We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Margaret's Cottage

View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port
The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Kitchen with oil fired cooker - plus microwave/grill, induction hobs, fridge/freezer & washer/dryer
king size bed and wake up to a sea view
Twin bedroom - can be made up to king size bed if required
Bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower cubicle
Have breakfast on the patio!
Enjoy the private garden
A local visitor!
The Dyfatty stream - follow the footpath down to Burry Port
Nearby Cefn Sidan beach - 7 miles of sand and a view of the Gower
The Milky Way seen from the cottage - thank you David & Sarah HC!
The Milky Way over the other side of the valley - thank you David & Sarah HC!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burry Port, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
emma m
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our third visit to Margaret's cottage,as visited for the past three years.
We again took our bikes and had an amazing time, as not far to get on the cycle route in Burry Port & cycle along the coast and to Pembrey Park.
Again, Judith the owner didn't disappoint, as when we arrived there were clues for an Easter egg trail, which my daughter thought was fantastic.
This cottage does not disappoint. It has everything you could think of, just wish we could stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage as a whole
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean K
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a great cottage, very well equipped, with anything you could possibly need.
Lovely views from the patio,
Really enjoyed our stay,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage! Want to live here!”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing and worry free location and accommodation then Margaret's Cottage is the place to stay. Based on the wonderful photos and fantastic reviews not to mention the superb price to stay here I did not hesitate and booked straight away.

I booked through holiday lettings and Juidth the owner with her partner replied immediately and I booked with no hassle. Even before we arrived at the cottage I much appreciated Juidth emailing me over a detailed direction document along with all the equipment that would be in the cottage so I did not bring something unnecessary. Judith was just a telephone away if myself and my partner had any problems - this was great to know!

On arrival we knew we were going to be earlier than arrival time but this was not a problem as Juidth allowed us to check in earlier which was very nice. I cannot express how gobsmacked I was when approaching the cottage, let's just say it is one of the most prettiest homes I have ever seen! The lamppost on the outside added a very cosy touch, the garden is wonderful - bright with flowers and the table and chairs really do make the cottage over looking the wonderful views of the sea and beach. The only noises we could hear was the birds, no traffic, it was so relaxing! Inside the cottage was just as beautiful as the outside, every little detail made the cottage wonderful from the old stove oven to the tea set cabinet, the amazing bath and the great old timber frames and windowsills. Judith provided pretty much everything- there was some food in the cupboard although we did bring our own, she provided towels, games, books, all the kitchen appliances, even soaps, a booklet of places to eat and visit etc.I could not express how much Juidth and her partner take care in this cottage along with their changeover staff! It truly is somewhere everyone needs to stay and have the experience.

I must emphasis how much of a help Juidth is! Myself and my partner realised once we arrived home that he left his iPad at the cottage however, I managed to get hold of Juidth straight away and she was a great help giving us many options to retrieve it!

The location is also perfect, a quite working harbour, perfect beaches that go on for miles, sand dunes, pembrey country park only five minutes drive with Cefn Siad beach hidden through the woodland. We also had a lovely lunch in a family run pub in Burry Port which was decliicous and very popular.

A perfect location, wonderful weather, a beautiful cottage and kind owners. Me and my partner will most certainly be visiting again and I recommend this cottage to everyone.

Jodie and Craig

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was wonderful!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R
2 reviews
“Lovely comfortable cottage with a great view”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

You enter a traditional cosy cottage which then opens up into a bright spacious living room, itself opening onto a pretty garden terrace. The owner has paid great attention to the details which make a stay here really quite special. From the local products on a welcome tray, the tea, coffee and hot chocolate so you can have a drink before unpacking and even a spare usb charger in case you forgot yours, everything just makes for a relaxing stay.

The only downside to having such a great view is a steep drive, your car will need a good handbrake, though there are some flat areas close by so worth asking rather than allowing it to put you off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Did I mention the view?
Liked least: A couple of the LED lamps are a bit too blue - completely trivial thing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSteele92
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Right from the word go there was great communication with the owners. Upon arrival we were treated to a spectacular view of the beach down the valley. The cottage was really cost with everything you could possibly need. Will be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen F
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this World!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the moment I booked this cottage everything was just perfect. Correspondence from Judy the owner was always prompt, clear & helpful. Upon arriving at the property we were overwhelmed. The exterior of the property is picture perfect, with a gorgeous garden and stunning views of the sea. Inside the property we were instantly welcomed with a few sweet treats which then led us into a cosy, beautifully furnished home from home.
The cottage is equipped with everything imaginable and has been well thought out.
The location of the property is perfect for exploring Carmarthenshire and further West Wales. We were out biking, walking and exploring with our 2 young children everyday, although if it was a holiday just for me I would be more than happy to sit on the patio with a book and a bottle of wine enjoying the view and the comforts of the cottage.

Thank you, we will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane T
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

thank you Judith and Malcom
Your cottage is beautiful, the view is stunning. The cottage has everything anyone could wish for their holiday. nothing is too much bother for Judy.
The cottage is a great place to relax and rewind after a great day out around the coast. Judy has thought of everything with folders of places to visit , eat while staying at Margaret's cottage. We spent 2 gorgeous weeks there, visiting my childhood haunts, Tenby, Carreg Cennen Castle, and many other places. The Wetlands are a great place for adults and children alike (feed birds).
We could not have wished for a more lovely place to stay and will most defiantly be going again.
Our welcome tray was lovely Judy.
Thank you
Jane and Paul

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing