We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”
Review of The Dabbling Duck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dabbling Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A lovely meal in relaxing surroundings with friendly staff. Good menu choices and local food at fair prices. A a special place to stay - nothing is too much trouble. The location is good as there are several places to visit nearby but it is not as busy as staying on the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for The Dabbling Duck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 420 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having booked a two night stay, the Dabbling duck offered a special experience from the start. When we booked our room, having drink and an evening meal, no payment was asked until we checked out, Their policy is based on Trust, which in this day is very rare. The rooms are wonderful in decor and everything you need, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast has a great selection with local sourced ingredients that is cooked to a high standard and when i say the plate is full, it is overflowing, enough to set you up for the day. We had an evening meal, again the choice is great and the food does not disappoint, with great flavors and ingredients, served by helpful, chatty and polite staff. What you get from The Dabbling Duck is a 5 star service, with 5 star food, but with the personal touch.

Room Tip: The Broom room is on the Front, great for the noise of the church bells
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a really enjoyable two night stay here in the Adjutant’s Room. We had been put off by the website description of it being combinable with the North Sea room (as we thought this might mean less privacy) but the owner assured us it was the best double room and in fact the layout is such that you are barely aware of the connecting door to the other bedroom via the small entrance hall. The bedroom is compact but pleasantly furnished (with wardrobe!) and has a beautiful view of the green, ducks and church opposite; traffic or parking noise was not a problem on the nights we stayed. The tea/coffee making facilities were welcome. Well equipped bathroom.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings and were very impressed by the standard of cooking. The current DB&B deal for those going to the Houghton Revisited exhibition is excellent value; the wine is also fairly priced. Norfolk friends dined with us the second evening and thought it was a real find. Substantial and well cooked breakfasts – full English; kippers; eggs and salmon all recommended. Owner and staff welcoming and helpful.

The Houghton exhibition (on until 29 September) is incidentally quite exceptional, with Walpole’s original picture collection temporarily returned from St Petersburg and other places, and well worth a special journey (as in our case from Gloucestershire).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights in early June and had a fabulous stay. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, evening meals were tasty and well presented. There was a good choice of dishes and the house wine was excellent. Service was second to none and the bar was very relaxing in the afternoon after a long walk. The room was comfortable and clean with large en-suite. Definitely plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzirosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were staying in the village and decided to return to the Dabbling Duck three years after our last visit.

Although it was a Monday evening, the pub was still busy with diners and we were very lucky to get in - we only did as the barman managed to squeeze us in, so the tip here is to book in advance!

The bar staff were friendly and welcoming, especially to our six-month old baby and the food was very good. We had the bread and olives for starters, which was reasonably priced and there was plenty to go round. I had the gnocci for main course was tasty.

All in all, a great pub for food and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mr_Pork_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just home after spending three nights at a wedding in The Dabbling Duck and what a wonderful experience it was. It is so much more than just a pub with accommodation. Situated in the centre of the picturesque village of Great Massingham, The Dabbling Duck is a quaint old beautiful Inn where the staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Mark who could not have done enough for us. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast , definitely not to be missed, and the home made granola was unbelievable.
Ideally located for visiting local places of interest and the beautiful Norfolk coastline. All in all a very memorable and enjoyable few days. The Dabbling Duck is definitely well worth a visit and Thanks again to all the staff there. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly52D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In summary, for me, this is as about as good as it gets: independent pub/restaurant/hotel, that serves home cooked food, has 3 types of local beer on tap, friendly staff, and can cater for the corporate world in which I inhabit. THIS IS IT! IT DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER.

In detail; I arrived the afternoon before, was checked in by a fab, silver haired girl behind the bar who was very polite but apologised that she couldn't show me up the narrow stairs as she'd just damaged her knee! Didn't matter at all. Room was quite small, but perfectly furnshied and shower was excellent. All clean and tidy.

Free wi-fi in the bar so ordered a local beer, sat back and relaxed into some catching up on paperwork. Great views onto large village green, church spire, duck ponds etc. Sat outside, spoke to friendly locals, barman chatted about food tonight etc. This is what it's all about people! Working in a relaxed atmosphere. If the weather had been a bit warmer then it would have been perfect.

Dinner was great, very busy, lively atmosphere with a large selection of home made meals. I had a light-ish meal (part of fitness campaign) but the porkpie was home made, home made picallili, home pickled onions and chutneys and great bread. Now where do you hear that - 'great bread'. But it was. Quite busy in the restaurant and bar and so I would recommend booking early.

Good night's sleep, despite room being over the restaurant.

Breakfast was as close to perfect as possible with so many options cooked to order that you couldn't fault it. The owner ran the breakfast order and the food was great. Again, just time to walk across the village green to the local shop, buy the paper and prepare for the corporate day ahead.

Corporate day went well, back room had enough space for 20. Coffees and teas brought in with pastries at the right times and unobtrusively. Lunch was 4 types of home made sandwiches (great bread again), coleslaw, chips, salad. Had a late request for 1 vegetarian and 1 lactose free meals and they were sorted out without fuss and very professionally.

Settling up and finishing up was easy. I hope the client wants me to stay there again! If not, it's somewhere where I will take the family!

Room Tip: Over the front, over loooking the green would be ideal?
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,341 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
835 reviews
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
888 reviews
12.0 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
230 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Kings Head Country Hotel
The Kings Head Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Great Bircham
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dabbling Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Massingham
Price Range: $106 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dabbling Duck 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing