We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WAOOOO !”
Review of Mecavnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mecavnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mokra Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WAOOOO !”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What experience?! Hotel - village on the hill, with beutiful view to the nature of Mokra Gora. Relaxing atmosphere, peace and quiet place, especially in the morning and the evening. Wooden huts instead of concrete rooms, very clean,uniquely designed wooden case festive colors and patterns make you wake up smiling and rested. A large selection of food for different taste and habits. We didn't visit the cinema, but we will next time! We made trips to the station Sarganska osmica, Jatare, Visegrad (Andric-grad), Zlatibor, Tara, everything is close and there is much to see and experience. And of course, we enjoyed the pool, hammam, sauna. All in all, an authentic place for those who love nature, love to feel free...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
39
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Venezia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have a 3 night stay here, we expected a 4 star accomodation as per hotel description.
Arrived on 30 Dec 2013, first we discovered that the swimming pool is not usable due to maintenance, and it "could be available from the day after"... How is it possible?

Other services mentioned on web-site, as cinema (this place have been invented by Emir Kusturica) was not working; also wellness center was not available, people was working on it.

Staff is not plesant, receptionist was discussiong with us because our reservation was for full pension, whilest we confirmed for half-pension; she finally argued with a second receptionist in front of us, letting her to solve the issue. Staff was not making "non-smoking-area" respected.

Talking about the rooms, accomodation is in a kind of village of differente houses, wood made, one or two flats each. Idea is not even bad and site is quite original, but let's comment the "4 stars":

- bathroom with no courtain, after shower the bathroom is wet everywhere
- shower is not standing in its support, so you cannot have a shower with hands free
- slippers not available
- no closet (just a pin to hang jackets/shirts)

All this is not a problem for a quite comfrotable stay, but it is not suitable for a 4-star structure. This is just a 3-star or even less.
Site is overpriced; even if we consider the new-year dinner included, 80euro per night per person (about 160euro/night, half-pension, for a double room, even for the other nights) it is really excessive. With this price we can have a real 4-star hotel in a main city.

Being very far from any main center (Sarajevo is approx 140km, for Serbian cities we can mention Kragujevac at the same distance, other smaller centers have no particular touristic interest), we suggest an eventual stay for one night if price is fair.

Dinner of 30th (not new-year dinner) was buffet; just normal food, not bad but nothing special; no drinks included (except still water), no coffe/tea/... and even dessert (available at extra price).

We have travelled all around the world, even in 1-2 star hotels with no problem, but this place is far away from being a 4-star hotel.

We will not return in Mecavnik.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeoVe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

An amazing experience. The hotel is designed as a village in Serbia. All rooms are in ethno style, look at the beautiful mountains. The food is excellent, great variety of food. The service is also excellent. The hotel has a swimming pool, restaurants, a cinema, tennis courts,gym, restaurants, coffee shops, bookstores. Free wifi in entire hotel. I recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: room number 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A Village-Hotel built in Serbian mountains by Emir Kusturica, a film director renowned for his poetic, naturalistic and esoteric style. On top of the hill surrounded by even bigger hills - a dramatic scenery wherever you look.
Every room seems to be furnished differently, so many colours working so well together - kept me inside most of the time. Far more interesting and witty design EVERYWHERE than any of the art or boutique hotels I ever visited, based on local traditional ways,
Overall, thank you Kusto for such unseen burst of creativity carved into this village !!!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the outer edge of the village, these have best views over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

+ The area/town/hotel is really cool and cozy
+ Excellent views of the surrounding mountain areas, peaceful location

+/- Rooms were quirky and fun, but do not expect too much
+/- Pool, sauna and hot tub area was decent, but a bit worn down

- The restaurant was kind of poor. The food itself was decent (buffet for both breakfast and dinner), but the service was sloooow, and it was almost impossible to order drinks due to the slow and random approach to the tables by the waiters (didn't seem like there was a plan)
- The place is a long way from Belgrade! We only stayed one night - would recommend two nights
- There are a lot of dogs/puppies within the wooden town. Many of them are really cute, but they made a lot of noise during the morning! Would recommend ear plugs...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Mecavnik hotel is not just a steril stop in on the serbian montains in Mokra Gora, but it is an unusual place where art and peace join together. The village has been created by moovie maker Kusturica. The village include the hotel, with nice and clean wide rooms and couples of bistro and restaurant. You can also have a dive at the swimming pool and booking an outstanding massage for a very convinient price. The hotel and village is up in the montains, bit chilly in the evening and night but extremely confortable!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la-monpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozarevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is simply a real vacation for the eyes and ears.
Hidden in the mountains, this is the right place for all those who want take a break from city noise and crowds.
Great food and very friendly staff make your stay unforgettable.
I will try my best to go there again as soon as I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mokra Gora
0.0 mi away
Hotel Omorika
Hotel Omorika
#1 of 1 in Tara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Palisad
Hotel Palisad
#2 of 4 in Zlatibor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Zlatibor Mona
Hotel Zlatibor Mona
#1 of 4 in Zlatibor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 4 in Zlatibor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Sargan Eight (Sarganska Osmica)
0.3 mi away
Apartments Milev
Apartments Milev
#1 of 1 in Mokra Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecavnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecavnik

Property: Mecavnik
Address: Mokra Gora 31243, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Central Serbia > Mokra Gora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mokra Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mecavnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecavnik Hotel Mokra Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing