We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Remona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Remona
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst hiking in the area, and found the owner very helpful, friendly, patient and efficient. The apartment was spacious, with ample parking, and all the equipment you would require. Most importantly, it was warm, with controllable heating which proved invaluable for drying the washing/walking gear. It really was a home from home, perfectly located with several bars and a small shop in the village. We used the hotel bar a few times, and it was always full with locals and vistors alike, with a good atmosphere and good prices. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food (although we did get some free tapas from the owner).
As others have mentioned it is excellent value staying here and we would definitely return. The only downside was that we had a ground floor apartment and suffered some noise problems from a family with children in the apartment above us, so we would probably request an upstairs apartment next time.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs apartment to prevent noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegendWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The apartment is located behind the hostel has the same owner. It is equipped with everything you can expect from an urban apartment - refrigerator with big freezer for storing food for one month, microwave, and washing machine. I cannot believe that I have found another home in this mountain area. I paid 45 euro a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xuxiake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family stayed at Hostal Remona for 2 nights as part of our trip to Northern Spain in August 2012. I had booked it via the web (bookings.com) which was no problem. I then confirmed the availability of parking by email (given by bookings.com) which was very promptly dealt with. As mentioned by previous reviewers, there is no English spoken and hence some basic Spanish is an advantage. However, when we got there, parking was no problem anyway (the village car park is across the road and after 18.00 there were always places available - if not, there is parking appr. 200m up the road again on the right hand side).
We arrived at appr. 18.00 and asked for the key in the restaurant. Since it was very busy, it took some time to get organised. Unfortunately, the appartment was still being cleaned. However, when I asked about taking food out of the car and into the fridge / freezer, we were shown in and able to put all our stuff away whilst the cleaner finished (her German was excellent btw).
The kitchen was well equipped with a 4 ring hob, microwave, oven, fridge, freezer, toaster, washing machine etc. Basic cleaning materials were in the cupboards, but this did not include washing powder.
We had booked the 2 bed appartment but were given a 4 bed one with the proviso that we shouldn't use more than 2 bedrooms. Consequently, the place felt lovely and spacious with plenty of seating.
There is free Wifi in the appartments but you will need to ask for the code at the restaurant.
As this is self catering, we cooked ourself rather than use the restaurant. Most of the food we bought at the Lupa supermarket in Potes (on the main road as you come in from Unquera on the left hand side) which was open from 9.00 to 21.00 which although not a large supermarket nevertheless had a good selection. There is also a small corner shop across the road from the appartment which we used for lunch after our hike down from Fuente De.
I would definitely recommend this place if you are after self catering accommodation in the Picos. The location is particularly good if you are planning to up the cable car at Fuente De (5 minutes by car). We got there for just after 9.00 and managed to park and walk straight into the next cable car without any wait.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely, clean, spacious apartment belonging to the Hotel, well located for the beautiful national park. Delicious food in the hotel including steak from their own herd, Fabulous.

We all hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikeclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This little hotel has B&B rooms and apartments. Our apartment was spacious, well furnished and equipped. Couldn't ask for more. Owners very pleasant and helpful and were very patient with our limited Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We would highly recommend the apartments owned by, and situated just beside, the Hostal Remona. They are in a fantastic location in the middle of the beautiful, atmospheric old village with a stable with an old slate roof opposite and a hay loft and a handsome, ruined church on the other side of the road. Our apartment was excellent in every respect - nicely furnished. well-equiped, extremely comfortable and very good value. The hostal staff were extremely friendly. In addition, Espinama is a superb base for exploring the moutains, only 5 minutes by car from Fuente De.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank louisejpK_benhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espinama
1.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
600 reviews
8.8 mi away
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
7.6 mi away
Posada el Bosque
Posada el Bosque
#1 of 1 in Mieses
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
31 reviews
9.2 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
172 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Remona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Remona

Property: Hostal Remona
Address: C/ c. general s/n, 39588 Espinama, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Espinama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Remona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing