We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of our favourite places to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Margaret's Cottage

View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port
The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Kitchen with oil fired cooker - plus microwave/grill, induction hobs, fridge/freezer & washer/dryer
king size bed and wake up to a sea view
Twin bedroom - can be made up to king size bed if required
Bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower cubicle
Have breakfast on the patio!
Enjoy the private garden
A local visitor!
The Dyfatty stream - follow the footpath down to Burry Port
Nearby Cefn Sidan beach - 7 miles of sand and a view of the Gower
The Milky Way seen from the cottage - thank you David & Sarah HC!
The Milky Way over the other side of the valley - thank you David & Sarah HC!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burry Port, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Peter V
Ledbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at Margaret’s Cottage and are sure we will be returning in the future. Once again the welcome was exceptional; who else but Judith and Malcolm would provide welsh cakes with strawberry and champagne jam and clotted cream? Others have extolled the virtues of the cottage and we can only agree, the facilities are second to none and the situation and views are superb.
The cottage gives access to some wonderful countryside. Camarthenshire is something of a forgotten county and we were never short of interesting places to visit. Burry Port itself has a lot to offer including the harbor and the Millenium Coastal Park, and there is a delightful footpath into town starting near the cottage. We were out exploring almost every day, but if the weather is bad the cottage is so cosy that it is a delight to stay in and just chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg P
Cheddar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is beautifully kept and very homely. The beds are comfortable, there is a big walk in shower and hot water on demand, and Judy leaves plenty of entertainment (books, DVDs and games) for quiet moments. The view from the back is fantastic and there is a lovely garden with table and chairs if you want to spend some relaxing time around the cottage.

At the back of the garden beyond some low lying plants there is a large drop which is one to keep the kids away from; it posed no danger to my 4 year old daughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage
Liked least: The drop at the back
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“100% Perfect cottage over looking the sandy coast”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was even bigger than i expected, the pictures do not do this justice, the location high up on the hill is amazing, with views of the coast!
The cottage had everything you would need, Judy even put milk in the fridge for our arrival, she had thought of everything! All the appliances were nicely labelled with instructions.
An amazing welcome pack with info on everything you would need, taxi numbers, takeaways, attractions etc

I highly recommend you visit Pembrey beach which is a 15 min drive £5 for parking all day, the beach is one of the nicest sandy beaches I've been to in England, not over crowded like others! you can also hire bikes here and follow some of the trails (although the bikes were not in the best)

If i need another relaxing weekend away by the coast i will certainly be looking at this cottage as my first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM-FM-93
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Welsh Hospitality”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our family had a lovely time in Margaret's Cottage and we were reluctant to leave this beautiful area. The cottage was utterly charming with delightful finishing touches and a stunning view.

The owner Judy was generous and wonderfully hospitable. Our youngest son declared it the best house in Wales!

We highly recommend this cottage for both comfort and its great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We could not fault Margaret's Cottage - it was beautiful. Some lovely touches not usually found in a rental property were just the icing on the cake. The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed (and more), and the views were an added bonus. We hope to return one day. Oh, and the weather was perfect, too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwitrave...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here with my husband and my parents in June. The place was spotless & had everything you could possibly need. The owners were welcoming & very quick to help if you needed anything. The view was awesome and we ate every evening in the garden, which was so relaxing and saved the cost of eating out. It was fun to cook on a real aga but there are traditional facilities as well.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic B
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at Margaret's Cottage over Easter, was a long drive from Coventry, but hey, I would drive twice the distance to spend time there. Margaret's Cottage is a hidden gem. The Cottage is so clean and comfortable, the garden is so good for relaxing, and the views are breath taking. The only downside to my stay, it wasn't long enough. I recommend Margaret's Cottage to anyone that wants a quiet relaxing break. Thank you Judy, will defo come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All, Cottage, location.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing