We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had an overnight stay last weekend. Ballathie delivered everything I hoped for and more. We had room 3 which is above main entrance to hotel and affords fabulous views of grounds, which with a covering of snow and blue skies was stunning. It was very comfortable with fabulous bed linen. Every member of staff from check in to waiting staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. As previous reviews the young lad waiting on tables at dinner was a credit to hotel. Very clued up on menu and attentive without being overly so. The food, both in taste and presentation was superb..in fact one if the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. The owner also paid a wee visit..a very nice touch. The young lady on breakfast was lovely too. Well done to whoever trains up the staff. Front of house were amazing. Interior of hotel is what you would expect from a Scottish country house hotel without being stuffy. Can't praise hotel enough and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear fifetraveler30,

Thank-you for your recent review about Ballathie House Hotel.

Your review is very accurate in that we do spend a lot of time training all of our staff to ensure that they have the right product knowledge to deliver the service standard we offer here at Ballathie. It is wonderful to know that it was appreciated – Thank-you.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    186
    56
    30
    23
See reviews for
104
449
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

what a cullinary experiance, very relaxing lunch in beautifull surroundings, staff were on the ball and made us feel very welcome and comfortable, food was very tasty and presented perfect. we were very relaxed in the comfy lounge after our lunch and could have settled down easily for the rest of the day, We will definetly go back and hopefully spend more time in this jem of a hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Rich060,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful lunch with us. I will be sure to pass all of your kind comments on to everyone here at the hotel – Thank-you.

We hope it is not too long before we are able to welcome you to our enchanted woodlands on the banks of the tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Booked in for an overnight stay with dinner for my mothers 80 th birthday. Arrived to find hotel grounds magically covered in snow and frost, but hotel so warm and inviting. Staff very welcoming from the start. It really is a lovely hotel,very relaxed where you feel at home and comfortable.
Mum and dad in room 5 which had a huge bath and turreted bathroom, my sister and I in rooms 2 and 4. Both lovely rooms facing the river, with room 2 a double aspect, although smaller room.
Pre dinner drinks in front of roaring fire were enhanced by impromptu visit from owner of Ballathie hotel and the estate. He wandered in with his lovely dog and Told us of the birth of two calves he had just attended on the farm. He was genuinely interested in how we were being treated, enjoying our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions for our excellent food as it was laid down by the young waiter who couldn't do enough for us. This was replicated by breakfast waitress and housekeeping staff who made sure doors were closed so we wouldn't be disturbed by cleaning of public rooms. We never got the impression the team were 'just doing their job' they have obviously been recruited as highly talented individuals who have a genuine interest in hospitality, no matter what their role might be.
This is not a top 5 star shiny impersonal hotel where you check out designer bags and clothes, it is a top notch Scottish country hotel which wraps you up in a warm blanket of comfort and hospitality. We'll be back and thank you.

Room Tip: Room 2 in the main house although smaller has a fabulous double aspect view of river and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Curlys99,

It is wonderful to read your review about your recent stay with us here at Ballathie.

We are very fortunate here to have some of the strongest personalities in the hotel industry working with us here at Ballathie. Our owner is one of these characters who, like the rest of us, try’s to ensure that every guest has a special unique experience. It is wonderful to know that you were able to experience this with us.

We hope it will not be too long before you return to our haven on the Tay

Regards from everyone here,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely weekend at Ballathie House.We had a beautiful room with a balcony in the riverside annexe, where the view was gorgeous.
The food was amazing, the staff very knowledgable,very helpful and couldn't have done more to please you.
Dinner menu was inventive and first class, as was breakfast, where the staff were attentive but never intrusive.
If you were going to be really picky, there were a few things that could have been addressed,but did not stop us having a very relaxing weekend and we would definately return here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie14K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Julie14K,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

Your comments are very true. Many people feel that if they book an annexe room they are going to be put in second grade accommodation. The reality is that our riverside building offers comfortable accommodation with all rooms having uninterrupted views of the River Tay. All of these rooms boast all of the features and standards of what Ballathie stands for. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future..

Regards from everyone here,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came for a special family birthday. We were welcomed by the very charismatic South African manager. His knowledge of the wine cellar was superb and his recommended wines for our dinner were spot on. Our food was exquisite. Absolutely fantastic. The atmosphere wonderful. And our whole stay was relaxing and great fun. Just what we were looking for! Could not recommend Ballathie House more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawyer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Lawyer77,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about Ballathie House Hotel.

It was a privilege to host your special day with your family – thank-you for choosing Ballathie. Our wine cellar is becoming a big part of what we do here and it is very rewarding to know that people like you appreciate it.

I hope it will not be too long until we have the pleasure of you and your family again.

Regards from everyone here,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My Mum gave my husband and I a night away at Ballathie as part of our Christmas via a 5pm deal. We arrived and had to wait a while to check in as the receptionist was on the phone dealing with a booking enquiry, which was fair enough. We were then directed to our room, which was absolutely gorgeous! I even commented to my husband that this was an amazing room considering it was a website offer.
We had dinner in the hotel which, although very tasty and well presented, was a bit hard to swallow at £100 for dinner, one glass of wine and one pint of lager.
We knew we would have the balance of £100 to pay on check out the next day. However, what we were not expecting was to be charged £50 for the room upgrade we had apparently requested when booking our night away!! I can assure you, we did not ask for a room upgrade, but of course that did explain our surprise at the room! After some `negotiation` they agreed to remove the £ 50 charge.
I do not mind paying for quality, but I highly object to an attempted rip off and then to be told it was because we asked for it! At no point during check in was it confirmed that we were in an upgraded room, not sure why they thought we would just stay quiet and pay the charge.
Would not stay or eat here again.
I would like to confirm that my score for service purely relates to our experience at checkout. All the restaurant staff were fantastic and could not be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ljriddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear ljriddick,

Thank-you for taking the time for writing a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

I have done some extensive investigation into your reservation to try and understand why you were charged for an upgrade. My findings have shown that from your booking reference number, a special upgrade was requested by the person who purchased it for you and this was to be charged to your account. I apologise that you were not told about this.

I have also done some research into what other 2 rosette restaurants within a 30 mile radius of our hotel are charging for a 4 course gourmand meal. My research has revealed that our prices are very competitive and judging from your comments from the service you received, justified.

It is disappointing for me to read that although we “could not be faulted” with any other aspect of your stay and due to an error made by something out of our hands, we were given a bad review.

I do hope that you return to our hotel in the future to experience luxury at its best.
Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely room with Tay view, dinner was exceptional and the staff were very friendlly and very attentive. Breakfast was beautiful ..everything of the highest quality.

We were delighted with our stay, particularly so as we are due to hold our wedding reception here next year....looking forward to it even more now, We will be back up before!!

thank you to everyone x

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Karen M,

We appreciate the effort you have made to write a review for Ballathie house hotel – Thank-you.

Everyone here works hard to ensure that “Quality” is applied to everything we do. It is wonderful to know that you noticed.

We look forward to meeting with you again later on this year to finalise your plans for your big day.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Property: Ballathie House Hotel
Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing