We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the BEST food ever..!”
Review of Royal Tara Motel

Royal Tara Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Binalong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Tara Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Binalong
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST food ever..!”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I once watched a holiday program that highlighted the Royal Tara. Curiousity got the better of me, So I took my partner for night of culinary delight. We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package. Our hosts Marilyn and Tom made us feel extremely welcome.
Tom is an amazing chef, who has an uncanny knack of making everything consumed from the dinner menu taste blissful. I recommend the garlic prawns and any steak on the menu - as it melts in your mouth.
The dining room is nicely decorated and usually packed on a weekend night.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and have recently got flat screen tvs.
The breakfast in the morning is also lovely and extremely filling.
The dinner was so scrumptious and memorable that we've been back 3 times now.
Definately a treasure .. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xCattyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I agree with the above reviews, which I found useful, that say that this is a neat and tidy establishment. Beds were comfortable. Rates were very reasonable. It is on the main road through town but we did not find noise from the road overnight to be a problem. That road is very different to the Hume Highway 20 kms yonder. We didn't try the meals but would have been happy to do so based on the other reviews and the presentation we saw. This charming town is 15kms from the Hume Highway. We thoroughly enjoyed the mountain air (around 500m alt.) and the quiet of this town. The local pub is also a delight. I would recommended this accommodation as an inexpensive and quiet stopover for those on a long haul journey.

Room Tip: See the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This would be the best motel my family and I have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and beds comfortable. Make sure you have a meal in the restaurant - chefs Tom and Joe are the best!! Definitely worth a visit - you will just keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,977 reviews
392 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This motel may be an historic tiny town that most would regard as a backwater.

It is on the main Sydney to Melbourne rail line: the railway station still stands but is deserted, as it is years since trains have stopped. It is off the Hume Highway.

Nonetheless, on the weekend night we stayed, it was about half full: the previous night, I gather it had hosted a function for 50 people.

The motel is well laid out, spacious and comfortable. It is probably a 1980s building which means it is not one of the oldest of Australian motels. However it is in good repair and the owners seem to take pride in the motel's surroundings.

We enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning, despite it being off the beaten track.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Tara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tara Motel

Property: Royal Tara Motel
Address: 27 Stephen Street, Binalong, New South Wales 2584, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Binalong
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Binalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing