We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the Riverside Rooms and had a beautiful view over the river from our balcony. The rooms are quite spacious and very comfortable and it is only a short walk to the Hotel. We felt the bar area was a little small and while the food in the Restaurant was excellent we felt the Restaurant lacked atmosphere and could do with some tasteful background music. The staff were very helpful and professional and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Happywanderers56,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about Ballathie.

I appreciate your comments about our restaurant. We will consider this as a point of discussion during our next Head of department meeting. I will be sure to keep you updated with a private message once we have a decision.

I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our spacious riverside rooms with a view of the Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 817 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in lovely grounds and gardens running down to the river Tay with fantastic food. The staff were all excellent and in particular the bar man and the waitress. The owner pops in now and then with his black lab Murphy, and just wanders around talking to guests as if they were old friends. One little niggle, no freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. Would definitely come again as it is so luxurious yet cosy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Patsy4548,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at Ballathie.

We appreciate your comments and I will have a discussion with the team regarding our orange juice.

I have passed your comments onto Paul and Evita in the bar and restaurant; Mark our gardener too was happy to hear how much you enjoyed the grounds - Thank-you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our “luxurious yet cosy” hotel

Kind regards.

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stunning Hotel / Country House set in an estate overlooking the Tay , with so much charm and warmth , it feels homely and cosy , yet elegant and luxurious. We stayed in the modern building Riverside view room on the ground floor , with our own picture window and front door leading to a liitle balcony with garden table and chairs to sit and enjoy the wonder of horses beyond , the river and thw whole ambience of the setting . The personal touches and friendliness of the staff make for a superd time . The food is exceptional quality and is a presented faultlessly . The Cheese Board is an experience in its-self , with a detailed explanation of the providence of the cheese . THe owner remembered us from a previous visit and is most anxious to ensure everything is ok and if he can do anything to make your stay more comfortable . That gift of hospitality is a very rare thing , which we appreciatted very much . Of course meeting Murphy , his black lab was an added bonus for us . We will most definately be back . The bed was enormous and very comfortable .

Room Tip: The sportmans lodges are for Sportmen . The river view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Lorraine I,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about Ballathie.

I agree with you in that small touches are what make a hotel like Ballathie special. Our whole team work hard to ensure that we are doing as much as we can to make as many memories as possible for each of our individual guest – thank-you for the opportunity to make a memory with you on this occasion.

Our cheese board has become a very special addition to what we do here at Ballathie. Through Scott and his team in the Kitchen and the service of Wojciech and Alexander in the dinning room, we are proud to announce that we have recently won the Best British Cheese Board – I am delighted that you found it and experience!

I do hope that you return soon and enjoy the company of Murphy and our “enormous” beds.

Kind regards.

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is very traditional and welcoming, with efficient and friendly staff. We stayed at the the river side apartments within the estate overlooking the river Tay with private balcony which provided stunning views throughout our stay. The food at the hotel is fabulous but a little on the expensive side, so depending on your budget it's certainly worthwhile dining at least one night at the hotel. The hotel & our room where clean but the housekeeping department should look at dusting the bathroom skirtings & the hanging lights in the hotel reception area as these were dusty. We had a wonderful stay at the ballathie and would certainly recommend it for a base to explore and relax.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 12 at the riverside lodges which had an unrestricted view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Lorraine F,

It is rewarding to read your recent review about Ballathie – We appreciate you kind words.

I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team, who have upped their already high cleaning régime. Our team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service, our fayre and the hotel as a whole.

We look forward to welcoming you again we you are next in our area from Glasgow.

Kind regards.

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Ballathie house was our base for our first trip to Scotland. The estate is breath taking with gardens that lead to the river's edge. We stayed in a river view room on the second floor which looked over the nicely manicured lawn to the river Tay. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was generous, well presented and great way to start the day. Dinner was very fine with great service. A shout out to Paul the barman, whose attentive service and genuine kindness made the end of every evening a winner. The location is great for exploring. We went to the east coast to play golf and to Braemar the day of the games. I also spent one day fishing but not at Ballathie. A word to those not familiar with fishing on the Tay, book early! There are a very very limited number of fishing slots available at any one fishing beat on the Tay. If you wish to fish somewhere in particular be proactive.

Room Tip: Second floor river view room. We stayed in room 4 in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Q_65203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Tom_Q_65203,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie.

Like all of the members of our team, Paul is a great example of how our team members here at Ballathie, aspire to go the extra mile to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay. I have passed your kind words onto Paul who was exceptionally grateful – thank-you.

We look forward to you using Ballathie as your base when you return to Scotland next year.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Okay, the good, the ok and the :-(

1. Beautiful estate, stunning and perfect views. The owner is a lovely gent who introduced himself and his gorgeous dog Murphy. The bar is cosy and the barman an absolute star who gives the most impeccable service. His manners and style lovely.
The breakfast was hearty and filling and delicious. Without fault.

2. The not so good, the receptionist knew we were travelling from Glasgow but did not warn us of a road closure on approach to hotel causing a much extended diversion which ate into our stay. On arrival she was in her little office/cupboard and although she noticed us she did not acknowledge us at all and when she did, she was polite but not welcoming, perfunctorily doing her job with no warmth at all.

She seemed to lose all interest in us when she realised we were on a voucher deal.

We were checked into the riverside rooms, (no directions given, just waved away) the room is very 1970's motel, inside was disappointingly small and very very ordinary.

However the view and the little patio were stunning. Gorgeous to wake up to the beautiful river, so that more than made up for the disappointing room. The linen was clean and fresh and the bed (2beds pushed together )comfortable enough.
Toiletries were of a nice quality and comfortable terry robes provided. Which was a nice treat.
The turndown service was nice and appreciated.

The meal. Expensive, and beautifully presented. The food itself was good, not great, just good although the dessert cannelloni was delicious.

I think our experience was marred by being put in a seperate adjacent room on our own to all the action and hustle and bustle and views. We felt treated differently ( were we placed in the 'voucher' room?).

We ordered a very expensive bottle of wine and it wasn't chilled, the barman was wonderful, apologetic and doing his utmost, we were given 2 glasses of complimentary house wine whilst we were waiting for ours to chill, He could not have done more. However it wasn't ready to drink until the meal was over, which sort of defeated the object. I personally would have expected the wine to be complimented.

In summary we had a lovely stay and would return, however there were niggles that some staff training could easily fix, if all the staff could be like the barman this place would be a delight.
On reading the reviews it seems that people who have better luck with staff have a fab stay, and those who don't feel disappointed.

I also feel it should be explained if you are in a riverside room as I was expecting a 'castle' old fashioned stay, and got 70's barratt house. If I had been warned I would have just appreciated the view and the lovely little patio.

Room Tip: I liked the view and the outdoor patio of the riverside rooms, but be warned they are very 1970'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear IolaroseGlasgow,

Thank-you for your comprehensive review about Ballathie.

I am sorry that on this occasion you feel unsettled about your stay. We tend to only look in a 15 mile radius of the hotel before informing guests of road closures. This is because we are not always certain where our guests are coming from – we find that even if guests live in Glasgow they might be staying elsewhere, especially if it is a Saturday night.

I am also sorry that you felt isolated in the bay windows over looking the Tay. It is my sentiment that a quiet window table is better that a back corner in a full dining room. It is very disappointing for me to know that you did not tell me about these issues when I poured your South African Chenin Blanc on the evening you dinned.

I am however delighted that you enjoyed all of the other spoils Ballathie offered to you during your stay.

Thank-you for wanting to return to Ballathie. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this the day before I stayed and paid for a master bedroom. Checking in was quick and easy. Our room was beautiful and worth the extra charge. We had a drink in the bar but had to go looking fora barman to serve us. Service was fine. We did not arrive until 6pm and
the restaurant was very busy so had to wait for dinner until 845 which was a bit late. The service in the restaurant was fine and the dinner was good. The wine waiter was very helpful. I did feel that the dinner was a bit overpriced for the quality of the food. I had hake and it was a bit bland but well cooked. More to do with the fish than the chef. Breakfast was okay. The head waiter really needed to smile and greet his guests in a more friendly manner. But all in all we had a lovely stay and would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel is very much on its own remember to pre-book dinner before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryamac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Maryamac1,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

I appreciate all of your feed back and I will make sure that I pass your comments onto our team – Thank-you.

It is rewarding to read that you will be back to enjoy everything we have to offer on the banks of the Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
18 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $85 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing