We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great rental for all the family”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marram House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Bedroom 2
Barn - external view
Early summer sunshine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen F
Baldock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great rental for all the family”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We hired Marram and Herring Cottages for 10 of our extended family and a dog! The cottages are great for all ages with lots of well thought out extras for a family with children. The cottages are both very well equipped and kept to a very high standard. We have stayed in Bobtail Cottage last summer and loved it so much we brought back all the family.

Close to the beach and lots of other brilliant days out. The fish and chips shop in the village serves brilliant food.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickodemi...
Cuffley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The Best Ever Rental!.. So, So, Clean & Equipped Beautifully & Tastefully!”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As the title indicates..if you have problems with this rental, be it with taste, cleanliness, or equipment and fittings..well, go back to your doctor and request a brain implant. No, I'm not related to the owners, Richard and his wife, but my wife and my best friend's wife, who booked the 3 night stay, go away together on a 'girlie' week, with one of our dogs and her friends dog. This they do in September each year..after exhausting Dorset, they have for the past few years, explored Norfolk, discovering that very closely kept (thank goodness!) the 'Winterton-on-Sea' secret.
Each year, my friend and I are treated, upon their return, to exclamations of how brilliant the Winterton Village is and how beautiful the accommodation is..they have for the past few years stayed in this owner's Church Farm Cottages Development, but not in the main 3 Bed Barn Conversion we stayed in this time.. they usually take a 2 bed adjacent to the Barn. All the properties within these owners remit, are beautifully and thoughtfully developed. Dogs are welcome and all have small but adequate fenced gardens, with furniture and BBQ facilities.
Well, both of us males, ate 'crow'..you couldn't fault anything the owners had provided..this down to the 'Maid' Jan, who really organises everything, from cleaning to any repair..this lady deserves a special mention..turns up when not really on duty to ensure all is well and can't do enough to ensure your stay is memorable...so thanks to you Jan!
The sea is a simple 5 minute easy walk, shops, no more than 3 minutes and the Dunes and seashore stunning.
A special mention of the Fishermans Return, Public House and Hotel in the village, the Pub Food, with specials..brilliant..no way to get out of here still hungry..and the staff, from the buxom and funny bar lady, to all the staff, very helpful and friendly..The Dunes Bar & Cafe on the shore, also a lovely place.
All in all, don't tell anyone about Winterton-on-Sea and the pleasures described here..I want to keep them all for myself and friends!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property, service and the Village and sea walks.
Liked least: Can't think of a single thing! Even the March weather was kind.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood...
Summerside, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were over from Canada visiting family and decided to rent Marram House as it looked really nice. When we arrived we were greeted by the cleaner and she explained everything and showed us around as the owner was away this particular day. We had our Daughter, son in law and 3 grandchildren staying with us. We were very happy with everything except the huge stain on the carpet in the grandchildren's room which was disgusting. We had mention the stain to the cleaner and she explained someone had spilled red grape juice and they were unable to get it out. They had to wait till the place was empty so that a professional rug cleaning firm could come get the stain out. The bathrooms and kitchen were spotlessly clean which was great. The house had not been dusted as there were huge cob webs everywhere. The cob webs were hanging from the ceiling in every room and bathroom around the house. We were surprised at this because the rest of the house was spotless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs sitting area
Liked least: The cob webs and dust in every room
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reith2015
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for all including 2 dogs !”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely stay in the perfect part of England
Extremely relaxing and perfect location as able to use cottage as base to explore local area on foot - had several good meals at the pub and can highly recommend fish and chip shop and café at the beach !
Cottage set up perfect for a true beach holiday with dogs - so lovely to be able to let your dogs run on beach and into the sea
Would certainly recommend this place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy1951...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family get together”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful holiday week in Winterton on sea. Accommodation was lovely and very comfortable, plenty of space and well equipped, lashings of boiling hot water for everyone. The owner Richard was a delight. We also hired Herring house cottage next door for our extended family. Popping back and forward great fun had by all. We would not hesitate to return. Very pretty village, a climb to the top of the church adds an excellent view....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic large lounge.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40carolen
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very nicely decorated and has charm and character. Richard was very welcoming and we felt at home straight away. We had plenty of room for friends and family to stay with us for part of the week. There is everything you would need for a holiday stay and the village has a great pub, fish and chip shop and shop. We saw seals on the beach, took a boat on to the broads and spent a lovely day in Norwich. A perfect break in spring.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I didn't dislike anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation, stunning location, Perfect.”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ok so I booked this for my husbands 50th. There were 18 of us, which included 9 adults and 9 teenagers. I hired all four cottages. They were stunning. Very attractive, welcoming, cosy places. They were spotlessly clean and had everything you could ask for. All cottages were well equipped. The local pub, the fishermans return was great. Fantastic food and very welcoming.
The beach was a 5 minute walk and had a fantastic beach cafe.
The weekend just flew by and we were all gutted to leave. Would definitely recommend and we will hopefully return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing