We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing, great setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing, great setting.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ballathie for 4 nights on a B&B basis. The room was booked via a Booking.com agency and though we booked a Classic room this resulted in us being allocated a standard room on the hotels system, the disappoinment was compounded by the allocated room being a twin room with the beds zipped together, but still with single duvets. The beds also came apart in the night resulting in a uncomfartable nights sleep for both myself and partner. As we arrived late on the Saturday evening due to the weather conditions we were intially offered alternative accomodation in the lodge 100m's away there was 4inches of snow outside... I found the duty manageresss was totally unsympathetic to the point of being rude, we were close to leaving the hotel at that point. We were allocated another room the next day but it did taint the start of the stay. I have grown up in this area and the hotel was always a place I wanted to share with my girlfriend, the setting is stunning the River Tay is in full view, and compliments the excellent breakfast each morning. Try the smoked haddock and poached egg, absolutely perfect. We were unable to dine in the evening at the hotel due to family comittments, but we did look through the menu and I would dine in the future should we stay again. The waiting and bar staff are simply superb I have stayed in top hotels all over the world and they compare, nothing is to much trouble... from the waitress at breakfast to the night watchman serving late they were excellent! This is a unique country hotel, the service is superb, the rooms are quirky Classic rooms are stunning, one real area that needs improvement that has been mentioned before is the driveway leading up to the hotel, the view is stunning but the road surface is simply evil when you are driving a rental vehicle with a high excess you fear you will loose it....needs to be fixed asap!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 first night, would be OK as a twin avoid if allocated as a double, we were then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phild93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Phild 93,

I appreciate the time you took to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

I have done some investigation into the first part of your review and I appologise for any disappointment caused. These are some of the difficulties we face when using a number of 3rd party booking facilities in the 11th hour. I would strongly like to urge you to contact the hotel directly in future so that personal specifics like these can be avoided. I would also like to point out that the Sportsman’s lodges are only about 2 minutes walk from the front door and have their own dedicated parking area.

I am very delighted that you enjoyed the remaining three days of your stay with us and that we were able to show our real Ballathie colours!

I do hope that you and your daughter return to the banks of the Tay in the very near future.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    193
    57
    31
    24
See reviews for
107
462
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel (along with 22 friends) for a shooting trip for three nights.

The hotel is situated right by the River Tay, so suitable for those wanting to fish or shoot. It is a beautiful hotel in the most beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

The staff were wonderful and really looked after us. The food was good and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in one of the lodges a little way from the hotel (as we have done so before), and were lovely and cosy.

We had a separate room where we could all sit round and eat breakfast and, on the final night, dinner together.

We traveled into Blairgowrie for a meal the middle night..

Room Tip: Choice of room depends on your preference: if you like traditional then stay within the hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Hilary Y,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

It is wonderful to hear your kind words – Thank-you. Many of our guests agree with your sentiments, our hotel is very well positioned on the banks of the Tay, our laws and gardens are very extensive - the perfect retreat from the real world.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year for your annual shoot! Please give our regards to the rest of your shooting party.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were invited to lunch by friends for their Golden Wedding celebrations. The food was to die for,I do not think I have ever had lamb which melted in the mouth like this and probably never will unless we come back to Ballathie House. The service was outstanding,they served eighteen of us seamlessly,and were both friendly and professional. As we were staying with friends I am unable to comment on the rooms,however the setting was stunning with beautiful gardens and views over the River Tay,and the Hotel had a superb ambience. I wish we lived nearer as we would certainly become regular customers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeh080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mikeh080,

It was wonderful to host you and your friends for their Golden Wedding Celebration.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the service we offer here at Ballathie House Hotel. We are putting in lots of extra effort to ensure that we are continuing to improve every aspect of what we do here. It is very rewarding to here your praise – thank-you.

We will let you know when more houses come up for sale in the area. We would love to add you to our list of regular guests!

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed two nights 3/4 Jan on DBB basis in a standard room. We loved every bit of it, even the quaintness of our standard room.

From our arrival every single member of the hotel team were faultless, all friendly and so professional. Loved the barman, such a character in a good and quiet way. Waiting staff were so good and knowledgeable. All staff were attentive without ever being imposing, just so good throughout.

Now the food, well the dinners we had were to die for on each night, perfectly presented, ample portions and so so tasty. The kitchen staff have much to be proud of. The wines were quite well priced and bar prices were fine for a hotel of this quality and location. Oh and breakfasts, simply the best and tastiest we've eaten, the bacon was so tasty and I always love Stornaway black pudding. My wife had haddock and poached egg on morning and the haddock was huge and again full of taste.

We were surprised on our stay that the Ballathie was so full so soon after new year, but now I realise why, comfort, excellent service and quality will always win out so thanks Ballathie as we really needed a relaxing quality break and that's exactly what we got.

Room Tip: A view over the Tay is lovely in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Rustyman,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about Ballathie House Hotel. It was our pleasure to host you!

I am overjoyed that the hard work we have put into our service training is paying off with our front of house staff – I will be sure that your comments are echoed to everyone.

Consistency is something our kitchen is achieving and on their behalf I would like to thank you for your appreciation.

We look forward to hosting you in the not too distant future so that you can experience the same again.

Best regards,



Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights with my wife in the Ballathie Hotel in January 2013. Great staff, delicious food, beautiful situation and very comfortable rooms. The only fault was the potholes and unpainted speed ramps on the driveway which can catch you by surprise in the dark. Other than that,perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure our staff hear your words of praise – Thank-you.

Our driveway is a concern for us and the weather we have been having lately has not played in our favour. We have listened to your comments and fresh paint will be put onto the speed bumps by the end of the week. I would like to reassure you that this is very high on our priority list for when it starts to warm up again. I look forward to you returning in the summer and writing an updated review about how our driveway has improved.
Thank-you again for the time you spent to write your review.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Ballathie House. It will definitely NOT be our last. We were simply bowled over by the place. The setting, service, food, in fact the whole experience was amazing. We stayed in the riverside building - a nearby annexe that had generous rooms which opened onto beautiful gardens and views of the river Tay - perfect for walking the dog who was as welcome as we were. The main hotel building is a wonderful country house with a genteel atmosphere reminiscent of Victorian/Edwardian splendour without being poncey and precious. The staff were attentive without being 'in your face' and as for the food......words cannot do it justice. Our visit coincided with our daughter's birthdayWe had a wonderful family lunch and the staff could not have made it more special This is a gem of a hotel and we recommend to it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of a beautiful country.

Room Tip: The riverside building is perfect if with dog. The ground floor rooms open on to the gardens and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Simon m,

It was wonderful to welcome you and your family to Ballathie for your daughter’s birthday celebration.

It is very rewarding to hear your kind words of appreciation in return for the hard work all of the staff put in to make Ballathie House Hotel the unique holiday destination it is – Thank-you. I agree the River Side rooms are perfect for people with pets and as you had experienced, we are delighted to welcome them as guests.

We you return soon to our “beautiful part of the country”

Kind regards,




Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Ballathie and we enjoyed our 2 day stay immensely. The hotel is a magnificent baronial mansion standing above the River Tay with fantastic views out over the river and the surrounding estate. The public rooms are all palatial with high ceilings and fine decor, with plenty of light from the tall windows. We were staying in the Riverside apartments about 250 metres from the main building. The rooms were large and very well appointed,with comfortable beds and all the modern facilities you would expect in a 4 star country house hotel.

The food in the restaurant was extremely good; the full dinner included an amuse bouche and an intermediate course, making 5 courses in total. They have 2 AA rosettes at present but in my opinion they may soon warrant 3 rosettes. The service was very attentive both during dinner service and at breakfast. The General Manager, Jody Marshall, looked after his guests assiduously, welcoming them, chatting over dinner and saying farewell - always setting a great example.

We will definitely return,hopefully to try out the fishing from the hotel's own river bank!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Berkshirehotelman,

Thank-you for your wonderful review about Ballathie House Hotel.

It is very rewarding for myself and all the staff to read that you were able to experience what we have to offer here at Ballathie House Hotel. It is our goal and ambition to try and offer all of our guests the best hospitality experience when they visit. Thank-you for your kind words.

We do hope you return soon to our wonderful haven in Perthshire – The fishing is going to be good this year, a 14 pounder was caught on the opening day…...

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,213 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
903 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Property: Ballathie House Hotel
Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing