We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Entrance - Disappointed exit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dabbling Duck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dabbling Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Entrance - Disappointed exit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Had a lovely meal and great service in this charming bar/restaurant. However at 10.30pm we moved to sit in front of the fire which was next to the restaurant (open plan) shortly after the lights in restaurant were turned off chairs stacked up on tables and a strong smell of cleaning fluid put us off our drinks. It seemed to then only cater for the locals around the bar. Completely spoilt the atmosphere of the lovely pub we had entered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P0p7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    107
    31
    16
    13
See reviews for
68
203
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Good - The Dabbling Duck is a lovely pub attractiively laid out with log fires, squashy leather sofas, shabby chic decor and several, characterful and cozy eating areas. The menu was varied and unusual and we particularly loved the Rosemary and lamb suet pudding with truffle jus - scrumptious. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The Bad - We had booked in for two nights and found our room less pleasing. We were told when we booked that the room was small, but we still expected basic amenities. Rooms 4 and 6 are both small and Room 6 is far too small for a king size bed. Nice to have en suite facilities, but no room to swing a cat. Luxury toiletries don't really make up for having nowhere to put your toothpaste (shelf near sink please) and a choice of herbal teas doesn't really compensate for having nowhere to hang your party frock (hooks on doors and hangars would help.

The Ugly - The stairs up to the rooms inside the pub are steep, awkward and badly lit so be warned if you have limited mobility or heavy luggage to carry up.. There is no hand rail and yes, the stair rails which you have to hang onto are still ricketty (see 2009 report) . I should mention that we were advised that rooms can also be accessed via a substantial metal fire escape on the outside of the buildig at the back

On the whole, there is alot to like about this pub. It isn't a cheap place to stay, so if Management are listening - a bit more attention to detail in the smaller bedrooms please!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoxerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domsym, Owner at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks for feedback on your visit to us in march, appologies for not getting back to you earlier.
The higher numbered rooms only came on line recently and we have a few small bits and pieces to do to to bring them up to the standard we want them to be!
Namely, ( hangers and usefully located shelves) to name but two.
Certainly the bed distribution is something we will address and we intend to move them about between rooms to utilize the space better.
Im afraid we cant do much about theexisting stairs but the fire escape staircase is a substitute so sorry about that. The bannister rail is a constant thorn in our side and some more robust engineering is required so we will investigate.
We are trying to improve year on year and thank you for you comments. We hope to see you again. Domsym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Popped in for lunch during the week and when we arrived were the only people in the place. We had a shared antipasti platter which was superb. However main course was a let down, my fish pie was full of peas and very watery and served with 2 slices of stale granary bread. My wife had the duck hash which she said was ok but nothing special. I couldnt fault the chef though for agreeing to cook my 3 year old daughter local sausages and chips which she polished off!! All in all a pleasent location in a lovely village and friendly staff, however a tad on the expensive side for run of the mill food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barside75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Only went for lunch so can only comment on the bar/restaurant.

Pub is situated in a wonderful position opposite the village green. Good range of real ales available . 4 of us had the fish platter and the meat platter for starters between us all of which were superb.

Main courses were all very good and generous portions.

We were all very full by then but we had the cheese and biscuits, one portion being enough beteween all four of us.

Service was good and friendly.

More than worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Fancied a night away in Norfolk and came across the website for the Dabbling Duck. They had a room available for the night we were after so decided to be spontanteous and book and go, very glad we did.

Great Massingham is a charming little village and The Dabbling Duck is situated right on the green. The pub has a few rooms above it and the room we had - Room 1 - was decorated vintage/shabby chic style, just my taste. The room had everything you require and was clean and comfortable.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant, the menu was fairly extensive with a special board too. We found the food really tasty and the rest had a nice, relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was locally sourced products and just as tasty.

All staff were friendly and helpful, the only fault of the stay was its a pub so expect noise! We went to our room at 10.30pm but were kept awake until 12.30am with customers leaving the pub, however this was a Saturday night and I suppose to be expected.

All in all a lovely, chraming place to stay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiedoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

This is an ideal place to stay in you're walking the Peddars Way National Trail. It is a short walk from the trail but signposted so you can't miss it! The Pub/B&B is in a lovely village location. The room was comfortable - just the right temperature and we were provided with new towels / toiletries on both nights of our stay. The only fault with the room was that the milk for the tea was out of date! However, we were provided with a jug of fresh milk when we pointed this out! Breakfast was more than ample. There was no menu as such but we were asked what we wanted and food was freshly cooked to order. We had an evening meal in the pub on Monday and the standard of food was excellent and really good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

My husband took me away for the weekend, for my 40th Birthday. I was really looking forward to it, until we arrived outside The Dabbling Duck, which we think should be changed to the Dreary Duck. Everything is painted in battle ship grey and the furniture looks like it has come from the 1950s. First of all we had no heating in the room. We were told it must have broken again and Charlotte put a fan heater in the room, saying that hopefully the heating would come on later. Clearly it was not the first time the heating had broken. The room was so dreary and the mirror on the dressing table, was so old that the silver backing had completely disappeared, there was no way you could have used it. We pulled back the bed covers and out came a medium sized spider, which I can tell you, freaked me out. The fan heater was so noisy that there was no way we could have slept with that going all night. When we went down for our evening meal, we were asked had the heating come on and we again told them no. An electric radiator was then put in our room, but it was placed under the curtain, which was literally resting on top of the heater. A clear fire hazard. Food was ok but very overpriced. We went back to our room and when we got into bed, found that the mattress had collapsed at the head end and our feet were actually higher than our head, which gave us both a headache. We then started itching and realised we were being bitten by something, We were itching all over. Everytime the door was closed in the bar downstairs, it literally shook the bed and the window rattled. From 10pm onwards a group of very drunken and foul mouthed youths were standing outside the pub, which was right under our window. Even after closing time, they still made no attempt to go home. At about 12.45 am we had had enough, both of the noise and the itching and we left for a two hour drive home, finally arriving home at 3am. We left a note to say why we had left and would ring them in the morning to discuss the above. My husband spoke to Steve the next morning to be told that sometimes the washing machine didnt rinse the sheets properly and that they would investigate if there was any infestation in the room. He did apologise and we only paid our deposit of £20. I was so dissappointed for not only myself, but for my husband as he had planned it as a surprise and I can tell you it certainly was. It was like going back in time to my granny's house. Just a word of caution, the stairs up to the rooms are not suitable for anyone who has any form of dissability as they turn very sharply and are quite steep and be careful of the handrail at the top, as it is loose. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HildaandHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
8.6 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dabbling Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Property: The Dabbling Duck
Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Massingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dabbling Duck 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing