We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF PARADISE”
Review of River Roost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Roost
Ranked #4 of 11 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A piece of paradise that allows you to relax and be part of nature whilst still having all the luxuries readily available. If only I could have breakfast out on that deck every morning!!! The views are incredible with the added bonus of a view from the bathtub!Its easily accessible but lets be honest you wont want to go anywhere!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindivandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in the cabin with my two daughters for 4 nights. I had booked ahead from Australia and from first contact Simon was helpful and informative. The cottage was beautifully appointed and the views fantastic; we really enjoyed birdwatching from the verandah both morning and evening. The only downside was the hectic steep and twisty driveway which my rental Corolla could not manage. Although Judy offered to give lifts as required from the top garden the extra exercise up and down did us good. Staying at Kenton - the cottage, the beaches, the horse rides, the dolphins and whales - all added up to being my kid's favourite part of their first ever South African holiday :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed with Judy and Simon overnight in their house B&B then in the log cabin by the river. Both were lovely but the cabin was very special. It is very spacious, has a very cosy living room and a fabulous deck where we spent a lot of our time and ate all our meals. Our son was at the Flying School in Port Alfred and we used this as our base to visit rather than in Port Alfred - a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with our grown up daughter twice in August 2013 and had the most wonderful stay in SImon and Judy's lovely cabin accommodation with amazing views over the estuary. The house is so comfortable, with electric blankets and plenty of hot water and lovely, comfortable beds and a living area. In summer to sit out on the deck overlooking the river must be amazing. The house is reached by a little winding road down to the river but if you don't want to negotiate the road too much just park at the top and walk down - it's all part of the beauty and peace of such a beautiful location. SImon and Judy are legends - they are SO hospitable, they welcome you into their home as if you are one of their own: they are friendly, hospitable, have so much information about where to go, and where to eat in the area. They are incredibly generous and their breakfasts are just wonderful. The attention to detail is amazing and we definitely plan to stay at River Roost again when we are in Kenton on Sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We knew we would need a place to stay overnight after a very long drive, prior to going to Sibuya game reserve. We booked in via the Internet months ahead, based on Tripadvisor alone. Decided to splash out on the riverside cottage and what a good decision, lovely location and bright airy well appointed property. The access road to this property is narrow and steep with two hairpins such that the rear wheel drive car we were using struggled a bit on the exit. This is a very minor issue and the icing on the cake for a stay at River Roost is the genial hospitality of Simon and Judy who own the properties and look after you in their main house. They are just fantastic hosts. Thank you both for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastNeukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We [ wife and adult daughter] had the great pleasure of staying at the s/c cottage overlooking the river, it is very well appointed and a dream location. The views from the balcony and the outside seating etc. was terrific just to watch the river rolling by whilst enjoying a glass or two of wine perfect !! .Our hosts could not have been more helpfull, I cannot really convey in words just how great our stay was, as a bonus, a few hundred metres further up the road is Stanleys pub/resturant hospitable host and Lester the dog munching on lemons is a sight worth seeing .
David Thomas
Notts U.K.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAVID T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

River roost is by far the best place I have ever stayed in SA. The accommodations are perfect, the exact mix of well decorated, clean, spacious, and comfortable.

The grounds were fantastic with a pool on one side and a gorgeous view of the river and Ocean off the other side.

But above all else, the hospitality of the innkeepers, Simon and Judy, is what will bring me back. Warm, welcoming and with cooking skills matched only by their conversation skills.

River roost is beyond compare. Stay there.....thank me later

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
14.4 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oyster Box Beach House
The Oyster Box Beach House
#2 of 11 in Kenton-on-Sea
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor B & B
Milkwood Manor B & B
#3 of 11 in Kenton-on-Sea
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
4.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1.6 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Roost

Address: Grahamstown Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing