We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food around!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highwayman

The Highwayman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Highwayman Restaurant The Highwayman welcomes all customers old and new to our newly refurbished restaurant. Enjoy one of our freshly cooked meals in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The exquisite selection on our menus are what can only be described as "fine dining" but in a price bracket affordable to all. Most of our produce is sourced locally and delivered fresh by local companies, run by local people. Try our fantastic traditional carvery. The carvery boasts a choice of 4 roast meats, homemade pies, vegetarian options as well as fresh seasonal vegetables and traditional trimmings. This is served in our big function room bar h, runs every Sunday between 12.00 Noon and 4.00Pm. Bookings are not always necessary but are recommended. But do not forget the range of functions that we also cater for. Your wedding, Birthday, anniversary, Christening, Retirement, Christmas and many more celebrations. Please feel free to contact one of our friendly staff to enquire about our wedding and function packages, although our packages have been arranged we are more than willing to create the perfect package to suit your needs to make any occasion memorable for you. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best food around!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Having just read the review below, I felt the need to add my own as quite frankly the one entitled 'disgusting' is an absolute load of rubbish - but what do u expect from one who ducks out of a £6.99 carvery without paying!! I am disgusted that nationality is brought into it!! Total Neanderthals. We come here for carvery every week as it is the best food and service in the area, the people are always polite and the service second to none - I felt the need to write something as these young people are really trying to make a go of their business and the area really needs a place like this, they don't need to be put down by cavemen with out dated views - rant over! The fine dining menu is brilliant too these chefs are very talented young men and I can't speak highly enough, look forward to every visit!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Pixee_dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

After 3 years of eating at this restaurant loving Winterton on Sea and enjoying the Sunday carvery , we thought it would be nice as we had our dog with us and it was such a lovely sunny day to come have a carvery outside We did consider elsewhere as the food lately has not been too good, but we decided to give them another go mainly because the views are so gorgeous . I sat outside with our dog and my partner went inside to get our dinner and he asked if i could have some vegetarian gravy, my partner came out with our food and soon after the chef came out with my gravy i thanked him and he turned to us and said when we were there before we did not pay i asked again what he had said and he repeated again last time you were here you sat at table 3 and did not pay We assured him that we did pay and that we bought drinks at the bar then payed for Carvery that i must add they give you a ticket for so you can give it to chef before he serves your food. so how could you not pay. He said oh ok and walked off . We were very upset about being accused of theft and as for the his sidekick girl in the doorway with her sneering smile,we were left nobody came out after that to see if we wanted desert or to clear the plates , and girls that worked there were peeking at us through the window like we were scum .(eventually a nice young lady came out and took our plates thankyou for that you will know who you are ) well its disgusting, we were only too pleased that we were the only ones outside can you imagine the embarrassment we felt. Oh my god it .ruined not just our day but our whole weekend.We were told that because they are Polish they are abrupt well i'm sorry but being Polish does not excuse you from being rude and accusing people of stealing . The so called vegetarian gravy was red and smelled disgusting i could not even put it on my dinner . We were too upset to eat after that anyway on leaving the girl put her head out the door and said sorry we were so abrupt. Well we are sorry too because that is not good enough. I suggest you brush up on your cooking skills and more to the point take a great big course on people skills as you don't have any. We will definitely not be back while the Polish crew are there and where we used to recommend all the time to everyone we know this will not happen. ( oh and thankyou to the lady that gave our dog a drink )

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great Sunday Carvery Lunch and good service from the Staff. Pawel and Ewelina made us most welcome. Will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

No idea what the last reviewer is waffling on about. Take a look at the most recent photo I uploaded of my sous vide duck breast main course. There isn't a better cooking team within 20 miles. Food is immaculate, service is great, value is good. Just waiting for the rest of the world to discover this well kept secret

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Grrr...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our on-site restaurant when we stayed at the Hermanus. We had pretty standard fayre that all happened to come with chips, and this is where the poor review comes from. They were billed as 'triple cooked chips', if you know your recent cheffy history, you will know that the triple cooking process was invested by Heston (and copied all over, which he's fine with) to created the chip with the triumvirate of perfection, a golden colour, crispy on the outside, and fluffy in the middle. The chips served to us were 'stick brown' (yuk), as bendy as a slinky, and solid (grey) on the inside. Whilst the main parts of the meals would pass in a Weatherspoons, this was unforgiveable. I can only hope this was caused by 'out of season blues', and they offer far better when it gets busy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very disappointed to here that you didn't enjoy your meal at the time you stayed here. We have very few complaints about our food and welcome constructive criticism. However we do not and have never advertised our chips as triple cooked? We would of been more than happy to of dealt with the issue and resolve any problem at the time if we were made aware of your issues. We hope that if you visit again we will not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highwayman also viewed

Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk
 
Ormesby St. Margaret, Norfolk
 

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing