit...'Sibuya' means 'We will return'....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Eastern Cape specific vegetation, a beautiful river (Kasuga), the big five, and overall, a very relaxing wide landscape, knowledgeable personal guides, allowing discovery and close up observation of rich avi fauna and wild life.
A superb boat slow drive on the river, reasonable lunch on an island with antelopes frolicking around, then a 3 to 4 hour drive to meet at chilling closeness rhinos, lions and giraffes.
Very kind attention to the needs of an elderly visitor and.... just the perfect day to disrupt monotone windy beach walk.
A look at the tented camp on the river makes any visitor dream of a couple of days rest there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Pierre,
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope you will return sometime soon to enjoy the unique and very special experience that is to be had in our camps.
Remember - Sibuya means - "we will return"

All the best from Nick and the Sibuya team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The stay at River camp was THE highlight if our 3week trip along the Garden route.
We enjoyed every second the most. Everything there was exquisite - the "tent", delicious food, our Ranger and guide Bonga, everybody else was very friendly too.
The game drives were so much fun, an unforgettable experience to come that close to the game. (Elephant family, lions, rhinos, cheetahs, giraffes...)
We have already made plans to come back in a couple of years.
We LOVED it! Go visit and enjoy / highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellielover, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Anbie,
Thank you for your kind words... we are so glad that Sibuya was the highlight of your trip.
Remember Sibuya means... "we shall return" ... so we look forward to having you back here sometime soon.
All the best
Nick and the Sibuya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nach einem Zelt mit Flussblick fragen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hildegart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank bscler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenton-on-Sea hotels
0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
41 reviews
0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0 mi away
No photo provided
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers
#8 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
1 reviews
0 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#4 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp

Address: Sibuya Game Reserve | Southwell District Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve-River Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discretely tucked into a small forest on the river bank, each spacious tented room has been designed with its own unique layout in order to avoid felling trees and to protect as much of the site as possible. A light and airy design lets nature’s sights and sounds flood into the generously proportioned guest areas, creating a sense of oneness with Nature. Ground level pathways and large fold-out sofa beds make River Camp particularly well-suited for those with children sharing with their parents. Located on an ancient floodplain where an oxbow will one day form, the Camp affords views of the river from its secluded decks. AA Graded 4 Star SA Tourism Lilizela winner Trip Advisor Certicicate of Excellence ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing