We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballathie House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Newmill Farm(Stanley)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$148
bedfinder
View Deal
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salutation Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$186
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Linn(Stanley)
bedfinder
View Deal
Four Seasons(Stanley)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
507
221
67
33
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
221
67
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelafternoon teariverside roomdrawing roomoverlooking the riverfine diningextensive groundsdining roomlong drivewaycourse dinnercountry hotelwine listbeautiful hotelan overnight stayfirst classsalmonwedding party
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 854 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for one night in room 2 with the DBB package for £99 pp. Great value for a lovely room and a superb meal - the food was outstanding! We will definitly return. The only few (very minor) comments for improvement would be that only one fire was on in the house and on a cold winter day there is nothing better than sitting by the fire! We asked if the drawing room fire could be lit, but it wasn't, so as it grew colder we retreated back to our room. Also, the dinning room atmosphere is a bit stiff - no background music so no-one keen to talk very loudly etc. The large table next to us (table of 8) hardly made a peep! A little bit of background music...perhaps ratpack Christmas, would have improved the atmosphere.
All in though an excellent trip which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you are booking - there are rooms in the old house (where we stayed) and in a new extension. My preference would always to be in the beautiful original building but I see other reviewers also lik the new build part. Just be sure to ask for what you want and you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear KateandMurray,

Thank-you for taking the time in writing a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

Please accept my apologies about the fire in our drawing room. You are correct in that it was not lit during your stay with us. We had a few concerns with the standards of the gas burner and so we made a strategic decision, with health and safety being paramount, not to put it on until it had been serviced and reviewed by an expert. I am very proud to inform you that this has been achieved and we have removed the portable space heaters. Our drawing room, once again has a warm glow. Thank-you for wanting to enhance our wonderful hotel with your comments.

It is rewarding to read that this did not affect your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you enjoy our newly enhanced fire place.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just returned from my friends wedding at Ballathie, what a stunning and picturesque setting. The staff are unbelievably good, excellent service, cannot do more to help and when you are dealing with over 100 guests they always had a smile. The owner even came and greeted all the wedding guests, what a lovely touch. There were 4 in our party so we stayed in one of the sportsman's lodges, it was basic but clean and everything you need for a 2 night stay. Looking forward to returning for a weekend break, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Suzi2011,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed a wedding at Ballathie.

Everyone who is part of our team really cares. This is very evident from our owner John Milligan, to people who play more of a behind the scenes role. We are a team and we take our roles very seriously. Thank-you for your appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you to Ballathie in the not too distant future when you enjoy more of our spoils on your short break week.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Its always nice to go to hotels near where you live as its such a rare occasion it happens. This was one such occasion. I had a good friends wedding here and being from Brechin, it was nice to be able to come and spend some luxury time not far from home! The rooms were a decent size and clean. Ive rarely seen much Contemporary in terms of hotels in Scotland and this was no exception, but in terms of a Scottish experience, this place is ticking a lot of boxes. Glorious fires, traditional settings, beautiful scenery and good local food. Its not cheap to eat and drink there - but who cares. You are within spitting distance of Scone, Perth, Pitlochry and Blairgowrie and its just a grand Scottish escape. We had an International contingent from as far away as Canada and Spain and the whole event was excellent. Well done. Great ambassadors for Scotland.

Room Tip: No fitness suite to speak of - nice river fora swim though.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear TravelHamster,

Thank-you for writing such a glowing review about Ballathie – this is very rewarding as you are local to us and you seem to care as much as we do about our local area.

Ballathie is very well situated – almost perfectly between Scotland’s 4 major cities – Edinburgh, Glasgow, Inverness and Aberdeen. We have become a central meeting point for a variety of occasions. It is wonderful that you feel we are able to be ambassadors for our local area – Thank-you for your kind words.

We do hope that you come and visit us again and enjoy one of our many other spoils – Afternoon tea maybe?.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a great hotel spent the weekend there it was outstanding service food brill the rooms were beautiful a cold walk to the riverside rooms but once there well worth it views stunning. Staff friendly I throughly enjoyed it

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dundeegirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Dundeegirl54,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a rewarding review about Ballathie.

We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay with us. The riverside rooms do have amazing views over the Tay – particularly this time of year, when your views are unrestricted with all of the tress having lost all of their leaves.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, when we aspire to offering you the same experience.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just returned from one of our worst ever overnight hotel experiences. Upon arrival our room had to be changed twice as it wasn't what we had booked. Later on in the evening at 8.25pm, when we were ordering our meal from the restaurant we were informed that there was no beef left on the menu. We were then escorted into what can only be described as an annexe to the main restaurant, that was reminiscent of school dining, with absolutely no ambience or atmosphere whatever. The quality of the food served was mediocre, with the terrible dining experience further compounded when we ordered the pineapple cannelloni from the dessert menu, only to be served with filo pastry filled with raisins as the kitchen had obviously run out of pineapple for the dish! It is very sad to see an establishment that once had a superb reputation for the quality of service, accommodation and food deteriorate so much. Needless to say we will never return to the Ballathie House Hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Pauline M,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your opinions about Ballathie House hotel.

I am sorry that on this occasion we were not able to exceed your expectations. It is disappointing to read that our efforts were not appreciated. Please allow me to explain.

Your booking was made less than 12 hours before arrival using one of our third party agents. You were allocated one of our 3 star lodge rooms as requested. You were then given a complimentary upgrade to a room which was made as a twin in the main 4 star hotel building. Once we realised our error, we offered to turn this bed into a double room and you refused and asked to see me. I allocated you another bedroom with a further complimentary upgrade. Thank-you for accepting my offer. Whilst you were downstairs enjoying a complimentary cocktail, we moved your entire luggage for you into your new room. I am sorry that this disappointed you.

Later on that evening, I was the person who took your dinner order. I apologised that we had run out of the cut of meat advertised and I offered you a different cut of beef. You insistently said no, and said that you would like the lamb. I apologised that we did not have the cut you asked for but I feel we were accommodating.

It was me who escorted you to your table in the corner of our Terrace Room – somewhere quiet so that you could have a “Romantic birthday celebration” as you requested. It is saddening to hear that this was reminiscent of school dining.

Our chef too was disheartened to read that you felt he had run out of pineapple in his Pineapple and Raisin Cannelloni. I do hope you enjoyed the efforts he went to, by writing “Happy Birthday” on your plate for you.

All of this disappointment said, I would like to state that here at Ballathie, we accept true criticism in the way it was meant. We work hard to try and excel at all of our guests requests and it is this aspiration that drives us. We get frustrated, but we are never put down by people who feel that our efforts are never enough.

I hope you return to Ballathie so that we can fully understand you expectations and excel at them.




Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews