We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Spent 3 days as part of our honeymoon in ukhozi and loved every minute of it. The log cabins are fabulous, loads of space, huge bed, seating areas, balcony..just gorgeous. Arrived at 1pm in time for lunch and also for the 4pm game drive. Got 5 game drives in all and were delighted at all the animals we saw...lions, elephants, giraffes, rhino, hippo, all antelope etc. Was so much fun heading off in our jeep looking for the animals. Gets very cold at night so bring lots of warm gear. Food was just fabulous, every meal consistently lovely! it was all-inclusive and so had all the food and drink included. Went cycling one afternoon and conoeing another. Lovely to chill too! all in all just brill!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

IWehave just arrived back from spending three nights in Ukhosi Lodge in Kariega and what a time I had. We went on five game drives and was lucky enough on one of the mornings to get an excellent sighting of the lions - it was so great I don't think it gets any better. They were litterally a few feet away from us. There are two male, two female and four cubs of about 8 months. Over the five drives we saw elephants a few times, all the herd together including a few gorgeous babies, rhino, giraffes, zebras, all types of antelope, buffalo, zebras etc. Our guide Jason could not have been better. He is so passionate about his work and very informative. My partner was interested not only in the animals but in the plant life and birds etc. and Jason was well able to give detailed answers to any complicated questions he came up with. He is excellent at his work! We had a great time and loved every minute of the trip. The staff are lovely and so friendly. Stephen the chef provided us with some excellent meals. Jason's company at dinner and breakfast was always enjoyable and entertaining as he is very friendly with a great sense of humour. I have never been on safari before so I cannot compare but I certainly felt this was a beautiful reserve and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarepd2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Stayed in Ukhozi Lodge which is exactly as advertised on Kariega's website. Massive bed (more than 6 foot wide), large suite. Private plunge pool is a novelty but probably a bit too cold to get much use. Great for dipping your feet.

Warm, friendly, personal welcome.

Personal welcome also extended to game drives as you are allocated the same ranger for your entire stay. Ranger was knowledgable and encouraged plenty of questions. Great variety of animals to be seen - up close and personal. Kariega game reserve is so vast the animals appear totally free and wild as you would expect on safari and not contrived (as is the case on some other reserves).

Would definitely recommend Kariega for the experience of a lifetime.

Helpful?
Thank Couple-from-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed here while on honeymoon in South Africa as part of our Safari trip. There is the main lodge called Kariega where it is a half board basis, Ukhozi is about a mile away where the cabins are a little upgraded and you are in an all-inclusive basis. We stayed 2 nights, which included 4 game drives, one in the afternoon upon arrival, make sure you book in before half 2, otherwise you miss that one, and 1 in the morning. Food and drink is excellent. Our guide Juan was also excellent. Everybody sits together for the main evening meal which has the "family" effect. There are most of the animals you would expect to see, lions, giraffe, buffalo, hippo, white rhino, elephant and other smaller animals, antelope, monkey, wildebeest etc. Now as this is a game reserve, all the animals are bought in and let breed. Its not like you could meet anything, the place is massive but it is fenced in, for example there are 4 lions, 18 elephant, 1 bull elephant. And you have to go searching for these. We saw the lions on our very last trip, unsuccessful in the previous 3.
All in all it was very satisfying, we even got the most amazing thunderstorm on our last night!

  • Liked — The restaurant with the blazing fire and atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Sometimes long searches for animals like lions.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GimmeDonegal_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varied
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the Ukhozi Lodge for 3 nights in August - it was amazing! The staff were wonderful, especially our ranger, Jo. There are 2 game drives per day - this time of year, one at 0800-1230, and one at 1500-1800. During the second one, the ranger stops for 'sundowners' in the bush which was great - watching the sun go down with a glass of wine or cold beer surrounded by animals was great!

The lodges are luxurious - huge comfy bed, balcony overlooking the reserve. On our first morning we shared this view with a very friendly giraffe just outside the door!

One thing we would say, is that if you are going to take your holiday in the South African winter (eg, August), then take warm clothes - the rangers have fleeces etc, but it got quite chilly late afternoon/early evening! The main lodge has lovely open fires though, so the evenings are wonderfully cosy.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank britbirdabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We had a fantastic time staying at Kariega in the Ukhozi Lodge.
Everybody was very friendly our ranger Jacque was brilliant, we saw four of the big five plus lots of other animals, we learnt alot from him, plus he was very amusing. The food was great, the restaurant staff where very friendly, loved the singing, infact we cannot fault anything. So if you want to go on a safari with a lovely relaxed atmosphere look no further. Would we return -absolutely.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinebotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

loved everything about this place. we were amazed at how good the food was we cleared the plates at every meal. the staff were fantastic. the accomodation was wonderful, probably the biggest bed we ve ever slept in, amazing. we were treated to thunder and lighteneing storms during our stay and had power ciuts as a result but this only added to the thrill of our african safari,
we got to see all the animals we had hoped to see and delighted at how close we got to the elephants in particular
guide was brilliant. we were depressed leaving definitely the best part of our honeymoon. would love to go back again would definitely recommend this place. so many little touches which made it so memorable

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank contourmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
0.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
0.0 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 32 in Grahamstown
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge

Property: Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge
Address: | Near rural route R343, Between Kenton on Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge truly captures the romance and intimacy of Africa. Nestled in the bush you will discover 10 superbly appointed air-conditioned luxury suites crafted from log, each with a private plunge pool and deck offering panoramic views of the valley. The Lodge boasts unique African-style lounges, restaurant and boma with an outdoor pool. Located in the 10,000 hectare private game reserve with close-up viewing of rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, hippo and other incredible African wildlife. Bird lovers will enjoy sighings of some of the 280 species recorded on the reserve. The safari experience includes twice daily safari drives with qualified guides, guided walks and a river trip as well as all meals, local beverages and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing