We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely old style cottage with charm and character”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Trimley_T...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely old style cottage with charm and character”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Henry's last year to visit the seal colony. The cottage is a typical old fisherman's cottage that retains its old charm with a modern touch especially the kitchen area. Easy walking distance between the beach, local shop and the local pub. Marie (owner) was really helpful with local information and advise. We've just booked Henry's again for this coming winter.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melharb
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We did enjoy our stay here. It is a well equipped cottage in a great location, close to the sea, shop and pub. It was also very clean and comfortable.
The major drawback for us was the steep curved staircase combined with a downstairs bathroom made night visits to the loo a real challenge. Anyone with any mobility issues (which we don't have) would really struggle. Sadly we won't be back for this reason.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you weren't aware of the staircase and downstairs shower room, I will amend my description to reflect this. Unfortunately I have limited control about HL publish to describe the cottage,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Hi Janet,

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so pleased you had a good time - hope to welcome you back to Henrys Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CJ1218633...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely quirky cottage, by the beach.”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We only stayed here for two nights, the cottage has such a homely feel to it. We loved our stay with our two young daughters. The cottage is roomy with plenty of character, I can't wait to rebook and return, but we want to stay longer next time. Equipped with buckets & spades to take to the beach and plenty of DVDs, toys to entertain all. The location was great, so close to the beach and the local shop. I didn't want to go home!!!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Staircase
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slturner1...
1 review
“Lovely quaint little cottage in stunning location.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our first visit to Winterton and we will definitely return. This great little cottage is set in a lovely garden and is well equipped clean & cosy. It is moments from the sand dunes of Winterton which lead to a stunning beach. There is a lovely cafe on the beach, great pub and visiting the seals at Horsey were a real draw. The owner could not have been more helpful.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile272...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely seaside retreat”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed in Henry's Cottage with our 2 young daughters and everything was spot on. A really bright and cosy cottage with everything we needed in a great location. Would strongly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you had a good stay. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin_J83
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have a 1 year old daughter and we stayed at Henry's cottage on a perfect sunny May weekend. The cottage came well equipped and had everything that we needed for my daughter; a cot, high chair, stair gate, toys...general things that are very important when you have a small child, but don't necessarily want to cart around with you!
The cottage itself is extremely charming and cosy, we really felt like we were home from home. The garden is perfect for lazy lounging. My daughter (and myself and husband) loved watching the lovely birds in the trees. We wanted to escape the city for a quiet break away to relax and this was certainly what we achieved staying in the cottage.
The beach is 5 mins walk and is lovely and quiet (at least on the day we went) with very friendly locals, the village shop is also a 5 mins walk. Sainbury's is a 10 min drive away. We took a boat ride around the broads, which is a 10 min drive that cost £2.95 (I had to ask the assistant to repeat how much it was 3 times, because I couldn't believe it was so cheap!) it was the highlight of the weekend.
A great weekend was had by all and I would love to go back and do it all again!

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.