We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highwayman restaurant”
Review of The Highwayman

The Highwayman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Highwayman Restaurant The Highwayman welcomes all customers old and new to our newly refurbished restaurant. Enjoy one of our freshly cooked meals in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The exquisite selection on our menus are what can only be described as "fine dining" but in a price bracket affordable to all. Most of our produce is sourced locally and delivered fresh by local companies, run by local people. Try our fantastic traditional carvery. The carvery boasts a choice of 4 roast meats, homemade pies, vegetarian options as well as fresh seasonal vegetables and traditional trimmings. This is served in our big function room bar h, runs every Sunday between 12.00 Noon and 4.00Pm. Bookings are not always necessary but are recommended. But do not forget the range of functions that we also cater for. Your wedding, Birthday, anniversary, Christening, Retirement, Christmas and many more celebrations. Please feel free to contact one of our friendly staff to enquire about our wedding and function packages, although our packages have been arranged we are more than willing to create the perfect package to suit your needs to make any occasion memorable for you. We look forward to seeing you soon.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highwayman restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great food, friendly service. We'll worth a visit. Open to non residents of Hermanus. Unfortunately we weren't there for Sunday carvery which is said to be fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 666Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here twice after staying at Hermanus last weekend. The first night we ate from the bar menu which I believe to be cooked by the chefs from the restaurant. I had a delicious steak and ale pie and my husband enjoyed his steak.
The carvery was also delicious and very good value for money, the meat was very nice, although the beef was tough as old boots!
There was a massive selection of vegetables and we were told we could go back for more but were both stuffed!
Also the bar and restaurant have a lovely view of the dunes.
Will definitely return if we stay at the Hermanus again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed our food and service and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with a view”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited the Hermanus Hotel for the second time yesterday in order to try the Sunday carvery. The restaurant is under new management, who are a breath of fresh air in bringing much needed good quality food to the Highwayman Restaurant. The carvery was excellent value and thank goodness it's been moved from the drab room at the back of the building to the function room with beautiful views over the valley and to the sea beyond. Meat and yorkshires were tasty, and the veg was all fresh and not over cooked like some restaurants where it sits there for hours. Our party of 6 adults and 2 children were very happy with our meal, including the desserts which we opted for afterwards. Wish I hadn't shared mine!

I'd also had lunch in the bar a couple of weeks ago which was also excellent. I was also interested to see that they do breakfasts so I will try one of those at some stage. Good quality food and reasonably priced. The service is also very good, and we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed the food and service. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“From strength to strength”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I decided to write another review on the highwayman as I have eaten here every week for the last 8 weeks so I kind of feel it deserves it.
The cooking and front of house teams here continue to do a thoroughly decent job of producing top quality local produce and serving it with a smile and some decent convo.

Everything I have eaten has been treated with real care in terms of cooking and presentation.
We have had some brilliant dishes over the last few weeks. Just to mention a few - starters of Pigeon and black pudding, Scallops with a slow roast pork belly with a cauliflower and apple puree. Main courses of Slow braised Ox Cheek, Confit duck with a barleysotto (Risotto made with barley) Norfolk Quail with a bread sauce and porcini reduction. I could go on all day. Also nothing is too much trouble - they are so accommodating when it not only comes to feedback on the food but also requests for things you may like to see on the menu or specials board.

Finally we also decided to give the carvery a go on a Sunday.
I had always avoided this for a couple of reasons - generally carvery's aren’t great, dry meat etc... And also historically the carvery's at the Highwayman were always served in the large bar of the Hermanus resort - I never really liked that bar, dull, dowdy and no kind of view. Not the sort of place you would like to eat your Sunday lunch.

Anyway the Carvery is now served in the Hermanus ballroom which is a huge room, very bright, stunning view of the sea, has its own bar - bit of a no brainer really.
Aside from the cosmetic side the carvery is bloody excellent.
I have never seen a carvery like it - I mean who has rare roast beef on a carvery? It just doesn’t exist does it - the norm is usually uniform grey meat tough as old boots. Not the case here, big portions, masses of meat, served with a smile by a very charismatic chef. You just can’t fault this place. Did I mentioned that was all for £6.95? Incredible. I am glad they moved it to this room as I think I would of steered clear had they not.

If you havent been to the highwayman your missing a treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 or 1 star”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited the newly managed food side of the Highwayman today, the Food and Food staff are first class, but the same cannot be said for the bar staff. The Food and Drink side of this establishment are two separate entities, when ordering drinks and food at the bar 2 different people are required, firstly the ignorant bar staff who take the drinks order grudgingly then they telephone the restaurant to send a member of staff over to take the sandwich order, the restaurant staff are charming affable and professional something the 2 members of bar staff we met could learn a lot from, unfortunately we won't be revisiting until this ridiculous scenario has been solved which is a shame as the food and food staff were first class

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and thank you for your comments. We are very proud of the work which we do both in the kitchen and the service which we provide. However i am sad to hear of your experience with the bar staff. We are working very hard to make sure that we all work together and hope that if you come again your experience will be much better. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highwayman also viewed

Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk
 
Hemsby, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing