We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding and reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding and reception”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our daughter had her wedding and reception here on 30th April and we took over the whole hotel including bedrooms. We had 90 guests plus a further 20 for a ceilidh in the evening. The planning advice was thorough - nothing was left to chance. On the day, the manager and staff were attentive but not obtrusive. We had drinks on the lawn by the river, the meal was first class, the day ran very smoothly. The bride and groom had a very happy day and the guests enjoyed the celebration. I can recommend Ballathie for its scenic setting by the River Tay and the excellent, friendly service from all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alastairbyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    188
    56
    30
    23
See reviews for
105
454
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We visited the hotel for Afternoon Tea to take advantage of a newspaper offer and to quote 'Settle into the comfort of our Drawing Room for an elegant afternoon of delicate sandwiches, freshly-baked scones and tempting cakes........as you look out over the lawns of the estate to the River Tay below.' unquote as described on the hotel web-site. Sadly, it will be remembered for all the wrong reasons. It was especially disappointing as we had made the booking, almost two months before our visit for 4pm in the afternoon to avoid clashing with lunchtime visitors. There were no tables in the Drawing Room as they were occupied by a group of ladies who had adjourned there after lunch to chat amongst themselves (the reason for our 4pm booking). Some of the ladies could have easily been asked to move to an alternative room within the hotel and my request to wait until a table in the Drawing Room became available was followed up by a serving of Afternoon Tea in the inner hall - bizarre! The sandwiches, scones and cakes were, at best, average and our quote 'Wide selection of teas and coffees' unquote was from a choice of "Tea or coffee?" There was no 'service' to speak of and our experience brought a very pleasant few days in the Highlands to an abrupt and disappointing end. Our 'Afternoon Tea' was not the one described on the web-site and sailed close to the wind as far as advertising standards are concerned. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FlyingScotsmanRetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Found this hotel by accident last year and what a find.So my wife and myself returned for a 3 day break.If it is peace and quiet you are after this is the place to be.We have in both the main hotel and the riverside appartment and both are well appointed and comfortable.As for the food we have rarely experienced better----Andrew Wilkie is an excellent chef.We found all of the staff to be friendly and curtios at all times.Even the owner John milligan took time too speak to ourselves and other guests---a personal touch like that is excellent.I f you are looking for a quiet ,comfortable hotel with 1st class food and service for that special ocassion or a short break Balathie house has it all

Room Tip: Is very central for touring in Scotland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 551730Cameron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALVA, CLACKMANNANSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Surprised my partner for a one night DB&B at Ballathie in August 2010.

Food was delicious, setting was fantastic, rooms a little dated but with stunning views over the river.

We had a relaxing stroll around the grounds before enjoying a very relaxing dinner.

Would highly recommend for a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Peaceful, beautiful food. Evita - very attentive to our every need. Our room is delightful and quirky with magnificent views of the river. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartandjinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We spent a very enjoyable Sunday afternoon at Ballathie , wonderful food, beautifully presented and served by polite, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Today we went for a special offer lunch and we were amazed how wonderful it was. The food was great but mostly we were surprised of the sufficiency of the staff members in the restaurant. Althought there were only three staff members for all the tables, the attention to the detail was amazing. Those in Hilton and Gleaneagles should bow their heads in front of these guys. We would like to say a special thanks to David - the man in charge.
We will be back sooner than you think. We are planning to book a weekend away sometime soon. Thank you for your hard work!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Property: Ballathie House Hotel
Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing