We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drab”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Cracoe B&B and Inns
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drab”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked through late rooms for a one night stay, on arriving we were told our room was not yet available, this was 4.15pm!!! We were given a complimentary cup of tea.
Finally shown up the the room at 5pm, which was very cod, No heating but we were told there was a heater in the wardrobe, horrible food smell from the kitchen and a loud droning noise!!
Dinner was ok, not homemade chips, and service was very slow, it was a Friday evening and not overly busy, staff seemed to take more interest in the locals at the bar.
We paid £80.00 and certainly have stayed in much better places for this, overpriced and not that great

Room Tip: a room not above the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchy996, Manager at Devonshire Arms, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
If you are a genuine customer (which I have a particular reason to doubt), I am amazed that you brought none of your complaints to anyone's attention at the time of your stay.

This would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns.

The last time anybody spent £80 on Room 1 through Late Rooms was in April 2013 which was 3.5 months prior to the present management taking over. and 7 months before your complaint appeared.

Anybody reading Trip Advisor has only to read our reviews since July 2013 to make a mockery of your complaints.

It is therefore my contention you are either a mischief maker or a disgruntled former employee.

If however, you prove you are genuine, then we would be delighted to talk to you and make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
25
88
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

From start to finish we were made very welcome. The food was excellent and I mean absolutely delicious. The Piri Piri prawn starter is well recommended, rare breed sirloin amazing too! The breakfast is also delicious with sausages from the farm across the road and set us up for a day of fell-walking! Plenty of choice behind the bar with some amazing whisky and the room complete with jacuzzi bath was lovely. Thanks to everyone who made our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Room 1 suffers from the noise of the kitchen fans which were running until 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwantdecentfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A group of us had Sunday lunch,which was excellent, I had pork with perfect crackling. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, with it's open fires and friendly staff. The new owner is on the right track. Well done. My friends and I are will definitly be back. We would all highly recommend the Devonshire Arms

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here by chance, had been originally bound for elsewhere. What a great twist of fate. There were four of us for Sunday lunch and thought the food was delicious. We were full but had to have a pudding too, even got a complimentary liquor. Well done to the chef and staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KJNicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Cracoe for a wedding and were really pleased to find this little gem behind the bed and breakfast we were staying in. Lovely cosy inviting pub, very friendly and helpful staff, and the food was fantastic! Our meals were beautifully presented, delicious and good value for money. Would definately recommend, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacuzziJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Cracoe for 1 night and I'm pleased to say that the hotel is excellent. As I believe the hotel is now under new ownership and the new owners offer good service and even better food.
You certainly will not go hungry after the breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it - will stay longer next time.
Lively and friendly pub with really good home made food and plenty of it, The room was very nice and comfortable.
Several great scenic walks nearby and places of interest.
A great little place to get away from it all for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cracoe
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Property: Devonshire Arms
Address: Grassington Road, Cracoe BD23 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cracoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cracoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Devonshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Pet Friendly Coaching Inn dating back to the 16th century with lodgings. We are ideally situated on the outskirts of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. We serve bar and restaurant food and offer a great selection to cater for all tastes. We also cater for parties and private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Hotel Cracoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing