We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastham Ferry is back”

Eastham Ferry Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Restaurants in Eastham
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm and pleasent atmosphere in our historical Victorian pub overlooking the River Mersey, surrounded by Eastham Country Park. We provide history with a contemporary twist. With full table service and a vast range of locally sourced food and an extensive drinks range you wont be disappointed. We also have evnts on throughout the week.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Eastham Ferry is back”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We used to visit the Easham Ferry regularly about 15 years ago before moving to USA
Believe me, living in USA you get used to a high level of service
We are visiting family and were looking for a place to eat and read the Trip Advisor reviews
Quite mixed
All I can say is the new management is doing a fist class job here
The service was very good, especially by comparison to a lot of pubs in the area
The food was superb and the
Pedigree ale is first class
These guys deserve your support
Get down to the Ferry and check it out for yourself
We will be black before we leave for the USA again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    68
    35
    40
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff - miserable as sin”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

While going here for Sunday lunch for a few weeks, the atmosphere in the place is that of don't care. The staff never have a smile and make you feel as if you have no right to be eating and interrupting them. Will avoid this establishment if possible in future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A thoroughly impressive experience with a large group”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was part of a group of 12 who had pre - booked but not pre-ordered. We arrived at a midweek lunchtime. The place was pleasantly busy. The menu is quite extensive for pub food and caters for good English as well as Asian cuisine. I was pleased to see the light options though I wishes they had been clearer on the menu about all the calorie counts.

The high point was the service. Drinks came quickly as did the food. It all came together so no one was left waiting. There was plenty of it even on the lighter options menu. The staff repeatedly asked if we were ok.

I would gladly take a group or go again on my own for a reasonably priced no frills environment pub meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“after service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Family meal fathers day service excellent staff friendly Meal Good !
What really impressed their concern and help a day later when engagement ring lost they were fantastic we are locals and gave up with previous owners but we will now be back to support them nothing was too much trouble even emptying hoover bags WELL DONE ON CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Save your money this is over priced for what you are given dont order the Pie filled with roast potatoe onion with black pepper. I found it over cooked and little filling inside. I feel the reason they have spread out the tables is to cover the fact they have lost alot of business. That is my opinion i agree but they dont help them selves with poor service,food takng forever to arrive as well as our bill we requested. This would be so successfull if they got a decent team to run it. If you are hungry in the day and visiting eastham ferry try somewere else such as the Tap Pub they now have a Cafe or the Mimosa Tea garden by the Rangers hut.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janetrA6858IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastham Ferry Hotel also viewed

Eastham, Merseyside
Eastham, Merseyside
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Rainhill, Merseyside
 

Been to Eastham Ferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing