We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revolting re-heated food!”

Eastham Ferry Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Restaurants in Eastham
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm and pleasent atmosphere in our historical Victorian pub overlooking the River Mersey, surrounded by Eastham Country Park. We provide history with a contemporary twist. With full table service and a vast range of locally sourced food and an extensive drinks range you wont be disappointed. We also have evnts on throughout the week.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Revolting re-heated food!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a terrible meal here - chicken was over cooked, dry and covered in what can only be described as concrete masquerading as batter. Chips were reheated and limp. Salad garnish was an insult - limp 2-tone lettuce and a manky tomato. Not once did anyone come out to find out if everything was alright with our meal (as happens in almost EVERY other restaurant). Service poor, food awful :-(

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jojobinx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    35
    36
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used to got to this restaurant when it was just a pub (back in the day, when children were not allowed into public houses. It used to have a conservatory on the front where I was allowed to go in with my parents and grandparents!!). This is a lovely historic house, well worth a visit and if you can combine it with a walk in the woods on a sunny day, make sure you go to the rangers visitors centre and load up on the history of the park, visit the bear pit and check out how the gardens, fair and ferry used to be. This is now part of a Marstons, but with some additions of their own specials, a good selection of food with good offers, like the 2 4 1 on Mondays for grill night. Had two lovely steaks, prompt service and as ever friendly staff. Well recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ferry Good!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

On another visit to the Ferry, had yet another lovely meal, offered the specials, but went with the "Grill Night" of two for one on steaks on Mondays. Staff were as usual very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Food was great for the money, above the norm for your average Marston's

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another great meal”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Really suprised by the bad comments below, as the ferry hotel has really improved over recent months, we have tried Monday nights -steak nights great value and superb food, Curry night Wednesday is just fantastic -so we tried Sunday Carvery today and once again not dissapointed.
5 star service and 5 star food
Staff are lovely, you are shown to your table, advised if there is a delay, and drinks great.What more can you ask for. ! I would suggest you try for your yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere port
1 review
“Great food, awesome bands & great staff.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I visit quite frequently and have never had an issue. The food has always been fantastic, well priced and on time. The live bands are defiantly an added bonus. We watched Problem Child last night and what a performance, the atmosphere was electric and enjoyed by all ages. I will 100% be returning for food and the live music nights. I also heard a rumor that glastonferry will be returning this year I can't wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harveyoswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastham Ferry Hotel also viewed

Eastham, Merseyside
Eastham, Merseyside
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Rainhill, Merseyside
 

Been to Eastham Ferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing