We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamborine Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Farm Retreat
perth wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lack of basic hot water was the first sign of a ruined stay.On arrival warmly greeted by owners , spectacular views, luxurious chalet tasty cheese platter on arrival but then it went downhill................After a meal out we decided to fill up the spa and enjoy the night view, but very little water pressure, then no hot water at all. Had to drive up to owners house in the dark to get him to fix plumbing so we could at least have a shower. After attempts at getting it fixed pressure still too slow for spa, so we had to use low pressure shower. We lit the fire in room and all night there was a continual knocking sound on flue base which kept us up most of the night. After little sleep we were looking forward to a nice warm cooked breakfast but........owner came to our chalet informing us that the grilled breakfast had to be cooked by us-Why werent we informed the day before? We attempted to cook the meal on barbeque but the left plate didnt even work so we were left with uncooked eggs and hash brown.The lack of basic maintenance in this retreat spoiled our whole night away.

Room Tip: check that chalet has good water pressure and hot water.Make sure barbeque works if you need to cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keentotravelPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in the cottage for 2 nights in April 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The cottage was lovely - the pictures on the website doesn't do it justice. There are so many great little touches - such as chocolates, biscuits and cheese and crackers on arrival. Breakfast was also absolutely fantastic. And not to mention we loved all the animals on the property.

The cottage is also very well kitted out for self catering or entertaining.

Thanks so much Teena and Russell for an excellent stay and we are sure to come again. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseE28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wow, what a place and what beautiful generous people. Hard to leave, definately be coming back. Thanks for sharing your oasis with a view.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed in cottage 3 for the night before, and the night of, our wedding. The view is absolutely spectaular, looking down the mountain from the Tweed to North Straddie. The cottage was beautifully appointed, with a deck running the full length and catching the sunrise over the ocean, a comfy bed and lounge area and a spa bath with the same breathtaking view. Teena & Russell (the owners) were so freindly and welcoming. And the cottages were so private you could forget that anyone else even existed nearby. The breakfasts were really tasty and a good size meal. Can't say enough good things about this stay...it was simply divine! We will definitely be coming back again and again for anniversaries and any other excuse we can think of! The only bad part of the stay was that we had to leave at all...I was trying to convince my new husband that we should just live there :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam4Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Seaview Farm Retreat, we have now stayed in all three cabins and it just keeps getting better. Each cabin has a subtle difference making each on unique in it's own special way. Teena and Russell are just the best hosts you could wish for, they are there when needed but never intrusive, Teena even remembered a conversation we had had 6 months earlier and asked how things were going with the particular situation. We will keep coming back to this oasis on the mountain.....

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the views are the same, the quality and cleanliness are the same, each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here just over a year ago for an anniversary weekend. The farm is beautiful, the retreats are stunning and the view is to die for. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcylillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent two nights staying in the cottage over the Christmas break. Having never been to Mount Tamborine previously directions to the farm were easy to follow and we found our way fine.

We arrived to a friendly greeting and were directed to the cottage - which was beautifully presented, clean and tidy with all needs catered for. There was even an arrival basket for us containing farm fresh eggs, home made shortbread amongst many other goodies, which we thought was a very nice touch.

The rooms were clean and comfortable - and it catered for our 3 adults and 2 children fine... with the childrens room well equipped with games, books and toys and beanbags - another surprisingly nice touch!

There is also a selection of complimentary DVDs for use in the office, which we made good use of.

The highlight of the stay were the 3 alpacas which the kids were invited to feed, as well as the offer to feed and collect eggs from the hens - which were bought back to the cottage for our use - minus one which was dropped along the way!

The only minus was the abundance of mosquitos, especially bad one night after one of my lovely children left a window open earlier in the evening! But I guess this would be a problem anywhere on the mountain.

Overall was a great stay, and we were made to feel welcome, and would love to return at some stage!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamborine Mountain
3.0 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#3 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
18.9 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Farm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Farm Retreat

Property: Seaview Farm Retreat
Address: Seaview Farm Retreat 112 Golf Course Rd, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine Mountain
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing