We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking, amazing and a real eye opener.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, amazing and a real eye opener.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We came back from staying in Ukhozi lodge a couple of weeks ago and after staying there for four days we were very upset to leave. I cannot give this place enough praise, it is superb in every way.
The games drives are amazing you won't believe you eyes that you are seeing animals that you would never think you can get so close too.
Out ranger Tayla was brilliant and full or knowledge and enthusiasm.
The food and the service is impeccable.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on honeymoon and it was most definitely the highlight of our honeymoon. We stayed in the ukozi lodge and had a lovely lodge to retire to each night. The game drives were fascinating and we were extremely fortunate to have such a great ranger in 'Juan'. He was simply excellent and his knowledge knew no bounds. The food was quiet tasty and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. 3 nights was just perfect. We could not find any fault during our stay here and would highly recommend staying here if considering a safari.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first safari and Go2Africa took care of everything! We just had to show up. Kariega Game Reserve and the Ukhozi Lodge were top notch. Staff, food, accommodations and our guide (Tayla) were the BEST! Our chalet was very comfortable and clean. I would and have already recommended Go2Africa and Kariega Game Reserve to friends that are interested in a safari. I cannot say enough good things about these two outfits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa100163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ukhozi at Kariega offers an intimate and luxurious experience-perfect as the start of our honeymoon and as our fist taste of safari.

Whilst all staff provided a warm welcome and impeccable service we are truly lucky to have been entrusted to Jaybe as our guide for the 5 days we spent at the reserve. With his limitless enthusiasm for his environment, his vast knowledge, thoughtfulness and humour we were delivered variety and excitement within our daily drives. Working outside of normal ranger duties he allowed us to view the big five from boat, canoe, at night and on foot - each experience unique to the last! We cannot thank Jaybe enough for his efforts.

The accommodation offered homely comfort, great views and was enhanced by the luxury of superb housekeeping and a nightly bed turn-down. Warm flannels and even warmer spirits awaited us on return from our evening drives. Within a large fire lit lounge tasty meals were served to a high restaurant standard and an authentic SA braai was offered twice weekly.

We left Ukhozi with great memories and an even greater desire to return. A truly incredible experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Ukhozi lodge for 3 night game experience & what an amazing time we had. We arrived at Kariega(make sure you have exact address for sat nav as ours took us 30km past) at 3pm in time for lunch then the tea time game drive. The room in the lodge was fabulous with private deck & plunge pool although it was a bit cold to use it, however the views over the bush were spectacular. We did 6 game drives including a night time drive. The whole experience was made so enjoyable by our ranger Juan who went out of his way to ensure we had the best experience possible & made sure we saw as many animals possible all very close up & personal.... No queuing in lines of jeeps like in some bigger reserves. Juan was extremely knowledgable & gave us lots of interesting info about the different animals & birds & was eager to answer any questions. Every drive we saw something different & stopping on the tea time drive in the middle of nowhere enjoying the peace & beautiful views with a glass of wine at sunset was memorable! The restaurant in the lodge was lovely the food varied and good quality with plenty of choice of wine which was always refilled. The first night we had a BBQ outside around a log fire the other evenings we ate inside, your ranger is responsible for a party of 10 & you eat on a large table with your party & the ranger except for lunch time. A tip if visiting outside the summer season... Take warm clothes for the game drives as its cold at 6am & 6pm. In conclusion the whole experience was fantastic & the staff were great. A special thanks to Juan for being such a great Ranger

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived at Kareiga just too late for an evening Game drive, which also meant that unfortunately the restaurant was not serving food. After a long journey and very little food all day this was disappointing, but the lodge manager offered us snacks if we went to the restaurant once we had seen our rooms.
Expecting a bag of crisps and a sandwich we turned up and were given a small platter of food each, including Lasagne, quiche and fish, all of which tasted amazing!
After this I had a feeling that we would not go hungry during our stay here, and we certainly didn’t!

Our Ranger was JB, who repeatedly went out of his way to make sure our stay was memorable, from getting us as close as possible to the animals (without disturbing them of course) to taking us canoeing, taking a picnic and a walk through the reserve and night drives. As well us showing us the animals JB was very knowledgeable and answered all the questions that we could think of, as well us giving us many facts relating to animal :)

The animals were fantastic, every game drive we experienced something new and we got up close and personal with Elephants, Rhinos (White and Black), Lions, Buffalo, Hippos (one of which was in the middle of the road on our night drive!) Giraffes, Wilderbeast, Ostirich, Jackal, a glimpse of a Lynx and so much more!

The restaurant was beautiful, 2 back to back log fires with comfortable seating next to the dining tables. Everything we ate at the restaurant was fantastic, and they put a lot of effort into having a different, varied menu every day. The wine list was also fantastic, you could see a lot of effort had gone into the selections. Drinks were refilled constantly, and nothing was to much for any of the staff.

Our room was stunning, although it was to cold to use plunge pool the views from the balcony area were breathtaking. The minibars were always well stocked with beer, wine and soft drinks.

To sum it up, the scenary, animals and rooms were all fantastic, but it was the staff that really made our holiday an out of this world experience. A special thanks to JB for being a wonderful Ranger :)

We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lance
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

OMG, what a great time we had here, it was our first safari, and it was for my husbands birthday, we arrived and met our ranger Tayla, she took us to our lodge, it was very nice, the views from our room were amazing, we then went for lunch, only to be greeted by a giraffe, couldn't get much closer, any way Tayla came out and got him out of the way. We then went out on our first game drive, and a trip down the river, followed by wine and nibbles while the sun set (amazing). When we got back they had made a bbq lit a fire so we all dined outside, just lovely. They even made him a cake for his birthday. We had 3 days here and every day was different, the food was really good, the staff great, the game drives amazing, all in all they couldn't do enough for us.
Just take some warm clothes, as its cool at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
8.1 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
6.3 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve
#1 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
1.0 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#5 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Ukhozi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Ukhozi Lodge

Property: Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
Address: R343 | Between Kenton on Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Ukhozi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge truly captures the romance and intimacy of Africa. Nestled in the bush you will discover 10 superbly appointed air-conditioned luxury suites crafted from log, each with a private plunge pool and deck offering panoramic views of the valley. The Lodge boasts unique African-style lounges, restaurant and boma with an outdoor pool. Located in the 10,000 hectare private game reserve with close-up viewing of rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, hippo and other incredible African wildlife. Bird lovers will enjoy sighings of some of the 280 species recorded on the reserve. The safari experience includes twice daily safari drives with qualified guides, guided walks and a river trip as well as all meals, local beverages and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kariega Ukhozi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing