We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com$75
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
21
64
28
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
64
28
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana boat jet ski table tennis beautiful place water polo cottage cycling activities activity beach badminton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 123 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

i've been to tj lesung once with my classmates for farewell event. i and my friends like it a lot.

However, since i'm not fond of writing to much, i'll just list the details:

-the cottages are clean, that's good since i hate insects & bugs

-bedrooms and bathrooms are nice

-the AC is working nicely

-private pool in each cottage, not big but enough.

-really fun to bike around since the resort is in large area and the bike path is fun to explore.

-some water activities there (e.g. snorkeling, jet skiing, kayaking (similar to canoing i think), banana boat, and some others) which is nice to spend memorable time with friends

-nice corals, snorkeling is recommended

-the staffs are friendly

-food is okay

-free karaoke at the restaurant.(yay!)

-nice view and sunset

-unfortunately, the beach is not swimable, many rocks and hurts the feet.

-the seat of the bike is not very nice, since all my friends have aching bottoms the next morning (but still cycling because it's fun and walking is quite tiring.)

-hot water are limited, so dont be surprised that your bath tub water will not be as hot as u wanted. so make sure u take a bath before your friends do..XD

-additional fees for the water activities

-not cheap

i and my other friends are planning to go there again soon because it is nice.

regards, wilson

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wilsonnyo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I've been to Tanjung Lesung twice, and I like it a lot. But perhaps it's because I'm a traveler who loves quiet places and does not fret much about a lack of entertainment area or a touch of wildness - as in, wildlife, as in frogs jumping in the gardens or even meeting a snake when walking back to the villa. In fact, I find it really amusing. Hey, I took a trip to find different things and situations, not the same urban landscapes I face every day!

I really love the clean and fresh air - my favourite activity to do there is cycling (you can rent a bike), which I cannot do much in Jakarta. We can also take a trip to Ujung Kulon (although I haven't done so) or to a small island with very clean beaches where a horror flick was shot a couple of years ago. Only a family lives in the island, and it's a nice experience to talk and interact with them.

But beware, this place is quite far from Jakarta - about 4 hours drive - but look on the brighter side. Along the way, you will pass small towns bustling with life and other places that may tempt you to stop for a rest or sightseeing. And it maybe a little difficult to find food, so arm yourself with enough food from Jakarta. You can cook in the kitchen, so worry not.

If you don't feel like swimming at the beach, there's a public swimming pool facing the sea (so you won't miss the scenery), and some villas also come with their own private pool so you can swim 24/7 if you like!

Date of stay: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darwinia-Id
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed for a weekend at the Tanjung Lesung, I have 3 kids (4, 11 and 16) and they all had a very good time. Be prepared for a long ride, even though its only 160 KM away from Jakarta the road takes you though small towns and it takes about 3 to 4 hours to get there.

Things we liked:

The gardens sorrounding the cottages are very pretty and well kept.

The cottages are very simple but kept reasonably clean.

The staff is very kind and helpful.

My kids loved the bicycles, the hotel has a great path along the beach to ride them. Also they have a playground with a tree house and a very friendly little monkey to pet.

From their beach club you can take some tours to other islands, we chose to go to Anak Krakatoa, and it was great. This is a very active volcano that is erupting every 10 minutes or so.

Dislikes:

The food is not very good.

The pool is OK but nothing special.

We found it overpriced, they charged us about US$ 300 a night for a 4 person cottage and this is not a luxury resort like advertised, its a 3 star at the most.

The beach is terrible, very small and mostly rocks.

The bathrooms at the beach club were filthy.

In overall, we had fun and we found the Tanjung Lesung to be relaxing and a good place to take a break from the city, but there is a few things that they could improve.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Purpose of stay was (a) to find a new hotel convenient for a business trip to Merak/Anyer and (b) see if might make a good getaway for the family. Usual choice of hotels for biz when flying in to Jakarta and onward trip to Merak/Anyer is the Sheraton Bandara (5 min from the the airport).

Prior to booking the hotel advised that the driving time was 3 hrs from airport and 1 hour to Anyer. Small fib. Times are 3.5 hours and 2 hours respectively.

Restaurant 2 min walk from room (208). Pool and beach in front of bar & restaurant. No white wine (run out) - red wine looks poisonous in 5 litre flaggons. Recommend to stick to the beer.

Scenic drive but too long for children. The car provided by the hotel was a 7 seater Toyota. Uncomfortable, no bottled water, seat belt not working, bumpy road, bad suspension, slow driver (we got over taken by transit vans!). Air con conked out two thirds into the drive. At over US$200 one way, the land transport was over priced. I'll stick to Bluebird next time.

The place was empty apart from one other couple. Staff were friendly and polite and tended to smile a lot when broken things/wrong info commented upon.

Internet promised in rooms doesnt exist. Free wireless available in restaurant and bar areas though.

Summary. Interesting place but inconvenient location. May work as a get away for grown ups.

Room OK, but nothing special apart from the fact it was large. Broken and constantly fushing toilet - hoping its fixed when I go back to the room.

Maybe good as a corp getaway, apart from the drive. Not sure if I want to bring family here though.

Food seems good. The satay is a definite improvement on SQ.

Julian Brown, Singapore

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lostnfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

The resort first appealed as a low cost resort within easy reach (3-4hrs) drive of Jakarta offering clean skies and waters. And on this level it did not disappoint.
At $65 (per couple) a night incl. b'fast during week and $125 per night incl. b'fast and dinner on w'ends it is low cost.
The skies are clear and the beach quite nice and the water inviting. The level of accommodation is quite good - clean and roomy- although sleeping on the floor with a stone pillow may have offered a more comfortable alternative to the bed and pillows on offer.. We were enjoying our time until two Company outing groups numbering over 200 arrived for some team bonding. Didnt do much for our bonding as the quiet, relaxing resort we were enjoying was transformed. We were moved from the restaurant to the bar area for meals which consisted of battling with the hordes over the buffett- reasonable enough buffet but it was never replenished and after the tour group was through after 20 min there was nothing left for the rest of us but rice, potatoes and vegetables- Ok if your a vegetarian perhaps. As for the relaxing lounge by the pool that was soon destroyed as team bonding moved to the pool.
So a big tip- check that there are no Company groups booked in during your stay , otherwise quite an enjoyable place for the price.

Beautiful location on the wide sandy/coral beaches looking over the water to Krakatoa, the resort itself is quite pretty and well kept. Beach club offers a range of good value water activities in the blue waters but if planning on a trip to Krakatoa or the close by National Park note that boats only travel with a minimum of 8 people- otherwise you can charter the entire boat for US$ 450- we decided to pass.

Food generally is poor quality although the buffets (if you get in before the tour groups) are quite good especially at $10 per head. The option of escaping to the local restaurants does not exist as the resort is in a secluded location.

The dinner shows on Friday and Saturday are lively and entertaining- drums, dancing and firebreathing pretty well sums it up.

If looking for a low cost escape from Jakarta can recommend it but bring your own pillow and beware of the Company tour groups!

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews