We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Bernard's Hotel

St Bernard's Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have revisited this great pub several times. Love the 'casualness', superb views and gardens, scrumptious pate platter and adorable dog!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank T R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    142
    76
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok but no wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stopped here for dinner on our first night's stay on Mt Tamborine, thinking can't go wrong with pub food. However, we didn't find good value for money.

We found the menu somewhat limited, and priced higher than expected. We both went for battered fish and chips as the least expensive meal on the menu, and paid $21.50/each for what I would pay $10/each for at the local pub at home in Brisbane.

On the plus side, the battered fish (3 pieces) was nicely cooked, the beer batter was crisp and the fillets "meaty". The chips were hot and fresh. The salad was typical but at least in a side dish and not plastered on the plate.

Overall, OK but no wow factor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanaba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I don't go here for the food, but I still go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food average and $$ for what you get. I suggest you stick to bread (great!) dips and side dishes to share as snacks. Try and go when they have music playing for a boozy afternoon and a walk through the gardens (avoid the peacocks next door). In Winter the inside fire is worth it as well. And make sure you pat the dog. It is all about the dog.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worktravelGuanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying at a retreat only a few doors down from the hotel, so this was an easy choice for dinner. The atmosphere was lovely and there were plenty of comfortable places to sit. The menu is what you would expect from a pub, with the food being much what you would expect. We enjoyed our meals and thought the prices were slightly high not unreasonable.
There is a separate public bar area with keno, betting.... they even have their own St Bernard dog on the premises!
If you are looking for somewhere you can have a drink, have a meal and take the kids, this is a good option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kymberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“No justification of price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Worst fish & chips, ever. Rubbery & terribly fishy.
Cheese Kransky dish was average but the side bread was actually delicious & fresh.
I did like the indoor setting with the fireplace & heaters. Apparently the view in the day time is very nice. Service was mildly friendly. No table water available & you have to walk back to the register to gather your own cutlery once your meal has been served..

Good setting &environment, but absolutely not worth $50 for these 2 average dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank recordproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Bernard's Hotel also viewed

North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 
Tamborine Mountain, Scenic Rim
 

Been to St Bernard's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing