We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you want peace, comfort and local”
Review of Sally Port Senglea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sally Port Senglea
Ranked #1 of 2 Senglea B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Liliana has done a great job on doing up this house across the water from Valetta, retaining the authentic period features but modernising where it is appreciated, ie bathrooms!
We were lucky in having the place to ourselves which meant that we had the wonderful terrace and view to ourselves.
This place is perfect for anyone who wants to get a feel for Malta (you are most definitely not in a tourist resort) and live more like a local. It is not a place to go if you want music, clubs, crowds, etc.
Practical points: you cook your own breakfast, which is fine though there is a dearth of local shops to buy food in; the river taxi to Valletta is great but stops at 6pm (though a taxi back from Valletta cost ~€20); we found parking ok but it is at a premium.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for just seven days in March 2014 and wish it could have been longer. This is a beautifully refurbished and stylish guest house, and the owner (Liliana) couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We were impressed by the lovely fresh flowers which were replaced regularly and the use of communal kitchen/lounge on the top floor with its fantastic view across to Valletta waterfront and beyond. It's just a short walk to the bus stop or the ferry stop, but Senglea has some quite steep streets, so travel lightly! A walk around The Three Cities starting from the guest house is easy, with lots of interesting sights, even including the industrial docklands to one side of Senglea. You can stand at a street junction and see luxury yachts and classical buildings on one shoreline and large cargo cranes on the other. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, and Liliana recommends the best in her information book. The room is also provided with a kitchenette so you could shop and eat at home, if you wished. As the house has only three guest rooms, we didn't actually see or hear any other guests, just the occasional opening and closing of the front door. So a very private and (we found) quiet place to be based in; even the nearby church bells were subdued. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed ten days in November 2013. Really glad I chose to stay in Senglea and not in central Valetta or one of the more touristy areas. Shops, restaurants, ATM, bus stop, water taxi - all close by without the noise and traffic.The location of the house is perfect, in a lovely, quiet area with a lot of character. The house it self is very nicely renovated with splendid interiors. The rooms (3) all have a kitchenette with fridge etc. Perfect when you come back from a busy day and just want a cold drink or a snack. There is a kitchen, common area and roof terrace upstairs and the views alone are worth the rent - absolutely stunning.
I stayed in the single and it was snug but had everything you need. It was clean and quiet and I slept like a log.
I can absolutely recommend Sally Port Senglea to any one who wants to stay close to Valetta and does not want to stay in a massive unpersonal hotel. 25 min by bus or 15 by watertaxi and elevator and you are in central Valetta.
To top it of the host Liliana is very nice and helpful she gives you tips about sights and restaurants etc.
All in all - perfect.

Room Tip: The house was finished earlier this year so everything is new. All rooms have very nice interiors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Sally Port Senglea and really enjoyed it. Great guest house in a great part of Malta. Senglea is ideal as it is not so touristy and offers great views of Valetta. The whole house has been beautifully refurbished and everything feels carefully considered. Hope to come again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are thinking about booking Sally Port Senglea do it now before they are fully booked or you will be missing the best place to stay In Valletta . The house only has three beautiful rooms so book now or miss out. The view from the terrace is breathtaking and the shared kitchen is such a good idea.

Senglea itself is lovely and a real contrast to the hustle and bustle of Valletta. The promenade comes alive in the evening and is full local people of all ages enjoying the relative cool. We ate there each of our three nights and each time it was delicious. We felt that we saw the real Malta whilst still being close to Valletta.

All communication before our arrival were dealt with quickly and in a friendly manner and it was nice to meet the owners during our stay.

All in all a fantastic place to stay and we recommend it unreservedly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

If your are travelling anywhere in Malta do your self a favour and book a couple of nights here. We spent 3 unforgetable nights here.We would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone wanting a relaxing, local and friendly hotel.The owner is very kind and helpful,terrace wiev is wonderfull,thanks U liliana,nevena&gray Will come back to visit Ur lovely hotel as soon..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrayTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a special place to stay, both in itself and in the wider setting of Senglea. The room itself was very comfortable and nicely-furnished, with a small balcony and handy kitchenette. Upstairs there is a spotless big communal kitchen with an adjoining rooftop terrace with wonderful views across the harbour to Valletta or Birgu. Senglea itself is unaccountably ignored by the regular travel guides, a lovely laidback community which is a refreshing contrast to the buzz and bustle of Valletta - itself easily and quickly accessible by water taxi when required. The cherry on the cake here is the presence of Liliana, whose help and kindness made everything even better. Really, this is a place to come back to again and again.

Room Tip: They are all newly refurbished so they are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randomtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senglea
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,181 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sally Port Senglea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sally Port Senglea

Address: 175 Two Gates Street, Senglea, Island of Malta ISL1201, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Senglea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Senglea
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Senglea, one of the three cities opposite Malta’s Valletta which is 1 km away, Sally Port Senglea offers a furnished sun terrace overlooking the Grand Harbour and free Wi-Fi throughout. All air-conditioned, the elegantly decorated rooms feature a balcony overlooking a pedestrian street and with side sea views of the harbour. Each has a flat-screen TV, a fully equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sally Port Senglea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing