We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Box Beach House
Ranked #3 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Oyster Box exceeded all expectations in every way! An aesthetically beautiful and extremely comfortable and safe property with every 'extra' you could imagine. For a self-catering apartment I was blown away to discover that breakfast was included. Our cook and her assistant were a delight and at a moments notice prepared and cooked an amazing vegan breakfast leaving behind a bowl of fruit and the house clean and tidy on their departure. The kitchen is very well equipped with one of the best selections of kitchen tools and equipment that I have seen in a rental property. Add to this the American style Fridge/Freezer, a large freezer in the garage for guest use, an Ice Machine, quality pod coffee machines a separate fridge with optional drinks and comfortably large tables and chairs both inside and out, what more could you want? The Braai and outdoor furniture ensure that the comfort level is maintained outside as well as in. With exquisite views from all rear aspects of the property and a secluded wind-free sitting area at the front, every eventuality seems to be catered for. After sundowners we enjoyed the sumptuous furnishings and movie on the large HD TV. Before bed a relaxing bath with the Aromatherapy Bath Salts provided ensured that a good nights sleep ensued. Maybe the complimentary chocolates and sherry aided this too. The beds were extremely comfortable with good quality high thread count cotton, fans and windows with discrete security bars ensured a comfortable environment for sleeping. Spotlessly clean, elegantly and tastefully furnished, well equipped and with the most professional and courteous of management I truly have to say this is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in. I could not recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I rarely say this but this place exceeded expectations. We rented the apartment upstairs, which had a large bedroom, a large lounge area and a huge balcony, the views from which can only be described as spectacular.

Everything was just so, especially the king size bed, which had top quality bed linen and pillows.

Breakfast was served on the balcony and was excellent. The ham and mushroom omelette I had one morning was delicious.

The beautiful beach, part of the view from the apartment, is a short walk away.

There are many attractions in the area, we particularly enjoyed a trip down the river to a game reserve followed by a game drive.

If you do not rent the whole house, the downstairs kitchen and lounge area are shared with the other apartment, however, this was not a problem as the apartment has everything one needs.

One niggle, my wife found the hairdryer to be next to useless. She recommends a new one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HartleyWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful house - fantastic views, modern and 3-5min walk down to beach. Would live to go back and stay - highly recommended. We stayed as 2 families as sole use the whole house. So large enough for up to 10 people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uniquetravelbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast where the rooms are tastefully furnished and the view exceptional. The establishment overlooks the Bushman's River, is luxuriously furnished and immaculately maintained. Guests are permitted to make use of the kitchen and I will have a lasting impression of dining on the balcony, at sunset and looking out over the pristine estuary and Indian Ocean.

Kenton-on-Sea is a place of magical beauty and very close to many of the Eastern Cape Game Reserves. It is situated between the Kariega and Bushman's Rivers.

Can highly recommend a walk along the beach and around Corner Rocks, Bats' Cave, Rocking Horse, Shelly Bay and Carriage Rock. Kariega Beach has been awarded Blue Flag Status and a walk along that beach and river estuary will be an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Select a room that faces the Bushman's River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TouristGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a first year anniversary and we absolutely loved it. The views are unbelievable and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We had the pleasure of the luxury suite upstairs and we thoroughly enjoyed having the space to ourselves... dinner & breakfast on the balcony were a real treat... views were amazing... Was great to go for a walk on the beach in the morning before breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and would love to go back for a longer stay

Room Tip: Luxury room upstairs is spacious and quiet... great for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A few years ago, but it was a great family house and close to one of my favourite beaches. And a few km south you have cannon rocks with great kiting and further on an enourmous beach that is totally deserted. And Port Alfred with golf and now even a wollies!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We celebrated my mother in laws 80th birthday at The Oyster Box Beach House this past weekend. The house was incredible and looks even better than the website! Every conceivable luxury was available and the setting was fantastic. We had the most incredible weekend and would highly recommend it to anyone who would like some tranquility and a place to restore their soul! Thank you to Louise, Sarah and then helpers for making it such a memorable experience. We will definitely be back and hope to stay longer the second time.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking out the entire house if you are looking for privacy and some peace and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
20.2 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
6.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
14.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
0.7 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#4 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box Beach House

Property: The Oyster Box Beach House
Address: 19 Elliot Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated and well-equipped modern beach house with some of the best views on the South African coastline. We offer both bed and breakfast or self catering accommodation for up to 8 guests. Located in Kenton on Sea in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. We have been graded as a 5 star self catering house by the TGCSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Oyster Box Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing