We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View, Nice owner but overpriced !!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loweswater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice View, Nice owner but overpriced !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a lovely old Hotel which need urgently to do some some renovation.
We took the room nr. 1. with the lake front side which is stunning in the morning if you feel like to get out of the bed, because the room is just freezing. Heather are prox. as old as the house. The owner are very very lovely and helpful but for such a price 54£ a night per person is way too much.
The Hotel smells a little bit of old. The windows are not the newest and the doors don't close properly. Our Room was o.k eventhought at night it was very very cold. Room nr.2 was smaller and the door did not close.
If you like to relax and just enjoy the View and the quietness and don't care about the smell and the cold than you should def. get a try. The owner are just lovely and on the breakfast she provides you as much toast coffe/ tea, eggs, sausage, tomatoes as you want.

Room Tip: Room nr.1 has a Lake side it's really lovely. £54 Room nr. 2 is smaller and has no lake side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReJoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is more suited for the more mature traveller who likes the old fashioned traditional styled establishments. It has been in the same family hands for 60+ years and there is no doubt that it as a homely feel rather than a formal hotel feel. On the positive side you get a wonderful welcome with tea in the lounge and home made biscuits. The breakfast is also fine with a good selection of fruit including raspberries, rhubarb on top of the usual fare. The let down is the room decor (Very old fashioned) the very soft mattress and the fact that THEY DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS. The garden and location is beautiful but if you prefer a more lively affair then the Kirkstile inn 2 miles away will be more your cup of tea!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

A warm, homely welcome awaited us again at 'The Grange', a lovely old traditional lakes' home in this peaceful valley.You can enjoy afternoon tea with delightful homebakes in the garden or lounge that looks towards Loweswater .In the evening an apertif in the bar and we were ready to enjoy an excellently prepared 3 course, home cooked meal served in the attractive dining room,with coffee to follow. Next morning ,plenty of fruit and a farmhouse breakfast welcomed the day.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with delightful country views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The location is stunning with a multitude of walks from the door but at £52 per person it was seriously overpriced. We spent one night at the Kirkstyle Inn which was wonderful, cosy and warm for a similar price then one night at the Grange which unfortunately was very cold with the heating not able to cope with the nights frost (I suspect it was only put on in the morning so slept badly as I was very cold) and in dire need of a refurb. The dog lives in the entrance hall which they also seem to use as a personal living room and when we first walked in we were convinced we'd walked in through the wrong door.

In fairness breakfast was good and the owners were lovely and friendly but it wasn't enough to make me return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomfrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loweswater hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

My Dad has stayed at this hotel at least 5 times. When we visit him there, we are struck each time by the relaxed lovingkindness of the owners. The (still-warm) scones served with (home-made) jam and (proper, not teabag) tea in a silver pot are SECOND TO NONE. Best of all, if the weather holds, we can sit in the garden in fantastic scenery.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Despite its beautiful and dramatic location, this hotel is a real let down. From the outside it seems fine, but once you enter you soon realise that the premium that you are paying to stay in a room is somewhat of a rip off. The hotel is still stuck in the dark ages and is in desperate need of updating. The furniture is old and worn. The beds covered in a multitude of blankets like you would expect in a hospital (no comfy duvets here), the towels are small, the shower is useless. Just the overall décor is off putting. It was fine for one night but I would not recommend a longer stay here – do not expect a lie in either, the dog will see to that barking at all hours of the morning. Also if you do stay, the hotel has no facility for accepting card payments, so dust off your cheque book or bring cash. I would also recommend organising your taxis etc in advance if you require them. There is next to no mobile signal, and the owner was no assistance to us when we asked if he could book us a taxi via his landline. It also cost £27 for a 2 mile journey from Loweswater with Eric’s taxis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFH022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Fabulous location but hopelessly outdated and run down Large dog dominated the hallway and obviously had access to the kitchens.Bedrooms fussy , gloomy and overcrowded with furniture far too large for the room. Room very cold in spite of a warm day. Towels small and bathroom barely adequate.
Food poor, vegetables overcooked and soggy, salmon overwhelmed by acidic sauce, soup gelatinous.
The whole place needsa revamp and complete overhaul to bring it anything like up to standard for the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musettayorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobyloweswater, owner at The Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2009
If you were that dissatisfied with the accommodation and food why not say something to us at the time, we do have lots of satisfied guests who return again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loweswater
0.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graysonside
Graysonside
#1 of 15 in Cockermouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House Hotel

Property: The Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Loweswater CA13 0SU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Loweswater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Loweswater, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing