We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped self catering appartment in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Hostal Remona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Remona
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well equipped self catering appartment in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family stayed at Hostal Remona for 2 nights as part of our trip to Northern Spain in August 2012. I had booked it via the web (bookings.com) which was no problem. I then confirmed the availability of parking by email (given by bookings.com) which was very promptly dealt with. As mentioned by previous reviewers, there is no English spoken and hence some basic Spanish is an advantage. However, when we got there, parking was no problem anyway (the village car park is across the road and after 18.00 there were always places available - if not, there is parking appr. 200m up the road again on the right hand side).
We arrived at appr. 18.00 and asked for the key in the restaurant. Since it was very busy, it took some time to get organised. Unfortunately, the appartment was still being cleaned. However, when I asked about taking food out of the car and into the fridge / freezer, we were shown in and able to put all our stuff away whilst the cleaner finished (her German was excellent btw).
The kitchen was well equipped with a 4 ring hob, microwave, oven, fridge, freezer, toaster, washing machine etc. Basic cleaning materials were in the cupboards, but this did not include washing powder.
We had booked the 2 bed appartment but were given a 4 bed one with the proviso that we shouldn't use more than 2 bedrooms. Consequently, the place felt lovely and spacious with plenty of seating.
There is free Wifi in the appartments but you will need to ask for the code at the restaurant.
As this is self catering, we cooked ourself rather than use the restaurant. Most of the food we bought at the Lupa supermarket in Potes (on the main road as you come in from Unquera on the left hand side) which was open from 9.00 to 21.00 which although not a large supermarket nevertheless had a good selection. There is also a small corner shop across the road from the appartment which we used for lunch after our hike down from Fuente De.
I would definitely recommend this place if you are after self catering accommodation in the Picos. The location is particularly good if you are planning to up the cable car at Fuente De (5 minutes by car). We got there for just after 9.00 and managed to park and walk straight into the next cable car without any wait.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely, clean, spacious apartment belonging to the Hotel, well located for the beautiful national park. Delicious food in the hotel including steak from their own herd, Fabulous.

We all hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikeclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This little hotel has B&B rooms and apartments. Our apartment was spacious, well furnished and equipped. Couldn't ask for more. Owners very pleasant and helpful and were very patient with our limited Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We would highly recommend the apartments owned by, and situated just beside, the Hostal Remona. They are in a fantastic location in the middle of the beautiful, atmospheric old village with a stable with an old slate roof opposite and a hay loft and a handsome, ruined church on the other side of the road. Our apartment was excellent in every respect - nicely furnished. well-equiped, extremely comfortable and very good value. The hostal staff were extremely friendly. In addition, Espinama is a superb base for exploring the moutains, only 5 minutes by car from Fuente De.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank louisejpK_benhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espinama
1.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
8.7 mi away
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
7.6 mi away
Posada el Bosque
Posada el Bosque
#1 of 1 in Mieses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
9.2 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Remona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Remona

Property: Hostal Remona
Address: C/ c. general s/n, 39588 Espinama, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Espinama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Remona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing