We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night but food next door poor”

Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was forced to move to this hotel when the nearby Premier Inn was full. The lady at reception was wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The room and bed were very comfortable but would agree with an earlier poster who said that it was bit tired, the TV needs updating and the lighting dim!! The bathroom had had a make over and was really good looking and serviceable with a large and welcome bath!

Unfortunately, I did not enjoy the pub restaurant next door and am sure it was not one that Lenny Henry had visited before making his commercials. Into a grease laden atmosphere (seen clearly as a mist as the sun shone through), I stood and waited to be seated for sometime before being told I had to join the queue to order and pay for the food and drink. Unfortunately I found myself behind two groups who were ordering for 8 and 6 people respectively and the girl taking the orders, which were being thought about and changed, also then had to prepare and serve the drinks for them to take back to their table.

I would suggest that it was some 15 minutes after entering that I sat down to enjoy a drink and await the food's arrival. After a poor (for me) choice of starters, I selected a prawn cocktail that consisted of a bit of shredded lettuce on which sat about 12/15 small prawns with a rather large dish in the middle of the plate filled with what i could only describe as a huge slab of "Marie Rose" sauce which tasted like it was made of cheap mayo mixed with a little ketchup........

The mains was Toad in the Hole, as just fancied it, but the Yorkshire pudding was either bought in or, if cooked on the premises, had been cooked and frozen before reheating...it was like cardboard. I would say that the sausages were very good indeed and the only part of the meal that I found enjoyable. The server who brought the mains did say that there was a 100% guarantee of a fresh meal if not stauisfactory but could not be bothered to remain there whilst they (probably) brought another piece of cardboard...............

I would not like you to get the impression that the staff were bad because they were very pleasant indeed and, once they had the chance, very helpful but would suggest that the general way in which the customer is dealt with needs to be looked into as does the quality of the food....

For £79 it was not the cheapest stay and would not stay here again (because of the poor quality of the food and pub) but recommend visitors to the area to use the Premier Inn at Heswall!!

Room Tip: On a main road but the double glazing stops any noise into the room...but also means that you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ustaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that your stay with us was a good one.

I will pass your comments regarding the restaurant next door to the pub manager.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had two nights here in April 2013. Really comfortable rooms, I like the fact that you can easily control the room temperature (little things!). They could afford to substantially turn down the heating in the corridors - it was stifling. Lovely large beds and the showers are absolutely the best, it was like being sandblasted but in a nice way :-) Could have stayed under it all day. The breakfast in the Twelth Man was excellent, good value and large variety. Can't fault it! We will definitely return as we loved Liverpool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wirral Greasby Premier Inn. We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here along with other family members to attend a wedding nearby, Reception staff on arrival were most helpful and extremely friendly, Room was clean and large enough for us as a family, all in all a very positive stay, The Twelth Man attached to this you could not fault staff were very helpful and food was fab

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossycobb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. They are very much appriciated and my team will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a great hotel for convenience to local relatives, but the rooms need modernising. They still have old fashioned CRT tv in the rooms (not wide screen), and the bedside lighting is extremely dim. The re-furbishment is badly overdue, but for £29 a night, it's still excellent value. It's clean and the staff are very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyBassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. They are much appriciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Wirral Greasby,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Greeted by a lovely smile and by name. And all staff continued the friendliness. Room as usual for a premier. Convenient pub restaurant attached where again the service was good. Breakfast excellent with any combination of cooked breakfast you design.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

'Up north' for a family wedding. Needed somewhere close and comfortable. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and it was good to have a full-size bath. The restaurant next door fantastic value for money, and quick service, even though full.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, even helping me take breakfast back to the bedroom for my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Wirral Greasby, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were going to a wedding on the Wirral chose this hotel as it was nearby. Staff so helpful,Lindsey so pleasant let us check in early because of time of wedding. Room very clean, bed so comfy wanted to take it home. Paid extra for breakfast full English as much as you wanted, very good again staff very nice. So if you are on the Wirral and want a nice bed for the night at a good price this is the one .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralPremierinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We are delighted your stay with us was a good one. Our team members will be please to receive your feedback especially Linsday, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greasby
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
2.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
843 reviews
5.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
5.2 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,371 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel

Address: Greasby Road, Greasby CH49 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Greasby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greasby
Price Range: $63 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wirral Greasby, situated within the picturesque Wirral Peninsula is the perfect choice for both business and leisure. Located just 2 miles from the sandy beaches of West Kirby, the hotel is set amongst popular restaurants and pubs. Ideally located for the M53 and efficient public transport services for Liverpool & Chester City Centre; both hosting a variety of activities to entertain. With a friendly and knowledgeable team, Wirral Greasby is the vibrant place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Greasby
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing