We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth Really Does Exist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Box Beach House
Ranked #2 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

In 2008, we stayed at the Oyster Box in the luxury upstairs suite for two wonderful days and vowed that we would return. This year in May, we did just that, but for four days this time. Words can not express how pleased we were with everything.

The accommodation is absolutely top notch, with a huge king bedroom offering panoramic views of the ocean and river mouth, a luxurious and hugely well appointed bathroom, a private lounge with free wireless, bar fridge, desk, sofa and telescope, and a fantastic full length private balcony. Nice!

The staff, especially young Sarah, were very friendly and accommodating of our special requests.

The views of the ocean and river mouth are unmatched, simply stunning.

We plan to return again, only next time it will be for a week, as we still did not find the time to explore all of the bays and rocks.

If you have the time, go for the day trip to Sibuya Game Reserve, which can be arranged by Louise at the Oyster Box - we loved it.

Cheers to you, Louise, and your lovely Oyster Box....until next time.

Best regards, Kim & Peter from Canada

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for The Oyster Box Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 63 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I booked in at the last minute in order to attend a function in the area - if only we had planned a much longer trip - and invited a few mates! Beautifully decorated and appointed - easy and relaxed - lovely, upmarket accommodation with truly magnificent, uninterrupted views down the coast.

Out stay was perfection from start to finish.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerfulcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed one night at the Oyster Box in Kenton on Sea this weekend and it was fabulous.

We were so pleasantly surprised at Kenton and The Oyster Box, the attention to detail, comfortable room, excellent and caring service were fabulous and most appreciated. We would love to return and would take the whole house next time.

thanks and all of the best

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lekkerplek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We booked a room in this guest house since we loved the view. Unfortunately the accommodation proved to be less than ideal. We were not told that guests renting the upstairs level will have access to the lower level of the house where we were staying. While taking an afternoon nap the 'chef' noisely started preparing dinner for the upstairs guests on the lower level of the house. We had to get fully dressed in order to fix ourselves a cup of tea in the main kitchen since the room has no facilities. We filled in a breakfast questionaire but when we showed up for breakfast the 'chef' took another 45 minutes to prepare our disappointing breakfast. She was very unfriendly and unprofessional. There are only 4 options for breakfast and I was told at the last minute that no salmon is available. I was given one tiny english muffin with two slices of tomoto for breakfast. My husband's breakfast was small and oily.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH, Owner at The Oyster Box Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

“Our policy is to ensure that guests are clear about their booking, so this misunderstanding is unfortunate. Our website clearly describes the property which lets you choose between hiring the whole house, or a room within it, at different prices in line with the market in each case. As is usual, the kitchen and main lounge areas tend to be common areas. It is unfortunate that the breakfast was not deemed acceptable – we do have literally hundreds of guest comments on our own website from more than 2 years that attest to the quality of our breakfasts and our chef. But we do appreciate the feedback and will refine our standards where necessary”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We picked this off the internet and the pictures didnt actually do the house or location justice. It is a lovely house, beautifully furnished but welcoming and comfortable too. Louise the owner is accomodating and friendly. After a busy two weeks along the garden route, this was a perfect, relaxing end to the holiday. The views from the house are stunning across the river and then to the beach and sea. The telescope in the house on the second floor lounge is great for whale spotting if you go at the right time of the year. Although we took the whole house over with friends, the guest book is full of people who have done the option of one room only bed and breakfast and all were complementary about the food and hosts. Kenton is a quiet peaceful resort but perfect if you just want some rest and relaxation after safari / travelling. Highly recommended and we hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Inken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
20.2 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
6.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
14.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#4 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milkwood Manor B & B
Milkwood Manor B & B
#3 of 10 in Kenton-on-Sea
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box Beach House

Address: 19 Elliot Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $141 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated and well-equipped modern beach house with some of the best views on the South African coastline. We offer both bed and breakfast or self catering accommodation for up to 8 guests. Located in Kenton on Sea in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. We have been graded as a 5 star self catering house by the TGCSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Oyster Box Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing