We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Absolutely beautiful cottage with amazing...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Margaret's Cottage

View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
View of the cottage garden and the Gower in the distance
Margaret's cottage set on a hillside above Burry Port
The garden of the cottage & some of the surrounding countryside
Kitchen with oil fired cooker - plus microwave/grill, induction hobs, fridge/freezer & washer/dryer
king size bed and wake up to a sea view
Twin bedroom - can be made up to king size bed if required
Bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower cubicle
Have breakfast on the patio!
Enjoy the private garden
A local visitor!
The Dyfatty stream - follow the footpath down to Burry Port
Nearby Cefn Sidan beach - 7 miles of sand and a view of the Gower
The Milky Way seen from the cottage - thank you David & Sarah HC!
The Milky Way over the other side of the valley - thank you David & Sarah HC!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burry Port, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
clumsymum...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Absolutely beautiful cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Amazed by this cottage, photo's do not do it justice. Every inch of the cottage is beautiful, high quality and immaculate. Views are stunning and the owner couldn't be more helpful and has thought of (quite literally) everything you may need. An absolute bargain for what you get and everyone we met locally was very friendly and polite. This cottage went way over our expectations and will certainly be returning to this absolute gem! Faultless getaway for us.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality throughout.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteracki
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Margaret's cottage is s a wonderful and delightful holiday cottage retreat. As soon as you see the cottage for the very first time you know that you are in for a treat. We stayed here for 3 nights and the welcome we had from both Judith & Malcolm was second to none, (what an absolute delightful couple who couldn't do enough for us.) The cottage was very very clean and very welcoming, the facilities were second to none, fair play to Judith & Malcolm they have thought of everything. There are plenty of books dvds and games to suit almost everyone what ever their interests. Free wifi (internet access) & large lcd tv with Sky is an added bonus. Our favourite room in the cottage was the dinning room with supports a log burner, this room is so cosy and warm, we spent most of our nights in this room. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful cottage. I would highly recommend Margaret's cottage to anyone it has stunning views and to wake up looking at the sea every morning is amazing.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, we loved the whole and complete experience of this wonderful cottage.
Liked least: Nothing, there is nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage - perfect for a relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I stayed in Margaret's Cottage for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The cottage was warm and inviting with goodies to great us. Judith (the owner) was extremely helpful and friendly and provided us with all the information we would need to enjoy our stay. The cottage was clean, well presented and warm with the added bonus of amazing views and log fire in the dining room.

There is an immersion heater in the bathroom so make sure it's switched on prior to having a bath - we spent too long filling kettles as didn't realise at the time.

I'm sure we will be back next year!! Thanks Judith!

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrester...
Ledbury
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top marks for comfort and attractiveness - even more marks for the view!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

As soon as you enter Margaret's Cottage you know it is going to be a good, relaxing place to enjoy a holiday or a few days' break. Everything you could want, plus plenty more, is there - a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable chairs in the living room, plenty of storage space in the bedrooms, a bath and a walk in shower as well. And as for the views down the valley and across to the Gower - the only word is "wow"! Then there are the extra touches of attractive and thoughtfully placed pictures and ornaments to make you feel this is a "home from home" not just a holiday let doing the minimum it can get away with. There is lots to do in the neighbourhood, but being in need of a rest, we found it quite easy to spend most of our time in and around the cottage. We were fortunate to have a few lovely days when we could enjoy the garden and the patio which comes complete with chairs and table plus a barbecue. We even had breakfast outside - in September! And on the "not so good" day we relaxed with books and the TV and made use of the good Wi-Fi connection. Being up a hill on the edge of Burry Port you have an "away from it all" feeling with no busy traffic rushing past, and yet you are only a five minutes drive from the centre of the town. There are walks from the cottage itself and if you are fit you can of course walk down the hill to sample the shops and pubs of Burry Port.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the overall attractiveness of the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer P
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer P
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey68...
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing