We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely welcoming cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Taken from the pub carpark...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taken from the pub carpark...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Taken from the pub carpark...
Brand new kitchen
Induction hob and electric oven
Relaxed and airy kitchen diner
Cosy sitting room with open fire
Lots of seating
Comfortable bed room
Double bedroom with cotbed
Double bed room with cotbed as a bed suitable to @ 6yr old
Decking with seating and BBQ area
Some shade in the suntrap of a garden
Looking down the front Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
melharb
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We did enjoy our stay here. It is a well equipped cottage in a great location, close to the sea, shop and pub. It was also very clean and comfortable.
The major drawback for us was the steep curved staircase combined with a downstairs bathroom made night visits to the loo a real challenge. Anyone with any mobility issues (which we don't have) would really struggle. Sadly we won't be back for this reason.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you weren't aware of the staircase and downstairs shower room, I will amend my description to reflect this. Unfortunately I have limited control about HL publish to describe the cottage,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Hi Janet,

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so pleased you had a good time - hope to welcome you back to Henrys Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CJ1218633...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely quirky cottage, by the beach.”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We only stayed here for two nights, the cottage has such a homely feel to it. We loved our stay with our two young daughters. The cottage is roomy with plenty of character, I can't wait to rebook and return, but we want to stay longer next time. Equipped with buckets & spades to take to the beach and plenty of DVDs, toys to entertain all. The location was great, so close to the beach and the local shop. I didn't want to go home!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Staircase
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slturner1...
1 review
“Lovely quaint little cottage in stunning location.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our first visit to Winterton and we will definitely return. This great little cottage is set in a lovely garden and is well equipped clean & cosy. It is moments from the sand dunes of Winterton which lead to a stunning beach. There is a lovely cafe on the beach, great pub and visiting the seals at Horsey were a real draw. The owner could not have been more helpful.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile272...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely seaside retreat”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed in Henry's Cottage with our 2 young daughters and everything was spot on. A really bright and cosy cottage with everything we needed in a great location. Would strongly recommend.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you had a good stay. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin_J83
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have a 1 year old daughter and we stayed at Henry's cottage on a perfect sunny May weekend. The cottage came well equipped and had everything that we needed for my daughter; a cot, high chair, stair gate, toys...general things that are very important when you have a small child, but don't necessarily want to cart around with you!
The cottage itself is extremely charming and cosy, we really felt like we were home from home. The garden is perfect for lazy lounging. My daughter (and myself and husband) loved watching the lovely birds in the trees. We wanted to escape the city for a quiet break away to relax and this was certainly what we achieved staying in the cottage.
The beach is 5 mins walk and is lovely and quiet (at least on the day we went) with very friendly locals, the village shop is also a 5 mins walk. Sainbury's is a 10 min drive away. We took a boat ride around the broads, which is a 10 min drive that cost £2.95 (I had to ask the assistant to repeat how much it was 3 times, because I couldn't believe it was so cheap!) it was the highlight of the weekend.
A great weekend was had by all and I would love to go back and do it all again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic break in a great quaint cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We decided to make a weekend out of visiting my Aunt in Norfolk. I looked through all of the cottage to let websites with Great Yarmouth as the lead town. Nothing was taking my fancy when I stumbled across 'Henrys cottage' in Winterton on sea.
What a stroke of luck! The cottage was fab with only a 5 minute walk to the beach (which was lovely, sandy and safe and clean) and has a seal colony and the village was pretty and quiet with a great pub (though the food was a bit pricey).
Henrys cottage has everything you need for you to enjoy your stay -TV, DVD, Radio, toys and games, cot, very comfortable beds (two doubles) with all the mod cons in the kitchen -a true home from home.The cottage has great character with open fires and wood floors throughout. It has a steep, windy staircase which adds to the character but might be a challenge for the less able bodied. I can't recommend this place highly enough, it was great, clean, quaint and fully equipped with a beautiful enclosed, very pretty garden. The locals were very friendly though I can't say the same for the adders which apparently live in the dunes (we're scared of snakes!)
The owner was very helpful and sent us a lovely welcoming e-mail and was very accommodating and helpful. It was all arranged easily despite it being last minute. There's also a shop and chippy in the village and a Tesco 10 mins away at Caister.
We loved it and want to go again soon!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous cottage near the beach
Liked least: Paying for Wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing