We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung Lesung
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed for a weekend at the Tanjung Lesung, I have 3 kids (4, 11 and 16) and they all had a very good time. Be prepared for a long ride, even though its only 160 KM away from Jakarta the road takes you though small towns and it takes about 3 to 4 hours to get there.

Things we liked:

The gardens sorrounding the cottages are very pretty and well kept.

The cottages are very simple but kept reasonably clean.

The staff is very kind and helpful.

My kids loved the bicycles, the hotel has a great path along the beach to ride them. Also they have a playground with a tree house and a very friendly little monkey to pet.

From their beach club you can take some tours to other islands, we chose to go to Anak Krakatoa, and it was great. This is a very active volcano that is erupting every 10 minutes or so.

Dislikes:

The food is not very good.

The pool is OK but nothing special.

We found it overpriced, they charged us about US$ 300 a night for a 4 person cottage and this is not a luxury resort like advertised, its a 3 star at the most.

The beach is terrible, very small and mostly rocks.

The bathrooms at the beach club were filthy.


In overall, we had fun and we found the Tanjung Lesung to be relaxing and a good place to take a break from the city, but there is a few things that they could improve.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2008

Purpose of stay was (a) to find a new hotel convenient for a business trip to Merak/Anyer and (b) see if might make a good getaway for the family. Usual choice of hotels for biz when flying in to Jakarta and onward trip to Merak/Anyer is the Sheraton Bandara (5 min from the the airport).

Prior to booking the hotel advised that the driving time was 3 hrs from airport and 1 hour to Anyer. Small fib. Times are 3.5 hours and 2 hours respectively.

Restaurant 2 min walk from room (208). Pool and beach in front of bar & restaurant. No white wine (run out) - red wine looks poisonous in 5 litre flaggons. Recommend to stick to the beer.

Scenic drive but too long for children. The car provided by the hotel was a 7 seater Toyota. Uncomfortable, no bottled water, seat belt not working, bumpy road, bad suspension, slow driver (we got over taken by transit vans!). Air con conked out two thirds into the drive. At over US$200 one way, the land transport was over priced. I'll stick to Bluebird next time.

The place was empty apart from one other couple. Staff were friendly and polite and tended to smile a lot when broken things/wrong info commented upon.

Internet promised in rooms doesnt exist. Free wireless available in restaurant and bar areas though.

Summary. Interesting place but inconvenient location. May work as a get away for grown ups.

Room OK, but nothing special apart from the fact it was large. Broken and constantly fushing toilet - hoping its fixed when I go back to the room.

Maybe good as a corp getaway, apart from the drive. Not sure if I want to bring family here though.

Food seems good. The satay is a definite improvement on SQ.

Julian Brown, Singapore

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lostnfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

The resort first appealed as a low cost resort within easy reach (3-4hrs) drive of Jakarta offering clean skies and waters. And on this level it did not disappoint.
At $65 (per couple) a night incl. b'fast during week and $125 per night incl. b'fast and dinner on w'ends it is low cost.
The skies are clear and the beach quite nice and the water inviting. The level of accommodation is quite good - clean and roomy- although sleeping on the floor with a stone pillow may have offered a more comfortable alternative to the bed and pillows on offer.. We were enjoying our time until two Company outing groups numbering over 200 arrived for some team bonding. Didnt do much for our bonding as the quiet, relaxing resort we were enjoying was transformed. We were moved from the restaurant to the bar area for meals which consisted of battling with the hordes over the buffett- reasonable enough buffet but it was never replenished and after the tour group was through after 20 min there was nothing left for the rest of us but rice, potatoes and vegetables- Ok if your a vegetarian perhaps. As for the relaxing lounge by the pool that was soon destroyed as team bonding moved to the pool.
So a big tip- check that there are no Company groups booked in during your stay , otherwise quite an enjoyable place for the price.

Beautiful location on the wide sandy/coral beaches looking over the water to Krakatoa, the resort itself is quite pretty and well kept. Beach club offers a range of good value water activities in the blue waters but if planning on a trip to Krakatoa or the close by National Park note that boats only travel with a minimum of 8 people- otherwise you can charter the entire boat for US$ 450- we decided to pass.

Food generally is poor quality although the buffets (if you get in before the tour groups) are quite good especially at $10 per head. The option of escaping to the local restaurants does not exist as the resort is in a secluded location.

The dinner shows on Friday and Saturday are lively and entertaining- drums, dancing and firebreathing pretty well sums it up.

If looking for a low cost escape from Jakarta can recommend it but bring your own pillow and beware of the Company tour groups!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank ine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: semua kamar di design dengan dua kamar yang nyaman dengan nuansa rumah adat dan alunan musik daerah...
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Deasy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Lesung
0.1 mi away
Kalicaa Villa Resort
Kalicaa Villa Resort
#2 of 3 in Tanjung Lesung
40 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hawaii Resort Family Suites
0.0 mi away
Bali de Anyer
Bali de Anyer
#1 of 4 in Carita
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Double G Resort Anyer
Double G Resort Anyer
#2 of 12 in Anyer
43 reviews
18.0 mi away
Bintang Laut Resort
0.0 mi away
Double G Resort Anyer
Double G Resort Anyer
#3 of 7 in Anyer
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort

Address: Tanjung Lesung Road, Tanjung Lesung 42281, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Banten Province > Tanjung Lesung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung Lesung
Price Range: $67 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort faces the Sunda Strait with direct view of the Krakatau Volcano and in near proximity of Panaitan Island in Ujung Kulon National Park. The natural beauty of its location blended with the excellent facilities of the hotel, makes Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort an ideal place for a honeymoon, a romantic interlude or a family holiday. We invite you to get away from the modern day hustle and join us to experience the sun-drenched tropical flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tanjung Lesung Bay Villas Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Lesung Hotel Tanjung Lesung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing