We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner - Unbeatable service and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Polish Place Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dinner - Unbeatable service and great food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We dropped in on a quiet rainy Saturday night, and were greeted by Phil the owner. As we were one of only three tables dining, Phil took plenty of time to make us feel welcome, and tell us about the history of the place and many of the rare imported decorations. Overall it was a warm cosy dining hall, somewhat eccentrically decorated with everything from pelts to cow bells to wooden carved animals and an large and odd collection of ties!

We ordered a pork hock with sauerkraut and mash (which was huge!) and a traditional sauerkraut stew with Polish sausage, and were impressed with the hearty, tasty, home-style meals. We also tasted a few of their range of polish vodkas, which are definitely worth a try too!

After dinner Phil took great pride in showing us the gallery which contained further hard-to-find Polish arts and crafts on display, and an impressive collection of amber jewellery and art (as a geologist, Phil will be able to teach you a thing or two).

This was a great night out, and much more than just dinner. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_M_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

A great place with excellent views. This type of accomodation isn't for everyone so do your research before booking. It is an old establishment but it has an amazing charm about it.

My husband and I had a very relaxing time here and enjoyed some traditional home cooked polish meals! Lots to do and see close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finerthingsinlife23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Would just like to say it was my first time staying at the Polish place the views were very beautiful The rooms were also fanastic . The staff also was fanastic will be going back there again soon .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
388 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The lodging consists of separate independent units with a bedroom on a mezzanine (with bathroom) and a lower level with an open kitchen living area. Each unit has a veranda (balcony) with comfortable sitting and a fine view. The kitchen area is well-equipped with pretty much anything one would want to have including a dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave oven, etc. One can do one's own cooking. The rental until comes with a well-stocked breakfast basket with cereal, eggs, bread, bacon, etc., adequate for a fine breakfast. One can make one's own lunch and dinner with food you bring in, or one can (most nights) dine in the restaurant associated with the Polish Place. If the dining room is closed for dinner, one can ask for a meal to be delivered to the room (from the menu at the same price). We opted for the slow-cooked stuffed duck and were treated to a marvelous dinner. The duck was stuffed with apples, and came with a cherry-red cabbage sauce that was delicious. The duck was very tender and tasty. All in all a great dinner. I recall five units and reservations are important. Well worth the stay if you are in the area. We would readily make a return visit if we were to be in the area. The people were friendly and interactive. This is a home spun place and Polish is spoken (just in case you wondered).

Room Tip: All units are essentially equivalent and there is no common wall; all are independent with space bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Went 4 years ago, I returned this year, staff friendly and helpful, linen clean and soft. On the down side the Chalet could do with a bit of tlc ie couple of lights not working and fridge door seal hanging off. Loverly views though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thygraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just returned from a relaxing stay in the delightful cottages at the Polish Place. We received a warm welcome on arrival and excellent service throughout our stay. The cottages are clean and comfortable and decorated in a cosy style reminiscent of Poland. Fantastic views of the valley make the spacious balcony the perfect place to share a bottle of wine and watch the spectacular sunsets. Our dining experience was first rate and the duck for two was superb. We thoroughly recommend the Polish Place for a relaxing getaway or the perfect base to explore the mountain.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcliffe
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

we enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay, made really special by the great service not only from Phil but also from his team. this great service started when we booked by phone then upon arrival, assistance in lighting the fireplace and every time we interacted with any staff we were made to feel wanted and valued. The fitout in the chalet was quality, with very spacious area, lovely balconies with great furniture looking out over superb views and with lorrikeets. The sleep we experienced could only be described as superb- the bed was the most comfortable we ever experienced and also the light comfy warm doonas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamborine Mountain hotels
1.1 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
2.8 mi away
Mountain Edge Studios
Mountain Edge Studios
#13 of 19 in Tamborine Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Polish Place Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polish Place Chalets

Property: The Polish Place Chalets
Address: 333 Main Western Rd, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Tamborine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Polish Place Chalets 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Polish Place Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing