We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One word - excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Margaret's Cottage

View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port
The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Kitchen with oil fired cooker - plus microwave/grill, induction hobs, fridge/freezer & washer/dryer
king size bed and wake up to a sea view
Twin bedroom - can be made up to king size bed if required
Bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower cubicle
Have breakfast on the patio!
Enjoy the private garden
A local visitor!
The Dyfatty stream - follow the footpath down to Burry Port
Nearby Cefn Sidan beach - 7 miles of sand and a view of the Gower
The Milky Way seen from the cottage - thank you David & Sarah HC!
The Milky Way over the other side of the valley - thank you David & Sarah HC!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burry Port, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
VStorey50
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One word - excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cottage lovely, great location and what a view from both patio and bedroom view. Accommodation had everything required and more besides would definitely stay again.
Fab location for some lovely walking on Gower Peninsula. Local beach through Pembrey Country Park. Cefn Sidan lovely, and great to see an old wreck on beach when low tide.
Thank You Judith

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh-sun...
Pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As close to perfection as we have found.”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

There are some places that you stay that are so good that you are almost reluctant to share and Margarets Cottage is one of these.

From the moment we walked through the door we felt very much at home. We were very impressed with the care and attention that has gone in to making this a perfect holiday let as the owners seem to have thought of everything. The views from the master bedroom and garden over Burry Port and towards the Gower are spectacular and the setting at the top of the valley make this a very peaceful spot at all times of the day.

The cottage is very well equipped and we took advantage of the BBQ on the patio to cook our evening meals. I was a little bit concerned as to how we would manage to cook breakfast on the range style cooker but with a little bit of experimentation I soon got the hang of it.

We are hoping to return for another weekend in October/December as I am sure the cottage would be a great cosy getaway in winter. Top marks to Judith who was on hand to help us with a minor issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sok Fong...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable place”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is amazing with beautiful surroundings. It is so comfortable in the house and we really felt at home with decorations. We have enjoyed our stay and really hope to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncotte...
St Issey, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT Cottage very friendly and helpful owner”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful cottage very clean and such helpful guides and tips left by the owner everything you need to know and everything that you may ever need to use is at hand. Judith is a Very friendly and helpful host in one word EXCELLENT you will not find a better place to stay.
John

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nigelmill...
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing views and everything you possible need”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

we had an amazing time the weather was great, the cottage had all tat you could possible need. there would have been plenty to do in the cottage if the weather was bad from games and puzzles, and books. can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views fro the lounge ad bedroom
Liked least: the steep hill to walk back to the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing