We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing break with great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballathie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing break with great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in October using a Virgin Experience Two Night Break with Dinner voucher.

The room was a first floor riverside room overlooking the river Tay. The room was spotless This was possibly the most relaxing place we have ever stayed and we spent what felt like hours just watching the river and the fishermen.

The bar was small and cosy, and like the rest of the hotel, with friendly staff. The free wifi was very hit and miss though.

Dinner was outstanding, with the cheese trolley an unforgettable highlight.
After a good nights sleep we tucked into a excellent full Scottish breakfast, before heading out to explore the area.

For the second nights dinner we had to jump in to the hotel's Land Rover as the main hotel had a wedding. Just outside the grounds of the hotel was the bistro which only opens when there is an event taking place..
We were greeted by the same staff from the night before and the same menu, which again did not disappoint.

In summary this is a beautiful hotel and grounds with top quality food and staff and somewhere that we will be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkymre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear HKymre,

Thank-you for the extensive review about your stay at Ballathie.

I am sorry for the difficulties you experienced with the wifi. We are in the process of addressing these issues and hopefully when you return, these will be resolved.

It is rewarding to read that this did not taint your stay with us in anyway. I am delighted that you enjoyed all of the other aspects of our hotel including our Bistro.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Ballathie in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    180
    56
    29
    22
See reviews for
101
438
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ballathie is a traditional Scottish country house hotel that retains all that is best in accommodation and service. From the moment you arrive until the time of departure the staff offer friendly and attentive service that is always delivered with a smile but never departs from being efficient and truly professional. The dining room and the food that it serves are a delight.

Room Tip: I would recommend that one of the superior rooms is chosen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear KandPwiltshire,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about Ballathie.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to be the most privileged man in Scotland to work with the team I do. They are a wonderful group of people who not only take pride in what they, but they enjoy making people happy. I will most certainly highlight your kind words to them – Thank-you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to “all that is best in accommodation and service”.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a quick night away to try a hotel/restaurant we had not previously visited. This is a quintessential country house hotel set in extensive estate grounds
Our bedroom was well below expectations - a very small double that was not really suitable for two people. The bathroom although a reasonable size was not as clean as it should be - grout missing from the tiles below the bath taps with pink mould and the shower screen need de-moulding in several places. The view of the river was good though once the jammed packed furniture was moved
However the restaurant was superb. Food quality was to a very high standard - pushing 1 star Michelin standard - service was excellent - a good experience
The above comments were pointed out to reception on our departure

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Gordonyates,

Thank-you for writing a review about Ballathie.

I have sent you a couple of private messages using the Tripadvisor messaging tool as I am very confused by your comments about your room. I am sorry that you have not received these messages to respond.

I would like to continue by apologising, because in fact, the room in which you stayed in, did have grout missing in two places under the taps. I have addressed this with our maintenance team who have rectified this issue. We however did not find any pink mould on the glass bath screen. I am sorry for any inconvenience to your stay this may have caused.

I would like however to point out, that when you initially made your booking, you were told that we did not have a river view room. On arrival, you were shown this room and you agreed that the smaller room was better for you as it had a river view.

I am very pleased that this did not taint your stay too much and that you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings of the hotel.

I do hope you return to the hotel to enjoy more of the “Michelin” standards you experienced.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

lunch at Ballathie is an elegant and undrstated event. Excellent food served in small and delicious portions in a country dining room with friendly and unpretentious service. The drawing room (where aperitivs, coffees and - later, afternoon tea - are served) is cosy, with large light windows looking onto the green lawn that goes down to the river. Fireplaces add to the ambience. Really a delightful place to come for lunch - if a bit off the beaten track. The House itself is very well maintained and the lovely long driveway leading up to it is a joy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Katrina T,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Ballathie is situated in the middle of a fantastic estate along side one of the oldest redwood forests in Scotland. Thank-you for appreciating some of our natural heritage.

We hope you return soon to enjoy the sun streaming into our drawing room.

Kind Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

As a special Easter break for an important birthday, we went online and were most impressed with what we read about the Ballathie House Hotel. We booked up by telephone and arrived on Good Friday for a three-night visit.

The quality of the hotel, its staff and management, and its grounds, surpassed our greatest expectations. We stayed at the Riverside Annexe and were delighted with the accommodation, coupled with the patio access leading on to a grassed area with only about 20 yards leading to the banks of the Tay. Idyllic to say the least!

A special thanks to all at the hotel, including Jody the General Manager and the Head Chef for their great 'Bistro' evening on the Saturday.

Our first visit, but definitely not our last, and we have already highly recommended it to our friends and family. Not to be missed!

Kath C

Room Tip: We would certainly go back to the Riverside accommodation - great outlook and very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Fraser C,

Thank-you for writing a review about Ballathie.

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us when you were here. As I am sure you will appreciate, we are not always able to exceed all of our guest’s expectations – Although we do aspire. It is fantastic to read that on this occasion, all of your expectations were “surpassed”.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay in our Riverside rooms to enjoy the views from your private patio.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a pleasure to return. The drive up to the hotel through beautifully landscaped gardens is an experience in itself. This visit, as with previous ones fully lived up to expectations. The hotel is full of character with a real country house feel, but is in no way "stuffy" and has a very relaxing, warm ambience. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the 5 course dinner was exceptional; all the dishes were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented, with plenty of choice. This is haute cuisine at its best and well deserving of the awards which have been given. The hotel grounds are vast and beautifully landscaped. It would be quite easy to spend a couple of days here just relaxing, without even venturing outside the hotel grounds! There are some very thoughtful touches like a croquet set in the hallway and complimentary umbrellas in the rooms. This is a hotel of exceptionally high quality and has become a firm favourite of ours.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms are ideal for anyone travelling with a dog or not wanting to stay in the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Vicki G,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie – Thank-you!

I am delighted that you enjoyed the level of service we have to offer at Ballathie. I totally agree with you, all of our staff have fantastic attitudes and get great pleasure in making our guests happy, it is a privilege for me to head such an inspirational team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ballathie and exceeding your expectations!

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this overnight stay with 5pm .co. for £111... for the two of us on a BandB basis...
The hotel itself was very much hidden away in idyllic countryside, but after a while we saw it signposted. We were tired after a long drive, so we decided to have a short nap in our room ,and ask for the Evening Dinner menu to browse, as we didn't want to face another long drive into Perth, to find a restaurant. What a fright we got!...Dinner (3 courses) per person was...wait for it!... £44.50 per head!. Well we certainly consider that to be far too expensive for one meal... and that was without even a glass of wine! For both of to have a meal and a modest bottle of wine would have cost £119!!.... £8 more than what the actual break cost us in total!! We politely declined to dine in the hotel.....at those prices.... and staff readily suggested a few places to eat in nearby towns etc... Unfortunately that meant no vino!...but at least we wouldn't starve! We drove to Perth but found only a few restaurants to our liking... We settled for a Chinese establishment but the curries were bland and 2nd rate. We felt our night had been wasted. We had a nightcap in the hotel Bar on our return... Drinks a bit pricey, but staff again very helpful, especially the Barman. Even got us some olives and dips as we were still hungry from the disappointing curry!! The hotel itself is very grand although most of the guests we saw were there on the estate to fish or hunt!...we also felt a bit out of place as we were not sporting "plus fours" I kid you not!! Breakfast , in the morning, I have to say was a treat, and again Staff could not be more helpful......Porridge with cream and honey, at no extra charge....fresh kippers, smoked salmon, free range eggs etc.all beautifully presented and served. Get your evening dinner menu prices down to a reasonable cost and we may be back!! A swimming pool and leisure facilities sadly lacking.

Room Tip: Bring extra cash if you wish to dine on site...Drinks expensive... especially wine by the glass...pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chizzyde27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Chizzyde27,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Reading through your review I think that it is apparent that the country house style of hotel (where plus fours are a given norm, and porridge with cream does not come with an “extra charge”) is not something you neither are familiar with nor enjoy. I feel that we are all entitled to our preferences and sometimes experiencing something we do not enjoy makes us appreciate what we actually do.

I would like to point out a few misleading facts in your review.

Yes, dinner does cost £44-50, but I feel that this is aimed at the more discerning dinner who is able to appreciate quality, provenance, exceptional service and superior cooking techniques.

I do not feel that we were able to interpret the wine list correctly to you. As stated by previous guests in their reviews, our entry level house wines start at £18-95. Yes we have some exceptionally fine wines in our extensive list, but these need to be appreciated.

It is encouraging for me to read that you “may” be back and I certainly hope that you do so that we may have an opportunity to help you appreciate the finer side of hotel.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Property: Ballathie House Hotel
Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing