We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maison Du Puits

Maison Du Puits facade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison Du Puits facade
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Maison Du Puits facade
Elegant dining room with Indian teak furniture
Chic Master bedroom with king sized bed and ensuite with large windows looking over the front garden
Kitchen Fireplace
Woodburner and butchers block
A little inspiration?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing with the family - felt very homely
Liked least: Overall travelling time with the extended family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2011
Hi Matt

Thanks for your kind review, we are really pleased you had a nice time with your family and that the kids enjoyed that storm!! You are all welcome back any time.

Have a good Christmas

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Reviewed October 5, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It is large
Liked least: It is dirty and scruffy
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2011
Firstly we would like to thank this guest for bringing his issues to our attention. However, we do feel that this review is unfair and so would like to respond to it as follows.

We have 2 houses to let, the main house which is a 3 bedroom property, and also a 1 bedroom gite to the rear of this main house. We advertise the main house on its own on one advert, and then also the main house with the gite included as extra accommodation on a separate advert, hence the 3rd bathroom on one of the adverts. The two different town names given are simply because the property is relatively close to both and we happen to have picked one for one advert and one for the other. Our guest has failed to understand this.


Yes, our own caravan is stored on the property, and there are some stones piled up, but both are in the very corner of the parking area and not in fact next to the pool. The pool is its own separate walled area.

It is true to say that the decking has been repaired in places and we take on board the guest's comments about this. We will be replacing the decking with hard standing for the 2012 season. A few stones have come loose from the wall. This has happened late in the season. However, we feel that it is an exaggeration to say that they are at the point of collapsing. Again, we will be making the necessary repairs in spring 2012. We would like to apologise to our guest for these problems and thank him for bringing them to our attention.

The guest has commented that our photographs of the property are no longer a fair representation but we can say that the majority of them were taken only in 2010, and so this is not the case.

The guest's opinion that the standard of the renovation is amateur is subjective and we have had many comments to the contrary.

The "second clean" that the guest refers to, was in fact a mid-stay clean especially requested by them when booking, and not a second clean due to the property being found dirty.

The customer also requested a mid stay linen change when booking. The mid stay linen was provided and the customer then asked for the beds to be made up for them. The 30 Euro charge that the guest has mentioned was to cover his mid-stay clean and also the caretaker time taken to make up the beds as requested.

We spend approximately £200 per week on cleaning, gardening and maintenance which we feel demonstrates our commitment to keeping the property pleasant for people.

With regards to the guest feeling it necessary to buy an additional mattress cover, we would like to point out that we feel that this was not required and that perhaps they were being slightly paranoid, but it is of course regrettable that this is how they felt. We visited the house ourselves only a few days after this guest left and having seen the mattress at first hand we strongly disagree that the mattress was 'soiled'. Admittedly, there were some wear marks on it, but this cannot be described as soiling and to do so is inaccurate. The mattress covers are there to prevent soiling and not to cover it up. However, now that we have been informed that this has caused a problem to a guest, we will of course be replacing the mattress before the next guests arrive.

This guest informed both us and our caretakers that he is more used to staying in hotels and being waited on, which is in itself of course no problem, however we have been told that he was, to say the least rude and demanding. Perhaps we could respectfully suggest that self catering holidays are not really for him.

We retained a small amount out of this guest's damages deposit for a broken pool net that the guest agreed to be charged for at the time when our caretakers spoke to him about it, but is now disputing. It is made clear to all guests in our terms and conditions that they sign when booking that damages and breakages are chargeable at the discretion of the owners and that in the event that the owners are not present for the inspection of the property the caretakers will inform the owners of damages/breakages found. However, despite this, we have since decided to reimburse this guest for the deduction as a gesture of good will.
We would finally also like to comment that we have had many happy guests in the past and so we are very surprised by this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: The gates
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$857
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing