We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, never to be forgotten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kariega Game Reserve

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kariega Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magical, never to be forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a magical three days at this reserve. All of the staff are very helpful and wanted to make our stay comfortable. Our game drives were with Matt, he provided us with some life long memories. His knowledge of the animals were second to none and he did his utmost to find the animals we particularly wanted to see. The children,aged 8 & 10, didn't want to leave when it was time to go. The food is plentiful and the accommodation is comfortable. We saw 4 out of the big 5, there have been no sightings/indications of leopard in the reserve for over 6 months so if you specifically want to see this you may be disappointed. I would have no problems recommending this reserve especially if you are taking children along. Special thanks to Matt, he made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicesterTiger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    236
    56
    18
    10
See reviews for
412
741
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We totally enjoyed our two nights here. Everyone was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. The animals were outstanding. We packed a lifetime of experience into two days. The food was very good, not foodie great--solid. Eating with the ranger each night was a delight. Being able to get face-to-face time in a relaxed atmosphere where we could ask questions about the reserve and life in South Africa was delightful and informative. The countryside was amazing and the worldwide base of travelers just enhanced the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoodete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would not expect any reasonable minded person to be disappointed by any aspect of their Safari on Kariega Game Reserve. Animal welfare is heart of the whole venture, visitors all help make this Reserve help keep animals as safe as reasonable possible, at the same time ensuring the safety of visitors.
Quality of vehicles excellent. Accommodation extremely clean and very well looked after. Cooking and service is excellent, Site is again extremely well looked after.
And malaria free! this is not just a business for fortune as Kariega has animal welfare deep in the heart, also environmental friendly, and helping local community with different ventures.

Room Tip: We were in UKHOZI lodges and were extremely comfortable, great veranda vista, AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so fortunate to be able to look after this beautiful area and the abundant life within it. We so appreciate you commenting on our conservation, environment and social focus - all of these combine to make Kariega the special place that it is. We hope that you can come back to enjoy it with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Bronwen & the Kariega team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got married here on the 30th July 2013! We could not of chosen a better venue to start our life together! Kariega is amazing! With such great friendly staff! We will be back for our one year wedding anniversary! Karen & Jorgen

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgensen-lian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were privileged to be hosted by the Kariega Game Reserve on 4 August 2013.

The whole experience was excellent, food well prepared, friendly service and really good amenities.

Also an abundance of animals to see. They also seem in very good condition.

We will definitely arrange to return for a longer period to experience more of the reserve!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is for the volunteer experience package.

I loved this vacation as I was there for two weeks. The food was ok. We got to eat at the hotel buffet once. I saw nearly all the animals on the reserve. Everyday was fun as we got to relocate the animals as needed. So we worked closely with a game capture company and got hands on experience with the wild life. I visited during late May. Good thing about winter in Africa is that the snakes are hibernating and we can walk about in the bush without worry. This is also the best time to move game around as the weather is cooler and they don't dehydrate while running away.

There was never a boring day. The bed was ok to sleep in. I was dead tired by bed time so it didn't matter. The washroom is clean enough. I'm just happy with running water toilets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We literally saw three lions hunt down an antelope and eat it with their cubs. We got up close to giraffes, zebras, rinos, a hippo, and elephants. Brandon, our guide, made sure we spent a lot of time very close to the animals and helped us get the best pictures possible.

We stayed in one of the chalets and were so thrilled with it. Even when it wasn't particularly cold, we used the fireplace because it was so fun and romantic. We also loved sitting on the balcony and looking at the stars.

We arrived late our first night and the kitchen was closed. Without our even asking, a staff member had a lovely meal sent to our chalet so we wouldn't go hungry that night. Throughout the trip, the food was top notch and plentiful. The staff was always lovely.

Really a perfect trip that we'll always remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Anna, we are delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us at Kariega. Thank you so much for posting your review. Lucky you to see a lion kill! Take care and we look forward to seeing you again on the reserve. Kind regards, Bronwen & the Kariega team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
1.3 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
20.7 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
16.3 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
#3 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve

Property: Kariega Game Reserve
Address: R343 | Between Kenton On Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Game Reserve is a 10,000 hectare Big 5 malaria-free private game reserve in the Eastern Cape region of South Africa. The safari experience combines close up Big 5 game viewing, an expansive variety of fauna, flora and birdlife, a landscape spanning 5 eco-systems and dramatic views and vistas. Kariega Game Reserve has five safari lodges. Main Lodge consists of 21 separate log chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms, lounge and private balcony; River Lodge has 10 suites and is located on the Bushman's River; Ukhozi Lodge has 10 spacious suites, each with private pools and great views; Settlers Drift Tented Lodge has 9 modern but intimate suites surrounded by natural bush and overlooking the Bushman's River wilderness area and lastly the Homestead private lodge is perfectly suited for families or groups of friends of up to 14 people. Rates include accommodation, meals, morning and evening game drives with your experienced guide, walking safaris and a river trip. Fishing, canoeing and other activities can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariega Game Reserve Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Kariega Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing