We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious amazing home cooked food”
Review of Irby Mill Pub

Irby Mill Pub
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious amazing home cooked food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and family visited the Irby Mill at 12.30 for lunch today - we have been several times and are always thrilled with the quality of food and service that we receive. Two of the party had the traditional roast beef dinners - tasted and looked amazing - all meals were served on hot plates even the hot puddings - this is so important and yet many restaurants dont do it anymore. I had the nagers , black pudding, mash and peas with home meade gravy - was uber delicious, hubby had fish and chips and niece had a chicken burger - all thoroughly enoyed our meals. Sonice to have home cooked food an dnot microwave instant meals which a lot of pubs are now serving. Keep it up Irby Mill - dont lose your magic touch as you extension comes into play tomorrow. PS the service from our waitress was faultless - a really lovely lady!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    122
    29
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pink ugg boots rock!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great pub, great beer, and one of the bar staff wears pink ugg boots and leopard print leggings, one word- fabulous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jtf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday bash”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the irby mill only has a small restaurant they welcomed and accomodated myself and 15 friends for sunday dinner.
The pub was busy with eaters/drinkers yet the service was great, the food brilliant and we all had a great time, in fact I took the girlfriend back the next night!

In this age of pre-packed food its great to go to a great british pub and eat well prepared fresh grub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodycritic186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice surprise. Excellent food for the price. Very comfortable. Lived very close for so long & was pleasantly surprised thaty we had not been there before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Groveant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked four days in advance of my bithday 21st October for myself and family. On arrival was informed no details of reservation yet Manager had my name and details in diary. We were informed all tables full and we could wait if we wanted. I was upset and humiliated, then a table became free and we stayed. Although food was good very cramped. Do not book for a special occasion as they don't understand about a reservation or a customer experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ulysses21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irby Mill Pub also viewed

Greasby, Wirral
Thornton Hough, Wirral
 

Been to Irby Mill Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing