We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of River Roost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Roost
Ranked #4 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with our grown up daughter twice in August 2013 and had the most wonderful stay in SImon and Judy's lovely cabin accommodation with amazing views over the estuary. The house is so comfortable, with electric blankets and plenty of hot water and lovely, comfortable beds and a living area. In summer to sit out on the deck overlooking the river must be amazing. The house is reached by a little winding road down to the river but if you don't want to negotiate the road too much just park at the top and walk down - it's all part of the beauty and peace of such a beautiful location. SImon and Judy are legends - they are SO hospitable, they welcome you into their home as if you are one of their own: they are friendly, hospitable, have so much information about where to go, and where to eat in the area. They are incredibly generous and their breakfasts are just wonderful. The attention to detail is amazing and we definitely plan to stay at River Roost again when we are in Kenton on Sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We knew we would need a place to stay overnight after a very long drive, prior to going to Sibuya game reserve. We booked in via the Internet months ahead, based on Tripadvisor alone. Decided to splash out on the riverside cottage and what a good decision, lovely location and bright airy well appointed property. The access road to this property is narrow and steep with two hairpins such that the rear wheel drive car we were using struggled a bit on the exit. This is a very minor issue and the icing on the cake for a stay at River Roost is the genial hospitality of Simon and Judy who own the properties and look after you in their main house. They are just fantastic hosts. Thank you both for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastNeukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We [ wife and adult daughter] had the great pleasure of staying at the s/c cottage overlooking the river, it is very well appointed and a dream location. The views from the balcony and the outside seating etc. was terrific just to watch the river rolling by whilst enjoying a glass or two of wine perfect !! .Our hosts could not have been more helpfull, I cannot really convey in words just how great our stay was, as a bonus, a few hundred metres further up the road is Stanleys pub/resturant hospitable host and Lester the dog munching on lemons is a sight worth seeing .
David Thomas
Notts U.K.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAVID T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

River roost is by far the best place I have ever stayed in SA. The accommodations are perfect, the exact mix of well decorated, clean, spacious, and comfortable.

The grounds were fantastic with a pool on one side and a gorgeous view of the river and Ocean off the other side.

But above all else, the hospitality of the innkeepers, Simon and Judy, is what will bring me back. Warm, welcoming and with cooking skills matched only by their conversation skills.

River roost is beyond compare. Stay there.....thank me later

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wonderful hosts in this charming property overlooking gardens and the river going to the sea. I loved the chickens and roosters and the stories about them.

Room Tip: If you want a cottage to yourself, they have one. We stayed in the spacious home in a smallish bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is our favorite holiday destination and cannot wait for our next visit. Over the years we have made many memories here and hope to add many more. The hosts are lovely and always welcoming. We love the view from the log cabin and the tranquility of watching the river whilst sitting on the balcony. Sitting by the fireplace in the winter enjoying warm drinks watching the sunset and breakfasts on the belcony at sunrise. On our last trip, which feels too long ago, we were able to make pottery with Meshack who runs the pottery classes. It was lots of fun and we had many laughs and of course not forgetting the life lessons as taught by Meshack. River Roost is home away from home - planning the next trip already!

Stayed: April 2011
2  Thank ShaaziaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful log cabin overlooking the Bushman's River and it was spectacular and relaxing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenton-on-Sea hotels
1.5 mi away
The Oyster Box Beach House
The Oyster Box Beach House
#2 of 10 in Kenton-on-Sea
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor B & B
Milkwood Manor B & B
#3 of 10 in Kenton-on-Sea
48 reviews
6 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
4.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0 mi away
No photo provided
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers
#8 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Roost

Address: Grahamstown Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing