We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apron Stage

Apron Stage
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An 18 seat restaurant with a weekly changing blackboard menu featuring local produce at every opportunity.Welcomes people for just a coffee, a bowl of soup or 3 course dinner with a chilled Bottle of Pouilly Fume.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic meal”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Apron Stage on Saturday night and were delighted as always at the service,food,wine and value for money.This type of food and attention would be twice the price at lesser restuarants.Delicious and can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank lorenzo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small but Perfect”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a delight this place is. The menu is small but well thought out. Delicious bream and scallops were excellently cooked. I followed this with a tangy lemon posset and my husband and son had the rice pudding with a berry and rhubarb compote which they declared delicious - a boys pud if ever there was one! Shona and her lovely staff run a tight ship and the service is nicely timed. It was a real treat to eat here and I can see why it's so popular. More restaurants should follow their example. Small choice but ever thing fresh. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootlepip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Once again a trip to the Apron Stage became a night to savour! Excellent food, superb Wine List, fantastic atmosphere. One of the few restaurants where the customer definitely comes first.
In addition, excellent value for money.
Very hard to find fault with this small and intimate eatery.
Long may it continue

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“To be cherished!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fabulous food at extremely good prices.

A wine list that restores my faith in restaurant wines. I have almost gone over to water because of the ridiculous mark-ups imposed by starred & rosetted restaurants. This one shows how it should be done!

Deserves a star of it's own - awarded by sensible diners!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AliCat230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been before and never fail to be impressed by the high quality of the food and service. Small really is beautiful and you really get a sense of the passion they have for cooking and great customer service. First class!

Yet the thing that still surprises me are the incredibly good value for money prices! Okay so we are used to Edinburgh prices but I still think this is the best meal I have EVER had ANYWHERE for the prices you pay!

If you haven't already been, GO!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apron Stage also viewed

Guildtown, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Apron Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing